R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-21-2004, 12:11 PM   #7951
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Grand Junction, CO
Posts: 329
Default

The only thing I know to fix that is get a screw from another company. I don't know the dimentions of that particular screw (3mm or what). But I did stop in my Local Hobby shop and replaced some 3mm screws from my Yok YZ10 with some from hobbico that were found in the airplane aisle. You might want to check there.
wcoyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2004, 12:20 PM   #7952
Tech Fanatic
 
glide 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Cebu City, Philippines
Posts: 760
Default wcoyote,

thanks for the tip, i'll see what i can find at my local hardware. I'm hoping to find something that is made of a hardened material of some sort.
Also thought about trying an AE type screw and nut combo, has anyone tried this?
glide 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2004, 12:23 PM   #7953
Tech Fanatic
 
glide 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Cebu City, Philippines
Posts: 760
Default

our LHS does not carry Hobbico products.
glide 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2004, 01:55 PM   #7954
Tech Elite
 
sosidge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 3,865
Default

It's an M2.6 screw.

I have to say I have never had an issue with those screws in 2 years of Yokomo running - my tip is lots of black grease all around the thrust assembly - but it seems you're already doing that.
sosidge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2004, 01:56 PM   #7955
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Grand Junction, CO
Posts: 329
Default

Darn. I thought that any shop that sells R/C would sell some R/C Planes too. I was also told that HPI usually has some 3mm screws too, if that is the right measurement. I haven't heard of anyone using the AE nut and bolt set up.
wcoyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2004, 01:58 PM   #7956
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Grand Junction, CO
Posts: 329
Default

2.6 metric eh? That may be tougher to find then. But it never hurts to check replacement hardware for other kits, car or not.
wcoyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2004, 05:09 PM   #7957
Tech Master
 
Tek Nickal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,301
Default

I think there has been a revison of the hub carriers, they are now a lot thicker, as for the king pin issue, put a TINY TINY bit of CA or some rubber based glue and it will hold it in there good.
Tek Nickal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2004, 08:17 PM   #7958
Tech Fanatic
 
glide 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Cebu City, Philippines
Posts: 760
Default sosidge, wcoyote, AzNDRAGster

thanks for the tips guys, i checked it is an m2.6 screw. AzNDRAGster, as for the hub carriers, will the revised ver. have the same part no. as the old one? would like to try those out. Will try CA'ing the king pins too. thanks again.
glide 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2004, 09:36 PM   #7959
Tech Master
 
Tek Nickal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,301
Default

Good question, they don't have seperate part #s for the revised one so, I would think its the same part #.
Tek Nickal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2004, 03:09 AM   #7960
Tech Regular
 
Lowner_V1S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 268
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Lowner_V1S
Default

hey guys im just new in electric and i bought a ssg im just wondering wats the best set up for the car? like cambers, toe in,toe out etc.... can you guys give me some tip

thanks
Lowner_V1S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2004, 07:18 AM   #7961
Tech Champion
 
Matt Howard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Abilene TX
Posts: 5,952
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default Re: sosidge, wcoyote, AzNDRAGster

Quote:
Originally posted by glide 1
thanks for the tips guys, i checked it is an m2.6 screw. AzNDRAGster, as for the hub carriers, will the revised ver. have the same part no. as the old one? would like to try those out. Will try CA'ing the king pins too. thanks again.
The regular hub carriers have been revised slightly by filling in the hole where the drive shaft goes through. The "H" version is regular plastic but way beefier all over and the "G" version is the same as the "H" but in graphite.
__________________
Official member of The Guild of Calamitous Intent and proud supporter of Conjectural Technologies.
Serpent S411 LE kit #192
RCTech #361
Matt Howard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2004, 07:20 AM   #7962
Tech Elite
 
Jeff Werner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 2,281
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Jeff Werner
Default

How has the Speedtech Spools been working out? I love the idea of having a purpose built spool...just need to get it ordered!

Jeff
Jeff Werner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2004, 07:46 AM   #7963
Tech Master
 
pheyhoe's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: England!
Posts: 1,332
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Lowner_V1S
hey guys im just new in electric and i bought a ssg im just wondering wats the best set up for the car? like cambers, toe in,toe out etc.... can you guys give me some tip

thanks
chek out www.texr.co.uk for some SD setups
carpet, ashphalt, polished wood.
__________________
[SIZE=1][COLOR=navy]Paul Heyhoe[/COLOR][/SIZE]
pheyhoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2004, 09:45 AM   #7964
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Grand Junction, CO
Posts: 329
Default

Anytime glide! Just let us know if you find something that works for the diff screw. I'll keep it in my reference book. That way, if anyone asks again we will have the right answer at first.
wcoyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2004, 11:37 AM   #7965
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Pasadena, CA
Posts: 2,520
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Jeff Werner
How has the Speedtech Spools been working out? I love the idea of having a purpose built spool...just need to get it ordered!

Jeff
My spool has worked great and has shown no real wear that I've been able to detect. The car handles amazingly well with it. Actually, my car was a little unstable until I added the spool. The car is dialed now. Just make sure you're using really strong cvd's. The stock yokomo stuff breaks very easy with the spool.
DOTMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
yokomo or yokomo parts yokomo7 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 4 12-19-2009 08:45 PM
Yokomo is coming out with a new version of the bd : Yokomo BD 2 roadrashracing Electric On-Road 12 12-19-2007 07:08 AM
yokomo Aluminum Steering Bellcrank Posts and other yokomo spares hurley081182 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 2 02-27-2006 06:07 PM
Lots FS: CRC 3.2 & Yokomo YRX-12, Yokomo TC Tires, JR Receivers, New Motors, more TurboFC3S R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 15 09-22-2005 09:38 PM
WTB Yokomo 1/12 Mini...Trade for 1/10 Yokomo dynamic_e R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 07-12-2003 05:58 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:20 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net