Yokomo MR-4TC SD

Reply

Old 04-09-2003, 06:53 AM
  #616  
Tech Fanatic
 
glide 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Cebu City, Philippines
Posts: 760
Default Amp draw of fan...

Originally posted by johnbull
Hi Gilles. Greetings from Malta.

The red and black from a 6 volt fan are soldered straight onto the red and black terminals on the GT7 - in otherwords on the battery wires. It's easy on the GT7 with it's terminals exposed.

I don't disconnect from the switch but from the battery connectors so everything goes out when I pull the positive lead off the battery.

Regards

Joe from sunny Malta.
Hi Jonbull,
I was just wondering how much a 6v fan would draw (amps) out of the batts. I have'nt tried putting a fan on before. besides keeping the motor and electronics cooler, are there any other benefits of using it? Thanks in advance
glide 1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2003, 06:55 AM
  #617  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (3)
 
utieh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: paris
Posts: 941
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Thanks .

how much volts a fan needs, does it worth the extra weight ?
does it allow you to have a higher Gear Ratio ?
utieh is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2003, 07:05 AM
  #618  
Tech Master
 
johnbull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Malta. G.C.
Posts: 1,762
Default

Hi guys. Greetings from Malta.

GLIDE. GILLES.

A small 6 volt computer fan will require negligible amperage.

Remember that HEAT IS THE ENEMY, so anything we can do to reduce the amount of heat has got to be a bonus. In this case it wastes near to nothing, and the MR4 Sp is very much underweight. So if we are going to put weight on we might as well put useful things.

If you are running mod motors I think the advantages of the fan outweigh the disadvantages - amp consumption.

If you are running stock you just don't have a consumption problem anyway so the fan has got to be an advantage.

As for the question of gearing I think it should be more benificial in mod where a cooler running motor can be geared a bit higher.

Regards

Joe from sunny Malta.
johnbull is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2003, 07:09 AM
  #619  
Tech Fanatic
 
glide 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Cebu City, Philippines
Posts: 760
Default Fan voltage

Hi Utieh,

Johnbull mentioned that it is the 6V type fan. I have seen 5V brushless ones and i think they draw .02amps or was it .2amps - not sure.

Johnbull can you shed some light on this?
glide 1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2003, 07:21 AM
  #620  
Tech Fanatic
 
glide 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Cebu City, Philippines
Posts: 760
Default Thanks Johnbull

..must have posted the same time
glide 1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2003, 07:43 AM
  #621  
Regional Moderator
iTrader: (8)
 
Darkseid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: At my computer, duh...
Posts: 9,033
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Johnbull: if you managed to fit all that stuff on the super narrow Sp chassis, then you should have no problem manuvering everything onto the SD!

As for adhesives for the servo, I know shoe goo is the popular choice, but sometimes it can be hard to work with. Heres what I use instead.(check attachment) Its called Handyman's All-Purpose Adhesive sealant.

What make it better than shoe-goo in my opinion is that it goes on as easy as Elmer's school glue(it even white), but it dries clear with a bond as strong as shoe-goo. I've used shoe-goo before and know that sometimes its a pain to get it out of the tube and then to do exactly what you want. Not the case with this stuff.
Attached Thumbnails Yokomo MR-4TC SD-adhesive.jpg  
Darkseid is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2003, 08:13 AM
  #622  
Tech Master
 
johnbull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Malta. G.C.
Posts: 1,762
Default

Hi guys. Greetings from Malta.

DARKSEID. Thanks for the tip. Have you been on F1 recently!

GLIDE. A 5 volt fan will do fine. With a draw of .2 or even better .02 you shouldn't have any problems, stock or mod.

Regards

Joe from sunny Malta.
johnbull is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2003, 08:20 AM
  #623  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 14
Default

Does anyone know the internal ratio of the SD??
uncle is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2003, 08:41 AM
  #624  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Paris - France
Posts: 399
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Uncle,

internal ratio is 2.353
Ralf is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2003, 08:51 AM
  #625  
Regional Moderator
iTrader: (8)
 
Darkseid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: At my computer, duh...
Posts: 9,033
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Johnbull: no I haven't hit the thread in a day or so....

guess I'll go check it out.
Darkseid is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2003, 10:16 AM
  #626  
Tech Addict
 
LeoChan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 567
Default SD MOD 12turns gear ?

TC SD use 12T motor race mins , use which spur gear best ?

Thanks !
LeoChan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2003, 10:17 AM
  #627  
Tech Addict
 
LeoChan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 567
Default spur gear ?

TC SD use 12T motor race 8 mins , use which spur gear best ?
LeoChan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2003, 10:24 AM
  #628  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (8)
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,212
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

LeoChan..

You're very limited to the spur gear size...
Mo mentioned that he used 64p 95T on his.
There's only a handful of cars in the US..mostly Team drivers has them..
rc-zombies is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2003, 10:40 AM
  #629  
Tech Addict
 
LeoChan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 567
Default spur gear ?

which team driver ?
LeoChan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2003, 11:28 AM
  #630  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (8)
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,212
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default Re: spur gear ?

Originally posted by LeoChan
which team driver ?
There's a couple on this thread..Mainly Mo and Matt H.
Check the previous pages..

and check the Yokomo Japan website...you can download Masami's setup.
rc-zombies is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service