R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-25-2003, 09:52 AM   #3976
Tech Master
 
forty6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,922
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by STLNLST
I tried to throw it in the trash but it was full of broken SD parts...LOL
Guys, enough trash talk, those are not broken SD parts, they are Evo III one way gears!
forty6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2003, 09:54 AM   #3977
Tech Elite
 
JusBox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central VA
Posts: 2,170
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Ha ha, too funny. I have an actual question though... what size drill bit would i need to ream out the a-arms on my SD? I'm just doing some detail work on the car and I kinda jacked up one of my a-arms with my dremel/hinge pin method. Not ideal to say the least. The instructions don't tell the diameter of the hinge pins. Thx in advance.
JusBox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2003, 09:56 AM   #3978
Tech Master
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 1,244
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by forty6
Guys, enough trash talk, those are not broken SD parts, they are Evo III one way gears!
no!they must be sd parts.
theres nothing wrong with my gears
them sd they eighther go wrong or go crap
trf racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2003, 12:59 PM   #3979
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 250
Send a message via ICQ to JesseT
Default

The inner pins are 2.50 mm and the outer ones 2.00 mm.
JesseT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2003, 04:23 PM   #3980
Registered User
 
2Tenths's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 220
Default

Steve: I don't know what you're planning on making, or what you can make, but I think titanium hinge pins would be cool. I haven't broken a hinge pin (yet anyway ) but a ti one would at least be lighter than the steel ones. Also, I've heard the Yokomo graphite battery strap fits on the SD (like on Masami's car), but a narrower one just for the SD would be useful in lightening the car on the battery side. Lastly, since Yokomo doesn't have a 6 degree hub carrier yet, you might be able to develop and sell those as another tuning option.
2Tenths is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2003, 06:16 PM   #3981
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Arizona
Posts: 1,197
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

No broken hinge pins yet, but quite a few bent ones. Ti hinge pins should not bend as much, I would hope. The graphite SSG battery strap from the Special will fit with the older battery strap mounts.
pops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2003, 06:57 PM   #3982
Tech Apprentice
 
MattSSG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 97
Default

Is their a reason why there are no graphite parts for the SD (such as arms, hub carriers, etc). Or if they will be coming out with those parts soon.
MattSSG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2003, 07:18 PM   #3983
Tech Addict
 
Fire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Vancouver BC Canada
Posts: 703
Default

maybe there are graphite parts in progress
just can't pass masami's testings
Fire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2003, 09:35 PM   #3984
Tech Elite
 
Roger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,312
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by MattSSG
Is their a reason why there are no graphite parts for the SD (such as arms, hub carriers, etc). Or if they will be coming out with those parts soon.
Im sure they are in the works. You know, gotta get into everybodies pockets before they release the good stuff. Thats what happened to the MR4-TC.
__________________
http://nitrokb.netne.net/profiles/RogerSerafin.html
Roger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2003, 10:27 PM   #3985
wyd
Tech Legend
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,143
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to wyd
Default

Well I ran the Rayspeed conversion today for the first time. Car was pretty good. Only probelm was the steering link going to the steering rackrubs on my servo and then makes the car not go straight all the time. Makes it kinda inconsistant The other problem is I was glitching at the same spot on the track all night long. All in all as far as the car it worked great but now I need to get rid of the damn glitch as it is pissing me off. I will try another receiver for next weekend.
__________________
Castle Creations (Since 2005) Just awesome products
Bumps & Jumps RC (Great Indoor facility for offroad and oval)
ST Racing Concepts (STRC)
Custom Works (Best Oval Cars around)
wyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2003, 11:29 PM   #3986
Tech Regular
 
NightKidZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 394
Send a message via ICQ to NightKidZ
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by MattSSG
Is their a reason why there are no graphite parts for the SD (such as arms, hub carriers, etc). Or if they will be coming out with those parts soon.
Hi there

Last I checked the Yok Japan website www.yokomo.co.jp, the front page (updated 23 Oct) states that graphite suspension parts are being shipped to retail shops on that day.

A friend of mine had a short holiday in Japan and got me the harden 4 degree castor blocks, dun seem like a carbon-resin composite (too shiny), but much stiffer than the old one. Looks to me like its a high fiberglass mix.

Cheers

Cheers

Last edited by NightKidZ; 10-25-2003 at 11:39 PM.
NightKidZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2003, 11:41 PM   #3987
Tech Elite
 
Roger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,312
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by wyd
Well I ran the Rayspeed conversion today for the first time. Car was pretty good. Only probelm was the steering link going to the steering rackrubs on my servo and then makes the car not go straight all the time. Makes it kinda inconsistant The other problem is I was glitching at the same spot on the track all night long. All in all as far as the car it worked great but now I need to get rid of the damn glitch as it is pissing me off. I will try another receiver for next weekend.
Thats funny. You're like the 5th person to say that you got glitching problems running this chassis.
__________________
http://nitrokb.netne.net/profiles/RogerSerafin.html
Roger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2003, 11:46 PM   #3988
Tech Elite
 
GeorgePravata's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Brooklyn New York GO HARD OR GO HOME!!!!!!
Posts: 3,394
Trader Rating: 108 (100%+)
Default

I have the RaySpeed chassis and i don't have any radio hits
GeorgePravata is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2003, 12:32 AM   #3989
Tech Champion
 
SpeedTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 6,028
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Hi Guys,

A note on the radio hits. Try different crystals, receivers, speedos...etc. Certain chassis will have more conductive material than other (for example, double deck graphite chassis compare to composite tub) however, a clean radio signal will have no problem operating on either one. Also, you might want to consider a different module for your radio if it's been more than 1 1/2 year of use. Lastly, if you're running stock motor with capacitors that are built it (for example Monster stock, P2K2...etc.) and you had the motor for some time, the built in capacitor might have burnt out and the lack of cap. is what's causing the glitch. You can remove them and install standard cap on them.

Also, try 27mhz if you're glitching on 75mhz. Sometimes certain things around the racetrack (power lines, flourcent lighting) can severely cause radio hits on 75mhz, but doesn't hit 27mhz. My personal experience was with flourcent lighting at local track SoCal Raceway. During practice when only half the lights are on, my car is perfectly fine. Without changing anything, when they turn on all the lights for racing, my car is literally undriveable. Changed to 27mhz, the car was fine

Steve Wang
__________________
>>>www.SpeedtechHobbies.com<<<
SpeedTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2003, 05:02 AM   #3990
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Sheffield, UK
Posts: 737
Send a message via ICQ to Cobra81li200
Default

Yeah NightKidz, I've been told by R10 that M. Hirosaka was having troubles finding the correct graphite/plastic ratio. Seems like they've been developing a new plastic, but also that the problems have been fixed now...

Pops : Ti is not stronger than Steel. I mean, the strongest steel will always be stronger than any Ti alloy. The question is : which is the alloy used on the SD ? And which Ti would perform better (if possible) ?
Cobra81li200 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
yokomo or yokomo parts yokomo7 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 4 12-19-2009 08:45 PM
Yokomo is coming out with a new version of the bd : Yokomo BD 2 roadrashracing Electric On-Road 12 12-19-2007 07:08 AM
yokomo Aluminum Steering Bellcrank Posts and other yokomo spares hurley081182 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 2 02-27-2006 06:07 PM
Lots FS: CRC 3.2 & Yokomo YRX-12, Yokomo TC Tires, JR Receivers, New Motors, more TurboFC3S R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 15 09-22-2005 09:38 PM
WTB Yokomo 1/12 Mini...Trade for 1/10 Yokomo dynamic_e R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 07-12-2003 05:58 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:10 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net