R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-08-2003, 02:04 PM   #2461
Tech Elite
 
Joel Lagace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,628
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

CENTER DRIVELINE COMPARISONS:

EVO3 vs SD

EVO3:
3 bearings total
shaft is keyed not floating like a dog bone
thin diff gears prone to breakage

SD:
5 bearings total(much better support
Floating dog bone shaft
Thicker diff gears (look thicker then my tc3) wich means more meat and less breakage.
__________________
"Without Rules its just Backyard Bashing!"
www.rcottawa.com
Joel Lagace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2003, 03:11 PM   #2462
Tech Prophet
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,675
Trader Rating: 46 (100%+)
Default

R2:
4 Bearings (5 with Speedway PAL system)
Floating center shaft (minimal F/R movement)
Thickest Diff Gears (No breaky-break)
Randy Caster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2003, 10:21 PM   #2463
Tech Fanatic
 
CSF0623's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Los Angeles, Ca
Posts: 869
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Difuser
Glad to hear the replies I will have Troy get on it ASAP.

On antisquat and kick up do the pins bind from raising them on the EVO they wer captured in a ball stud which let them move freely I noticed the Yok is captured differently and didn't seem to like having the AS and KU in them. I also haven't messed with it too much yet either.

Thanks again
Dan what's up bud! Did you get picked up by Yokomo? I thought you drove for Tamiya?

Carl
CSF0623 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2003, 11:33 PM   #2464
Tech Initiate
 
(SE)XRAY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 35
Default

Hey guys,

I'm looking into getting a SD ! does anyone know who's selling one?

Can you guys tell me if I got one, what hot up's are a must?

thanks guys
(SE)XRAY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2003, 11:38 PM   #2465
Tech Champion
 
Matt Howard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Abilene TX
Posts: 5,952
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

I don't know if your looking for new or used but www.speedworldraceway.com had some in stock when I was there this weekend. As far as hopups are concerned if the kit you buy doesn't come with a oneway (U.S. version) that would be the only necessary hopup in my book. www.speedtechrc.com has the lightweight Tobee input shafts, CVD's, and center shaft that are very nice and worth the money but I wouldn't consider them as necessary
__________________
Official member of The Guild of Calamitous Intent and proud supporter of Conjectural Technologies.
Serpent S411 LE kit #192
RCTech #361
Matt Howard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2003, 04:11 AM   #2466
Tech Master
 
johnbull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Malta. G.C.
Posts: 1,762
Default

Hi guys. greetings from Malta.

BIG DOG.

You are a saint! Your last contribution was just what I needed. You hit the nail right on the head. It is my driving that is just not the style for a spool. I am not agressive enough and I use the brakes very little.

In fact when I intentionally put in a few laps of really agressive driving I will get perhaps one super quick lap, but the rest will be such a mess!

Yesterday I ran with the normal 2 LSD set up and the car handles like a dream again. So nice to drive a car that handles again!

The point is that I was considerably quicker over 5 minutes than I had ever managed with the spool. I never managed 22 lappers with the spool - I did 3 yesterday. Also, best lap times came down from 14.7 to 14.4 with very regular 14 second laps.

So I suppose I'm best sticking with what I know, for at 57 years of age I think it's going to be much more difficult trying to change my driving style.

MARZIN.

You asked about AE shocks. Well I just use straightforward TC3 with threaded bodies, and I use their unobtanium shock shafts because they are stronger. Other than that it's straightforward TC3 with No 2 pistons and 40 oil. I have also been using the new Yoke SD diaphram caps. They give the shocks a better feel in both compression and rebound, but they're not necessary.

DYFUSER.

Randman's pics detailing new servo placement are excellent. I managed to mount mine using both servo mounts. If you trim off half the inner mount it will just fit between the middle deck and the chassis. I also run my servo turned through 180 deg from Randmans. This gives me a longer turnbuckle which retains it's angle better, and better access to the servo horn. But these are just details.

You can see pics of my cars on the Yoke USA site, in their gallery. They will be about 3 pages back now.

Regards

Joe from sunny Malta.
johnbull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2003, 06:36 AM   #2467
Tech Elite
 
highwayman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 2,334
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by johnbull
Hi guys. greetings from Malta.
MARZIN.

You asked about AE shocks. Well I just use straightforward TC3 with threaded bodies, and I use their unobtanium shock shafts because they are stronger. Other than that it's straightforward TC3 with No 2 pistons and 40 oil. I have also been using the new Yoke SD diaphram caps. They give the shocks a better feel in both compression and rebound, but they're not necessary.

Regards

Joe from sunny Malta.
hi joe, when you use the yoke diaphrams, doesn't it make the dampening harder?

... thanks - jason
highwayman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2003, 09:24 AM   #2468
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Auburn, Wa
Posts: 2,265
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Carl- Just switched last week and am awaiting my parts. Peter switched also with the 2 of us racing each other locally it works well for us to run the same chassis and work set-up from 2 angles he turns in softer than i do but other than that wwe run ver similar cars.

Johnbull- your are right I made the conversion last night myself with Randman's pics and it went without a hitch. What TB did you use to get the length I couldn't find one in my parts box that was long enough so I left it as Randman's
__________________
UF1 Seattle - SPEEDWERKES - VBC Racing - Team ORCA
Difuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2003, 10:03 AM   #2469
Tech Prophet
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,675
Trader Rating: 46 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by johnbull
Hi guys. greetings from Malta.

DYFUSER.

Randman's pics detailing new servo placement are excellent. I managed to mount mine using both servo mounts. If you trim off half the inner mount it will just fit between the middle deck and the chassis. I also run my servo turned through 180 deg from Randmans. This gives me a longer turnbuckle which retains it's angle better, and better access to the servo horn. But these are just details.

You can see pics of my cars on the Yoke USA site, in their gallery. They will be about 3 pages back now.

Regards

Joe from sunny Malta.
I was going for that 2'nd ear on the servo like you did Joe, unfortunately I used wire cutters (dont ask... I was out of my mind..) and it snapped the ears clean off rather than taking 1 off. With my short turnbuckle setup, using the long ball end on the bellcrank, my turnbuckle stays almost level through the entire throw of the servo, maybe at full extension either way it is 5-10 degrees from level.
Randy Caster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2003, 09:12 PM   #2470
Tech Master
 
cHckbOY5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to cHckbOY5
Default

ahhh i think im leaning toward the cuda r2... i need to decide soon!!!
cHckbOY5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2003, 09:44 PM   #2471
Tech Prophet
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,675
Trader Rating: 46 (100%+)
Default

Sorry to post this here, but I am about 50% of the way through building my cuda right now, and I do like it much more than the Yokomo. Everything goes together perfectly, much less flex without even having the chassis stiffener. Much stronger components, and it seems as if it is going to be lighter weight than the SD as well.

I liked my SD, but I am loving the R2.
Randy Caster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2003, 09:55 PM   #2472
Tech Elite
 
Joel Lagace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,628
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Too bad the battery is on the wrong side! LOL

Wonder why Tamiya EVO cars started on the right and then ended up on the left?

Wonder why HPI prototype started on the right but production car will be on the left?

Wonder why TC3 has it on the left?




Just buggin
__________________
"Without Rules its just Backyard Bashing!"
www.rcottawa.com
Joel Lagace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2003, 10:03 PM   #2473
Tech Master
 
cHckbOY5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to cHckbOY5
Default

y is dat... lol
cHckbOY5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2003, 10:14 PM   #2474
Tech Champion
 
JDM_DOHC_SiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 9,070
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Joel Lagace
Too bad the battery is on the wrong side! LOL

Wonder why Tamiya EVO cars started on the right and then ended up on the left?

Wonder why HPI prototype started on the right but production car will be on the left?

Wonder why TC3 has it on the left?




Just buggin
Thats why Randy bought a Web R2 ..hahha

-Dave
__________________
Ȼ4.5 Centro+α ◊ TRF 501ӽ ◊ TRF 502ӽs ◊ TRF 503 ◊ TRF 511 ◊ TRF 201ӽr ◊ TRF 211ӽ
B5m ◊ T5m ◊SC5m ◊ B64deez nutz
Speedway PAL ◊ SDRC ◊ Shop UFO ◊ SMC
JDM_DOHC_SiR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2003, 10:15 PM   #2475
Tech Regular
 
Koya Dale.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Manila Philippines
Posts: 254
Send a message via ICQ to Koya Dale.com
Default

tried the no center deck setting's and seems to be ok, didnt feel anything different though, so i guess i'll leave it out to lessen the weight of the car... i ran that on carpet and the lay out was really tight... i'll be testing it on asphalt the next two days hope everything works well

johnbull: what body are u using right now?
Koya Dale.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
yokomo or yokomo parts yokomo7 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 4 12-19-2009 08:45 PM
Yokomo is coming out with a new version of the bd : Yokomo BD 2 roadrashracing Electric On-Road 12 12-19-2007 07:08 AM
yokomo Aluminum Steering Bellcrank Posts and other yokomo spares hurley081182 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 2 02-27-2006 06:07 PM
Lots FS: CRC 3.2 & Yokomo YRX-12, Yokomo TC Tires, JR Receivers, New Motors, more TurboFC3S R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 15 09-22-2005 09:38 PM
WTB Yokomo 1/12 Mini...Trade for 1/10 Yokomo dynamic_e R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 07-12-2003 05:58 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:17 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net