R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-22-2003, 12:20 AM   #2101
Tech Elite
 
paulc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: APAC
Posts: 3,639
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

koya: I think they dont use the shim that was specified in the manual for the one way or was it removed the shim? Just dont follow the manual. Its somewhere in the pages, just look for it.


Last edited by paulc; 06-22-2003 at 12:55 AM.
paulc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2003, 01:01 AM   #2102
Tech Fanatic
 
glide 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Cebu City, Philippines
Posts: 760
Default Shimming 1-ways

Use both shims befor the large bearings on the outdrives. The manual specifies only to use 1 shim on 1 side...as a result we have experienced stripped ring/crown gears. Shim both and you won't have any stripping problems
glide 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2003, 02:00 AM   #2103
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Anaheim,California
Posts: 209
Default

use thee delrin gear the white one
Yokomo_King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2003, 06:33 AM   #2104
wyd
Tech Legend
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,141
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to wyd
Default

Are you guys making your own spool or does someone make one for the SD already?

Ran my car for the first time yesturday and it was damn good with diffs in. In the main I ran times like I did with my XXX-S with a spool in. The Yoke was very smooth and had great acceleration. Car is all stock but I want to get the spool or make my own and get some of the Tobee stuff I have been reading about.

johnbull I think I made the right choice. The car is very fast and with only a few changes was very easy to drive. I could run 5 laps at a time all with in a tenth of each other. If I had no traffic I could run as many laps as I wanted from start to finish all with in a tneth or two of each other. It is very consistant at my local inddor asphalt track. Also was easy to work on as well. Electronics fit tight and took me some time to wire it nice and neat but I got it done.
wyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2003, 06:56 AM   #2105
Tech Fanatic
 
glide 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Cebu City, Philippines
Posts: 760
Default tc3 shaft mod...

Quote:
Originally posted by wyd
Are you guys making your own spool or does someone make one for the SD already?

Ran my car for the first time yesturday and it was damn good with diffs in. In the main I ran times like I did with my XXX-S with a spool in. The Yoke was very smooth and had great acceleration. Car is all stock but I want to get the spool or make my own and get some of the Tobee stuff I have been reading about.

johnbull I think I made the right choice. The car is very fast and with only a few changes was very easy to drive. I could run 5 laps at a time all with in a tenth of each other. If I had no traffic I could run as many laps as I wanted from start to finish all with in a tneth or two of each other. It is very consistant at my local inddor asphalt track. Also was easy to work on as well. Electronics fit tight and took me some time to wire it nice and neat but I got it done.
glide 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2003, 07:03 AM   #2106
Tech Fanatic
 
glide 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Cebu City, Philippines
Posts: 760
Default wyd,

I agree the sd is very consistent lap by lap...feels and looks slow driving it but times are very good.

Johnbull, I know i have asked you about the tc3 shaft mod before but what i did not ask was what type of adhesive you used to glue the ends with and roughly how much shaft did you cut? thanks in advance
glide 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2003, 08:44 AM   #2107
Tech Elite
 
highwayman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 2,334
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

where can i download masami's setup? any other drivers , aside from post thier set-up?

what's the spring rate of the stock silver spring?

thnx
highwayman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2003, 09:36 AM   #2108
Tech Regular
 
Koya Dale.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Manila Philippines
Posts: 254
Send a message via ICQ to Koya Dale.com
Default

highwayman: go to www.rczone.net they have all the setups available for the sd and all other cars.... u have to register though

glide 1: looking forward to some input on that tc3 shaft mod and thanks for the reply hope i wont break another crown gear
Koya Dale.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2003, 09:38 AM   #2109
Tech Regular
 
Koya Dale.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Manila Philippines
Posts: 254
Send a message via ICQ to Koya Dale.com
Default

highwayman: heres the link for all the spring tensions.... rayspeeds arent posted though

http://www.schumacher.clara.net/springchart.htm
Koya Dale.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2003, 11:50 AM   #2110
Tech Prophet
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,675
Trader Rating: 46 (100%+)
Default Re: wyd,

Quote:
Originally posted by glide 1
I agree the sd is very consistent lap by lap...feels and looks slow driving it but times are very good.

Johnbull, I know i have asked you about the tc3 shaft mod before but what i did not ask was what type of adhesive you used to glue the ends with and roughly how much shaft did you cut? thanks in advance
I am pretty sure he just used CA glue and took his time doing the mod.
Randy Caster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2003, 11:58 AM   #2111
Tech Champion
 
SpeedTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 6,028
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Hi Guys,

About the one-way gears and the gears on the SD in general, I spoke with Yokomo USA tech support about stripping gears, and they suggest that when you build a new SD or replace the gears run the gears tight (with the suggested amount of shims) let the gears break in for several runs (perferably not high power modified motors) Once the gears have broken in, then you can play with the shims and loosen up the drivetrain.

Gear stripping problem sometimes occurs when guys start to play with the shims when the gears are still new, and the gears ending up not breaking in properly.

I recently read a Japanese magazine article, which had a 6 page explaination on how to build the SD by Yokomo's driver Adachi, and before running the car, he suggest using a low power source (he was using a Yokomo MMS) to power a motor on the car at low voltage to break in the drivetrain before running.

Hope that helped

Steve Wang
__________________
>>>www.SpeedtechHobbies.com<<<
SpeedTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2003, 12:21 PM   #2112
Tech Prophet
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,675
Trader Rating: 46 (100%+)
Default

That sounds like a good idea Steve, I am going to run those nylon gears on the 1 way that I bought from you. I'll just run it for a while on my LRP pulsar. BTW, can you order those rear pulleys for the MR-4TC for me?
Randy Caster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2003, 12:54 PM   #2113
Tech Elite
 
highwayman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 2,334
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

dale: thnx... will do, just registered...

if all else fails, i can always go to the LB setup... just kidding
highwayman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2003, 03:41 PM   #2114
wyd
Tech Legend
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,141
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to wyd
Default

Speedtech I just placed an order today for you on Monday. Do you have any locked spools for the SD or are guys just making their own? Does Yoke make a spool yet and if so do you have them?

Thanks
Brian
__________________
Castle Creations (Since 2005) Just awesome products
Bumps & Jumps RC (Great Indoor facility for offroad and oval)
ST Racing Concepts (STRC)
Custom Works (Best Oval Cars around)
wyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2003, 06:15 PM   #2115
Tech Champion
 
SpeedTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 6,028
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

randman,

I'll order those for your friend.

wyd,

thank you for the order. I don't know of anyone that makes a spool for the SD, all the yoke drivers I know just make their own with sand paper diff rings.

Steve Wang
__________________
>>>www.SpeedtechHobbies.com<<<
SpeedTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
yokomo or yokomo parts yokomo7 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 4 12-19-2009 08:45 PM
Yokomo is coming out with a new version of the bd : Yokomo BD 2 roadrashracing Electric On-Road 12 12-19-2007 07:08 AM
yokomo Aluminum Steering Bellcrank Posts and other yokomo spares hurley081182 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 2 02-27-2006 06:07 PM
Lots FS: CRC 3.2 & Yokomo YRX-12, Yokomo TC Tires, JR Receivers, New Motors, more TurboFC3S R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 15 09-22-2005 09:38 PM
WTB Yokomo 1/12 Mini...Trade for 1/10 Yokomo dynamic_e R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 07-12-2003 05:58 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:48 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net