Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Any V2 motor tip & trick? >

Any V2 motor tip & trick?

Any V2 motor tip & trick?

Reply

Old 12-19-2006, 04:25 PM
  #1  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (15)
 
James khoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 2,791
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default Any V2 motor tip & trick?

I just get my V2 motor,any tip & trick on this motor?please help.
thanks
James khoo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2006, 04:53 PM
  #2  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Sydney
Posts: 108
Default

Bolt it in and wire it up!

Go racing, easy as that.

Then you will have some benchmark for your preference.
Matt Dall is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2006, 06:55 PM
  #3  
Tech Master
iTrader: (12)
 
Wing Chun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Gold Coast,Australia
Posts: 1,025
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Hi James
Make sure you do not over gear it. They have problems with keeping the wires on.Keep the Spring/brush Tube clean. When you pull the trigger on you will see a light in the Endbell, there is a motor capacitor in the endbell with the light to tell you the motor is working fine . If the light does not come on at any time,there is a problem with the motor there is a problem with the motor.Try running the motor at 6 degrees( one line ) advance first and how it goes.
I love the motor's,Great design.
What model and wind are you using?
Good luck
Best wishes for Christmas.
Addam smith
Wing Chun is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2006, 07:13 PM
  #4  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (15)
 
James khoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 2,791
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Thanks,my Revelution V2 is 7 x2 turn.and i will run it on my xray T2 on gear ratio 8.80.
Will breakin the motor tonight
James khoo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2006, 07:31 PM
  #5  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (15)
 
James khoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 2,791
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Do i need a Schottky on this motor?

Cheers
James khoo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2006, 07:37 PM
  #6  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,039
Default

the shottky diode can be placed closer to the ESC, some people say its not as effective, but i think it doesn't matter. The shottky diode is used to protect the esc actually... (at least to my knowledge). For me 12 degrees of timing works best, (best speed/torque) for my track, but it does wear brushes fast.

Happy Racing (and Merry Christmas!)
rcnewb2004 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2006, 02:37 AM
  #7  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (3)
 
Patriiick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: France, Land of the French Fries.
Posts: 587
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

dont overtighten the endbell, the aluminium can sometimes bend a bit and put unecessary strain on the motor.
Patriiick is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2006, 04:32 PM
  #8  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (15)
 
James khoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 2,791
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Last night,after the break-in,the motor become hot,it is normal?
i break-in with 2 v with fan
James khoo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2006, 07:12 PM
  #9  
Tech Master
iTrader: (12)
 
Wing Chun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Gold Coast,Australia
Posts: 1,025
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

How long did you break it in for?
What amp did you run it at to break it in?
Addam
Wing Chun is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2006, 07:28 PM
  #10  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (15)
 
James khoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 2,791
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

I'm using 2 cells(1.2v per cell)break-in till the brush fully seated.then take apart the motor to fully clean on internal,do same light cut on the comm,reoil the bearing.
Correct me if i miss or wrong break-in or something.thanks
James khoo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2006, 07:53 PM
  #11  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
Guo Chean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Indiana, PA15701
Posts: 1,492
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by James khoo
I'm using 2 cells(1.2v per cell)break-in till the brush fully seated.then take apart the motor to fully clean on internal,do same light cut on the comm,reoil the bearing.
Correct me if i miss or wrong break-in or something.thanks
from what Joe Pillar told me during indoor champ the regular V2 endbell with the regular sprint brush. 1v break in for 10min. with the new OSJ endbell with the new 3.8mm sprint brush 1v break in for 15min. normally after i clean my motor and cut the com i just break in the motor after that i just run my motor without doing this process again take apart the motor to fully clean on internal,do same light cut on the comm,reoil the bearing.
Guo Chean is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2006, 09:22 PM
  #12  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (15)
 
James khoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 2,791
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Thanks for the info guys!
James khoo is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service