R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-27-2003, 09:23 AM   #1
Tech Master
 
Speed Demon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ROCK GARDEN
Posts: 1,053
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default Single cell label..???

most of our battery pack has test label on it..such as Orion,SMC,LRP,Integy.. etc...
they has:
Charge: 5.0 Amp, Discharge :30A, Runtime: xxxSec....etc...

My question is,. do they really discharge that particule cell (1 cell) at 30A?? I am curious how to do that...

I am actually trying discharge every single cell (loose) and have the reading out complete with graph using my data logger...

I dunno if I can discharge 30A from a single cell.. and how?
cheers..
__________________
CUSTOM CRAWLER & ROCK STACKER
Speed Demon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2003, 09:37 AM   #2
Tech Master
 
ChristopherKee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 1,005
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

Yes.... they use CE Turbo Matchers wich individualy charge and discharge each cell.

If you have a T35 you can purchase an individual cell holder. Or, if you don't have a T35 build your own.
__________________
***
ChristopherKee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2003, 06:28 PM   #3
Tech Master
 
Speed Demon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ROCK GARDEN
Posts: 1,053
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

I dun have a T35... how do I build a sinle cell discharger that can discharge 30Amps??? any schematic??
__________________
CUSTOM CRAWLER & ROCK STACKER
Speed Demon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2003, 06:09 AM   #4
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 396
Default

You want to build a 30amp single cell discharger ?

Ahem !

Step 1. - Get some heatsinks and a fan................
sleek the elite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2003, 08:11 AM   #5
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 250
Send a message via ICQ to JesseT
Default

You have to use a combination of resistors and a FET to make an adjustable load. Then using a feedback loop you control the FET to keep the current constant. That is more or less the only way. No constant resistance will work because the cell voltage is changing all the time.

I have made a 30A 16-bit computerized discharger that reads the voltage and internal resistance to the computer. Needs a heat sink, but I haven't used any fan at all.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg currentstabilisation2.jpg (44.1 KB, 14852 views)
JesseT is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SMC 5700mAh 25C Single Cell Lipo Danny/SMC Electric On-Road 352 05-14-2009 04:03 AM
why does my 3800 charge better as a single cell? danimal1965 Rookie Zone 0 03-15-2007 10:27 AM
CE SINGLE CELL HOLDER rogtsaamokin R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 09-11-2006 10:03 PM
Single Cell evaluation andrewdoherty Electric On-Road 2 09-09-2006 07:58 PM
CE Single cell holder II Fast R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 10 03-31-2006 04:31 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:19 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net