R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-11-2006, 10:22 AM   #1
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 441
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default Trinity DPD Modifications?

Trinity DPD modifications anyone?

Has anyone put any thinking into modifying or hacking a trinity DPD to allow realtime serial output? It would be nice to just have the DPD hook up serialy, then use hyperterm to catch real time data as it happens, similar to the CE GFX.

What about converting from transistors to resistors to increase discharge load capabilities? to increase from a 5a linear, to like a 20+a linear?

The trinity DPD battery connection error:
it does not have each cell connected as the prongs suggest. The connections are made similar to the rayspeed or the muchmore. By soldering wires from those unconnected prongs, to the same one sharing the battery bar you can double the contact area which might rid you of the battery connection errors. Also rather than sanding areas, you can use a scotch brite pad (green ones) on the DPDs terminals AND on your battery ends.

more than likely unrealistic the top 2, but useless prongs being made live would defeinitely be a simple process and can rid of headaches.
MManson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2006, 11:49 AM   #2
Tech Champion
 
MikeXray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 5,749
Trader Rating: 73 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MManson
Trinity DPD modifications anyone?

Has anyone put any thinking into modifying or hacking a trinity DPD to allow realtime serial output? It would be nice to just have the DPD hook up serialy, then use hyperterm to catch real time data as it happens, similar to the CE GFX.

What about converting from transistors to resistors to increase discharge load capabilities? to increase from a 5a linear, to like a 20+a linear?

The trinity DPD battery connection error:
it does not have each cell connected as the prongs suggest. The connections are made similar to the rayspeed or the muchmore. By soldering wires from those unconnected prongs, to the same one sharing the battery bar you can double the contact area which might rid you of the battery connection errors. Also rather than sanding areas, you can use a scotch brite pad (green ones) on the DPDs terminals AND on your battery ends.

more than likely unrealistic the top 2, but useless prongs being made live would defeinitely be a simple process and can rid of headaches.
Well THAT makes a lot of sense, which prongs are you saying aren't actually being used? 2 side or 2 top?
__________________
Mike L. Awesomatixusa.com | TQWire.com | Islandraceway.com |JacksonRCracing.com | Horsham RC | Sweepracingusa.com
MikeXray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2006, 12:13 PM   #3
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 441
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

when I said the top 2, i was talking about the 2 ideas of hacking the dpd. NOT the top 2, or side 2 prongs. thats all. as far as the prongs not connecting to anything internally, they are just used for applying pressure, and no electrical connectivity is made through them., I wrote them down at home when I took apart my friends tray.
MManson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2006, 03:43 PM   #4
Tech Elite
 
RCSteve93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 4,601
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Why would you want to hack it? It will void the warrenty.
__________________
rm -rf /windows
RCSteve93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2006, 04:16 PM   #5
Tech Elite
 
Jerry P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Astoria, NY
Posts: 2,436
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

what warranty? they dont give you a number to call and when you do the online submission they never write back. I left 2 submissions over 2 weeks ago letting them know that i couldnt get a battery to work in the DPD which was brand new. If it wasnt for the DPD thread here on rc tech i wouldnt have gotten it to work at all.
Jerry P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2006, 06:58 PM   #6
Tech Regular
 
coons88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Auckland, NZ
Posts: 311
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to coons88
Default

I randomly just stumbled accross this whilst looking in google for something completly different. I can't read it, but it looks like this DPD has been modified to connect to a computer or something?

www.kazsh.com/.../items/discharger/index.html
__________________
Associated TC6.1 | Hobbywing V3 | LRP X12 | Spektrum | Futaba | Reedy
coons88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2006, 09:36 PM   #7
Tech Fanatic
 
James35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
Posts: 750
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

The instructions do not explain this, but it's possible to put a battery in with all of the positive and negatives matching their markings, yet it can still be wrong. You have to make sure the end connectors (where you solder to) must be towards you. So you need to make sure you get the positive and negatives right AND the end terminals are closest to you. Took me forever to figure that out.
James35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2006, 06:36 AM   #8
Tech Champion
 
MikeXray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 5,749
Trader Rating: 73 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MManson
when I said the top 2, i was talking about the 2 ideas of hacking the dpd. NOT the top 2, or side 2 prongs. thats all. as far as the prongs not connecting to anything internally, they are just used for applying pressure, and no electrical connectivity is made through them., I wrote them down at home when I took apart my friends tray.
Yes I was asking which 2 prongs don't connect so I could make sure the active ones are seated on the bar well.
__________________
Mike L. Awesomatixusa.com | TQWire.com | Islandraceway.com |JacksonRCracing.com | Horsham RC | Sweepracingusa.com
MikeXray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2006, 08:12 AM   #9
Tech Champion
 
k_bojar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 7,009
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to k_bojar Send a message via AIM to k_bojar
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by coons88
I randomly just stumbled accross this whilst looking in google for something completly different. I can't read it, but it looks like this DPD has been modified to connect to a computer or something?

www.kazsh.com/.../items/discharger/index.html
your link is bad can you repost the link?
__________________
Bodies By Bean | Team Belly
k_bojar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2006, 08:21 AM   #10
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 441
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

ahh, gotcha,

I will post more on this tonight. I will goto my friends house and disect hsi dpd again and take pictures of what i'm talking about.
James is right, you can put a pack in and have the + and - all correct and it will give a battery error....
a battery bar MUST be in the upper left hand corner of the unit. Once I post pictures you will see.
hard to relay into text

yeah, please post the URL once again!


Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeXray
Yes I was asking which 2 prongs don't connect so I could make sure the active ones are seated on the bar well.
MManson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2006, 08:42 AM   #11
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 441
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

http://translate.google.com/translat...l%3Den%26lr%3D

seems like dpd is same as xray tray? doesnt look like they hacked it, but they are just monitoring the voltage using the eagle tree system. They are not capturing individual cell results, just watching the pack discharge curves and such. interesting site, Will keep me busy a bit!
MManson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2006, 03:38 PM   #12
Tech Regular
 
coons88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Auckland, NZ
Posts: 311
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to coons88
Default

Sorry, yes here is the link again:
http://translate.google.com/translat...l%3Den%26lr%3D
__________________
Associated TC6.1 | Hobbywing V3 | LRP X12 | Spektrum | Futaba | Reedy
coons88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2006, 12:21 AM   #13
Tech Elite
 
BSchorr's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Posts: 4,820
Trader Rating: 92 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to BSchorr Send a message via Yahoo to BSchorr Send a message via Skype™ to BSchorr
Default

The only think i see in the future doing is modifying the external leads to banane jacks, so when ever you have to use the external, just plug then in.
__________________
Proline ~ Genesis R/C Products ~ First Premier Satellites
BSchorr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2006, 04:50 PM   #14
Tech Addict
 
kcrunchone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: WWW.MAXAMPS.COM
Posts: 527
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BSchorr
The only think i see in the future doing is modifying the external leads to banane jacks, so when ever you have to use the external, just plug then in.

THe plugs added is an idea that I have thought about but used the plug ends on the clips and it works just the same. It is rare that I have used the exteral clips...
__________________
Rick Hill

"Failure Is Not An Option"
kcrunchone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2006, 08:14 PM   #15
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 210
Default

For those of you that don't use stick packs..

have you cut off and capped the external pack cables?
mcgmark is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
XXX-NT AD1 Modifications USATorque55 Electric Off-Road 4 05-31-2007 12:13 AM
Engine Modifications Blazin~ Nitro On-Road 23 01-15-2007 01:29 AM
xs3 receiver modifications chromedlux Australian Racing 2 09-08-2003 03:31 AM
Help! Exhaust modifications for TRX 2.5 Skidmark 420 Monster Trucks 11 08-28-2003 08:55 PM
Engine Modifications Stevehan Malaysian R/C Racers 47 07-20-2003 10:50 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:12 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net