Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Spektrum > Switch on > Full Throttle >

Spektrum > Switch on > Full Throttle

Spektrum > Switch on > Full Throttle

Reply

Old 12-10-2006, 01:58 AM
  #1  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 105
Default Spektrum > Switch on > Full Throttle

I got a problem with my Spektrum when switching on the car.

It takes a second to find the transmitter signal and in that period the ESC gives full throttle. Very annoying with a 19T Stock motor. But with my new LRP X11 5.5 Brushless it's a big problem!

It is possible to switch off the transmitter and have the ESC turn to neutral. I had this in my TC last year. But with my 1:12th I have the same problem, but with a different ESC.

So I have three cars, with three different ESCs. All are working fine. But only one of the stays neutral when the transmitter is off or the second between switching on and finding the transmitter signal.

I never had this problem with my old radio system (both PCM on and off), only with the Spektrum I get this problem.

Does anybody know how to fix this?
MBreve is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2006, 05:45 AM
  #2  
Tech Master
iTrader: (6)
 
d4_racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: in the emergency room :-(
Posts: 1,479
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

ummm, throttle trim? check your radios throttle setup and reset your speedy. it might have something like novaks 1 touch setup.
d4_racer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2006, 06:08 AM
  #3  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (202)
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: St Louis
Posts: 8,126
Trader Rating: 202 (100%+)
Default

Try binding again. You need to set the fail safe portion of the spectrum. This is normal if you bound the units. Then adjusted your esc.
dodgeguy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2006, 07:14 AM
  #4  
Tech Addict
 
Jmccormick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: maine
Posts: 626
Default

Originally Posted by dodgeguy
Try binding again. You need to set the fail safe portion of the spectrum. This is normal if you bound the units. Then adjusted your esc.
dodgeguy is correct when you first turn on you cars reciever it automaticly goes to failsafe while it searches for the signal from your transmitter. A simple way to check your failsafe settings is to turn on your radio and then your car wait for the signal to set during this process the LED's on both trans and rec will flash rapidly when they are set the LED will be on continously then while you car is supported with the wheels of the ground turn your transmitter off then the green LED on the reciever should go out indicating that the reciever has gone to failsafe mode. If your cars drivetrain starts moving when in failsafe mode then you need to reset your failsafe settings with the throttle trim on your radio and ESC in the neutral position or if desired with some brake dialed in it's your choice. Then rebind the system and you should be all set.

Last edited by Jmccormick; 12-10-2006 at 07:32 AM.
Jmccormick is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2006, 08:41 AM
  #5  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 105
Default

Thanx guys, re-binding did the trick indeed.

Never thought about the fail-safe setting.
MBreve is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service