Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Is any servo chatter acceptable? >

Is any servo chatter acceptable?

Is any servo chatter acceptable?

Old 12-09-2006, 09:04 PM
  #1  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Iceracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 656
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Is any servo chatter acceptable?

I notice that when I rev my motor on the stand, the front wheels chatter very slightly side to side. Its the actual servo doing it, as I can see the servo arm moving ever so slightly. I don't notice it on the track, but am wondering if the only acceptable situation is to see the servo rock steady?
Iceracer is offline  
Old 12-09-2006, 10:15 PM
  #2  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (1)
 
James35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
Posts: 752
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

No, this isn't acceptable. Usually the problem is the brushes, comm, or motor capacitors. To quickly confirm this, try a different motor.
James35 is offline  
Old 12-09-2006, 11:49 PM
  #3  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (9)
 
SWTour's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central Coast...CALIF.
Posts: 2,959
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

...Only from a FEMALE Servo...you can't STOP them from CHATTERING~
SWTour is offline  
Old 12-10-2006, 02:56 AM
  #4  
Tech Elite
 
wallyedmonds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Brampton ont canada
Posts: 3,662
Default

Originally Posted by Iceracer
I notice that when I rev my motor on the stand, the front wheels chatter very slightly side to side. Its the actual servo doing it, as I can see the servo arm moving ever so slightly. I don't notice it on the track, but am wondering if the only acceptable situation is to see the servo rock steady?
it could be from the servo its self,and if its not the motor try a different servo, (or a new one) this happens to me all the time,this is why iv gone to jr's cuz there cheap. what iv found is if you do big hit's the servo gets messed up in time, then i just put a new one in and its all fine. iv done this with 2 futaba's and 1 jr. AND if that dont fix it (and iv done this too) new speedo.
wallyedmonds is offline  
Old 12-10-2006, 02:58 AM
  #5  
Tech Elite
 
wallyedmonds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Brampton ont canada
Posts: 3,662
Default

Originally Posted by SWTour
...Only from a FEMALE Servo...you can't STOP them from CHATTERING~
LMGDAO. WAY FUNNY but i know dudes like this too
wallyedmonds is offline  
Old 12-10-2006, 11:03 AM
  #6  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (1)
 
James35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
Posts: 752
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by wallyedmonds
it could be from the servo its self,and if its not the motor try a different servo, (or a new one) this happens to me all the time,this is why iv gone to jr's cuz there cheap. what iv found is if you do big hit's the servo gets messed up in time, then i just put a new one in and its all fine. iv done this with 2 futaba's and 1 jr. AND if that dont fix it (and iv done this too) new speedo.
Although he mentioned the chatter happens under throttle which suggests the servo isn't the problem.
James35 is offline  
Old 12-10-2006, 12:54 PM
  #7  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 377
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

This happened to me awhile ago. Ended up being a bad pot in the servo. Ask to use someone elses servo or ask your hobbyshop to let you try one out to see if that is the problem.
wcalaker is offline  
Old 12-11-2006, 08:17 AM
  #8  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 442
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Try re-doing/re-running all your receiver/servo wires. make them neat.
When I switched to a digital servo years ago I got tons of chatter, Finally came down to how I routed the ST servo wire. The digital servo seemed to be pickier how its wires ran. Re organizing my wiring scheme took care of the problem. But first thing to check is motor issues as someone mentioned above.
MManson is offline  
Old 12-11-2006, 08:25 AM
  #9  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Iceracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 656
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

What's the best thing to do with excess servo wire? Do I coil it, or fold it up into a bundle?
Iceracer is offline  
Old 12-11-2006, 09:00 AM
  #10  
Tech Master
iTrader: (24)
 
pinggoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: WBP Florida
Posts: 1,263
Trader Rating: 24 (96%+)
Default

check your steering with no binding or any thing wrong.. then as they said check the wires... i had this problem couple months ago... it was cause by glitching....and the steering post was a little loose..
pinggoy is offline  
Old 01-29-2007, 04:39 PM
  #11  
Tech Master
iTrader: (5)
 
nikkiesteban's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,676
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

can poor soldering cause glitching?? like poor soldering in esc,batts,etc..
nikkiesteban is offline  
Old 01-30-2007, 03:59 AM
  #12  
Tech Master
iTrader: (5)
 
nikkiesteban's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,676
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by nikkiesteban
can poor soldering cause glitching?? like poor soldering in esc,batts,etc..
up up up... do any of here experience a very little amount of shaking or moving into the servo futaba 9402??? just a very little.. is it normal or 9402?

Last edited by nikkiesteban; 01-30-2007 at 04:09 AM.
nikkiesteban is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.