R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-08-2006, 06:41 AM   #1
Tech Champion
 
MikeXray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 5,749
Trader Rating: 73 (100%+)
Default Radioshack power supply not really 25A?

I picked up the 25A switching power supply, I have an older HUDY tire truer with a huge motor, my old pc powersupply I was using couldn't handle it, and neither can this radishack unit. I am using a 10A rated car battery charger and it works fine off that. I am thinking it's pulling too much when the switch is flipped on, maybe a small cap to buffer the hit?
__________________
Mike L. Awesomatixusa.com | TQWire.com | Islandraceway.com |JacksonRCracing.com | Horsham RC | Sweepracingusa.com
MikeXray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2006, 08:27 AM   #2
Tech Elite
 
ChrisP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Shelby Twp, MI
Posts: 2,047
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

I had a similar issue with my Radio Shack unit...I suspect that it sees the current spike at startup as a potential short and the internal electronics of the unit shut itself down as protection.

As a fix, I went to a 30A Rivergate Bulldog and haven't looked back.

The Radio Shack unit will indeed deliever its rated load...its internal circuitry just goes into failsafe when it sees a current spike.
ChrisP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2006, 05:38 PM   #3
Tech Elite
 
Yeti35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: SL, UT
Posts: 2,804
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

I don't run a truer off of mine but do run three Pulsar chargers, two Smart Trays and Tirewarmers with no problems. But to be fair I have not run the tire warmers while charging or equalizing. Never had it shut down on me.
__________________
JRXS Type R, I have four of them!! ;) ( Yes, I still have them!!)And racing one of them again!!
22 3.0SR
22T 2.0 w/ Exotech chassis
Yeti35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2006, 06:04 PM   #4
Tech Elite
 
ChrisP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Shelby Twp, MI
Posts: 2,047
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

I had no issues running multiple chargers or other steady draw devices off of mine either...it was when a large draw spike such as starting a motor occurred it would go into failsafe and turn off.
ChrisP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2006, 06:10 PM   #5
Tech Master
 
Jimmy Morris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,230
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

I had the same issue with mine. I flipped the switch and it spun for a second and then shut off.
__________________
www.superiorhobbies.com
Jimmy Morris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2006, 06:23 PM   #6
Tech Champion
 
MikeXray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 5,749
Trader Rating: 73 (100%+)
Default

I'm going to try using my 1F cap in my car as a buffer as a test, if it works, I'll see if a much smaller cap that I could mount under the truer would be enough.
__________________
Mike L. Awesomatixusa.com | TQWire.com | Islandraceway.com |JacksonRCracing.com | Horsham RC | Sweepracingusa.com
MikeXray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2006, 08:25 PM   #7
Tech Elite
 
PitCrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Seattle Indoor Raceway
Posts: 2,129
Default

I have a 15amp Radio shack PS, and I have run a tire truer on it many times.
this is a newer truer though. Maybe the motor in your truer needs some attention....
PitCrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2008, 10:44 PM   #8
Tech Fanatic
 
|JayFlores|2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: parañaque
Posts: 910
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Is ther a way for this 25amp Radioshack P/S to accept 220v AC? thanks

http://www.radioshack.com/family/ind...upport=support
|JayFlores|2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2008, 10:08 AM   #9
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 7,211
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeXray View Post
I picked up the 25A switching power supply, I have an older HUDY tire truer with a huge motor, my old pc powersupply I was using couldn't handle it, and neither can this radishack unit. I am using a 10A rated car battery charger and it works fine off that. I am thinking it's pulling too much when the switch is flipped on, maybe a small cap to buffer the hit?

The key word is it's a switching power supply, which is designed to shut down if too much current is drawn. That big motor on the Hudy (I think I have the same truer) takes a TREMEDOUS amount of power to get going. The battery charger will handle that initial load.

The best and cheapest way to power the truer is one of those 12v gel cells that they use in starter boxes and airplane flight boxes.
jiml is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2008, 03:24 PM   #10
Tech Elite
 
Drifting101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Melbourne, Aus
Posts: 2,199
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

if it was a 25 amp it would be huge and heavy!! My much more power supply is also not a 25 amp as it is claimed!!
__________________
::Mi4::17.5::::::M03R::HW 3000kv::::::T4::7.5::::::HB Cyclone D4::5.5::

"Why follow, when you can lead?"
Schumacher
Drifting101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2008, 04:56 PM   #11
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,038
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

must be a bunch of user error, or problem with the stuff you guys are running off of it. I have had mine for over a year and taxed the pi$$ out of mine on multiple occasions (including the Hudy automatic truer) and wasnt a hic-up, fart, or any other problems

I for one couldnt be happier with mine
__________________
"I can't be any clearer, on how crystal clear I am being"
convikt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2008, 05:34 PM   #12
Tech Fanatic
 
tpczx6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Fremont CA
Posts: 846
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drifting101 View Post
if it was a 25 amp it would be huge and heavy!! My much more power supply is also not a 25 amp as it is claimed!!
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeXray View Post
I picked up the 25A switching power supply, I have an older HUDY tire truer with a huge motor, my old pc powersupply I was using couldn't handle it, and neither can this radishack unit. I am using a 10A rated car battery charger and it works fine off that. I am thinking it's pulling too much when the switch is flipped on, maybe a small cap to buffer the hit?
I Have the Radioshack powersupply and its runs my Hudy fine but on some of the older models of hudy turers I find it will not start it. I found that if I spin the tire while I hit the switch it starts up fine. I have seen the much more run the Hudy just fine and seen people pull 30amp dyno runs on them also.


I have also put 2 6 cells pack together and run my truer off of them. I just use the ones I have in my starterbox for my 1/8th scale cars
__________________
RcAmerica--Xray---Hudy----KO PROPO USA---ORCA---GRAVITY RC
Motiv------Apexrc----- AVID
SWEEP Racing USA
Mike's Hobbyshop in Dallas (RIP)
Nor-Cal Hobbies [The Race Place]
tpczx6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Computer power supply used for charger power supply? 66Racer Radio and Electronics 7 05-25-2008 12:52 AM
Radioshack 25 amp power supply convikt R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 05-12-2008 07:33 AM
turning pc power supply into a rc power supply andy_666 Electric On-Road 20 01-16-2006 05:20 PM
Novak Millenium 1.2/Radioshack 10amp Power Supply Combo (Pics!) DOMOisCOOL R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 6 07-29-2004 02:48 PM
SEC Power Supply vs. Hobbico Power Supply? F1Junkie Electric On-Road 1 06-05-2004 08:52 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:50 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net