R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-07-2006, 10:11 PM   #16
Team EAM
 
EAMotorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 9,158
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to EAMotorsports
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DR VOODOO
THE LIGHTNIG I WOULD NOT USE AS A PAPER WEIGHT!
This is something I actually agree on you with 100%!!

EA
__________________
Contact Us
Team EAM, Our Facebook
Team EAM | Xray | RCAmerica | Hudy | APEX Raceway and Hobbies | RC Mission | Killer Concepts | AVID | Hobbywing.
EAMotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2006, 03:00 AM   #17
Tech Elite
 
BSchorr's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Posts: 4,820
Trader Rating: 92 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to BSchorr Send a message via Yahoo to BSchorr Send a message via Skype™ to BSchorr
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Glowster21
I had a DPD and it was great. Only reason I got rid of it was because it did not have voltage hold.
So the DPD keeps dumping the 1-5th cell before the 6th one? or does teh DPD hold it at like... .9 volt per cell like the Smart Tray?
__________________
Proline ~ Genesis R/C Products ~ First Premier Satellites
BSchorr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2006, 04:01 AM   #18
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,208
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

i've not seen my DPD dumping the 1st~5th cells... even if the 6th cell takes a while to drop to the cutoff voltage.
__________________
YOKObori MOkei
wyl03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2006, 04:34 AM   #19
Tech Elite
 
wallyedmonds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Brampton ont canada
Posts: 3,662
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BSchorr
So the DPD keeps dumping the 1-5th cell before the 6th one? or does teh DPD hold it at like... .9 volt per cell like the Smart Tray?
the novak smart tray dos not hold the volts at .9 a cell it discharges with alot less A so the cells stay lower longer than if you discharged with a 30 or 5 a cell discharger.
wallyedmonds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2006, 07:47 AM   #20
Tech Fanatic
 
SlamMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 847
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EAMotorsports
This is something I actually agree on you with 100%!!

EA
Dang! The price of the Lightning V2 is tempting and I was considering trying it out. What don't you guys like about it? What do you use Eric?
__________________
Michael H

OnRoadColorado.com
Colorado On Road RC Club
SlamMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2007, 01:45 AM   #21
Tech Elite
 
BSchorr's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Posts: 4,820
Trader Rating: 92 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to BSchorr Send a message via Yahoo to BSchorr Send a message via Skype™ to BSchorr
Default

TTT!
__________________
Proline ~ Genesis R/C Products ~ First Premier Satellites
BSchorr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2007, 02:19 AM   #22
Tech Adept
 
MadMikeB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 187
Default

I'm confused, why do you need to eq before charging? If the Lightning discharges every cell down to .9V (or whatever) surely that IS equalized? Or am I missing the point here?
Mike


Quote:
Originally Posted by dodgeguy
I say go with the lightning V2. It is the most cost effective unit. Really all you need is a something to dump your packs fast. Then equalize before charging. I am really looking into getting a lightning and unloading my CTX-D.
MadMikeB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2007, 03:53 AM   #23
Tech Adept
 
Veteq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 105
Default

I prefer the CTX-D2 for the following reasons. I run mod so I can use the discharge time after my run to gauge my power usage and see if I can gear up or not. Also like most said it discharges each cell individually. Also it's very versitile in the fact that the discharge cut-offs voltages are adjustable.

For me if you have the money go for the Much More unit. I have seen them them all and used the DPD the CTX-D and the CTX-D was better.
__________________
Team Associated - Reedy Motors - Team Much More
Slapmaster Tools - Apollo Hobbies - Hi Performance Distribution
Overgeared B.O.D - [email protected]
www.AEforums.co.uk
Veteq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2007, 04:04 AM   #24
Tech Addict
 
proceed5's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: KL
Posts: 499
Default

MuchMore CTX-Dv2
proceed5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2007, 05:00 AM   #25
Tech Regular
 
thecrow2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 451
Default

Id just add a comment. A person further up said their MM came faulty, I knew someone who bought a CTX-D and had 3 turn up, all faulty until finally he got a working one....which then broke.
thecrow2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2007, 06:18 AM   #26
Tech Master
 
XMSRacing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Milwaukee
Posts: 1,013
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to XMSRacing Send a message via Yahoo to XMSRacing
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wallyedmonds
the novak smart tray dos not hold the volts at .9 a cell it discharges with alot less A so the cells stay lower longer than if you discharged with a 30 or 5 a cell discharger.
The new "SE" version of the smart tray does hold the voltage.
XMSRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2007, 08:31 AM   #27
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Lexington, Ky
Posts: 763
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Glowster21
I had a DPD and it was great. Only reason I got rid of it was because it did not have voltage hold. I have seen the CTX-D version 2 in action and it is nice but I personally don't like screw posts. The best thing about the DPD was it did not require being connected to a Power Supply.
I thought the DPD did hold voltage.
bmcallister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2007, 08:58 AM   #28
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 3,121
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to A. Rhodes
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MadMikeB
I'm confused, why do you need to eq before charging? If the Lightning discharges every cell down to .9V (or whatever) surely that IS equalized? Or am I missing the point here?
Mike
The get the best result out of your pack, it is always best to equalize the cells prior to charging, to ensure they get a even charge.

I have not used the Lightning, but do use the CTXD, but beleive they generaly work the same.

After pulsing the pack down to .9 per cell, most times the pack does not finish all cells at the same time, so they tend to "reset" themselves back to 1.2V or so. Once the pack has cooled (if after race), the CTXD will still take 4-6 minutes to equalize the cells to .9 @ 5A linear. Once equalized for the first time, I generally run the linear discharge again, and then will charge the pack.
__________________
Retired from RC....
Quantum - St. Croix - Bass Pro Shops - XPS - Rapala
A. Rhodes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2007, 01:07 PM   #29
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: St Louis
Posts: 7,868
Trader Rating: 198 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MadMikeB
I'm confused, why do you need to eq before charging? If the Lightning discharges every cell down to .9V (or whatever) surely that IS equalized? Or am I missing the point here?
Mike
each cell has its own discharge curve. and charge curve. i have a CTX-D and a ICC. From these units I can see how the cells are not all the same. The matchers use discharge curves to grade cells. Not peak charge time or volts. This way of charge matching along with discharge would give us all great pack. But this way would also take more time to grade into packs.

Since we use mV drop off to peak a pack. If a cell is over charged and on is under you will still have an undercharged cell. and the pack will not be as strong during the race.
__________________
Please become an organ donor.
www.donatelife.net
Custom decals and Sno-Tee'z, T-Shirts by Sno Camel
dodgeguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2007, 02:14 PM   #30
Tech Elite
 
wallyedmonds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Brampton ont canada
Posts: 3,662
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by XMSRacing
The new "SE" version of the smart tray does hold the voltage.
yes true i just seen this,but really what will this do for the batts anyway.
wallyedmonds is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
muchmore, trinity, and integy discharge trays Dave Bowser R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 10 08-04-2008 05:09 PM
F/S Muchmore CTXD2, Integy 0-30 Reactor, Trinity D90 Dasupacat1 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 11-03-2007 10:48 AM
Trinity DPD VS. Teamwave Lightning discharge Equalizing System Jochim_18 Electric On-Road 58 07-25-2007 07:54 AM
Muchmore,Trinity stuff dougmartin R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 8 04-27-2007 02:41 PM
Dischargers MuchMore, Trinity Anemic_SluG R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 12-11-2006 05:32 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:49 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net