Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
What diff do you use and why? >

What diff do you use and why?

What diff do you use and why?

Reply

Old 12-05-2006, 09:08 PM
  #1  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (12)
 
Wing Chun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Gold Coast,Australia
Posts: 1,025
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default What diff do you use and why?

Hi there
Tell us what diff you use , do you use a Diff, One way or a spool. What car do you use and on what surface do you use it.What type of grip is your track.

I use a one Way in my 415 MSX on a Ashphalt high speed out door surface.With a good grip surface.
Addam
Wing Chun is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2006, 09:52 PM
  #2  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (18)
 
VooDooPH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Philippines
Posts: 3,715
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Yokomo LCG and BD... have one-ways in both of them running stock 27T, and 19T spec at an flowing indoor asphalt track. grip is medium.
VooDooPH is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2006, 10:05 PM
  #3  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 1,152
Default

I'll use any diff that floats my boat....

Really, the front 'diff' is a tuning option.Use any of the 3 options out there to gain you the fastest consistent lap times will the best option.

Currently using a spool in the MRE for obvious reasons (Haven't got the front one-way yet)....
Ben.C is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2006, 10:11 PM
  #4  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (12)
 
Still Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 7,289
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by TRFMAD
Hi there
Tell us what diff you use , do you use a Diff, One way or a spool. What car do you use and on what surface do you use it.What type of grip is your track.

I use a one Way in my 415 MSX on a Ashphalt high speed out door surface.With a good grip surface.
Addam
One comment I have about this topic is that I had to progress from using a diff to a spool AND a spool to a one-way. I would equate it to my going from Novice to Sportsman to Expert classes over the past three years.

Progressing from the diff to the spool was easy. Someone told me to tighten up my diff (over a period of time) until it was effectively like a spool.

Unlike a one-way, the diff and spool setups offer more off-power braking action. That braking action can be more assuring to up-and-coming drivers.

Practicing (alone) with a one-way is one thing; but, racing with one in traffic is a vastly different experience. You have to give yourself some time to get used to close racing with the one-way.

Back to your question...I use a one-way on my asphalt and carpet RDXs on rubber tires whenever I can...From high speed asphalt tracks to fairly small (but flowing) carpet tracks.

FYI...I still specialize in TC Expert Stock (rubber); but, can run foam tires in major races. None of what I have said is directed to foam tire setups.

Bill
Still Bill is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2006, 10:56 PM
  #5  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (9)
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: golf course and R/C track
Posts: 887
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Losi JRX-S, stock foam, carpet, diff with the heavy losi brown grease, large or small track doesn't seem to matter. I am tempted to try the spool at my home track to guage steering and pull out of the corner.
jeffb is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2006, 07:34 AM
  #6  
B3x
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 120
Default

When do you use a center one way such as on the TA05.
Do you use it by itself, or combined with diff, frt one way, spool?

Thanks
B3x is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2006, 09:38 AM
  #7  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (4)
 
Impulse_racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Glen Allen, VA
Posts: 250
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

T2'007, front oneway, medium grip carpet, stock and 19T. The comment about running a oneway in traffic is true. But if your car is properly setup you can use light to medium braking to checkup when you need to without upsetting the car. You'll be out front so it won't matter much.
Impulse_racer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2006, 10:30 AM
  #8  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (4)
 
Joel Lagace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,632
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

EU'007 rubber,carpet,oneway..... The car tracks so straight i can brake fairly hard in a straight line without loosing the back end... My brakes are set to 100% on the transmitter.
Joel Lagace is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service