R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-02-2006, 02:03 PM   #1
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Orange Park Fl
Posts: 485
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default Hudy Executive Automatic Comm Lathe

Anyone have any experience with these? I am thinking of getting one. I really hate motor maintenance. Where I live now , Tony Ross does my motors for me, and does a great job. But I am moving to Fl and I will be on my own.

I like the idea of it being fully automatic, but how good does it really do?

Pros? Cons?

Thanks for any input.
__________________
Lon
Mugen MBX6E Tekno V4 Tekin RX8 Tekin 1700
Losi SCTE 4x4 , Tekin RX8, Tekin SCX4-5.5
Associated SC10 4X4, Tekin RX8, Tekin SCX4 -5.5
Kyosho Ultima SC-R, Tekin RS Pro, Tekin 10.5
Lon_L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2006, 02:35 PM   #2
Tech Adept
 
stankulas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: hartford ct
Posts: 230
Default

that one makes a nice cut. however it is a pain to setup and if you cut diffrent size arms you will have to keep setting it up. if you buy it you will regret for sure after 2 weeks. buy a hudy manual one its cheaper and much easier to use. i still use the same one for 5 years. ( advance model).
__________________
RC America
Xray
Hudy
stankulas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2006, 02:45 PM   #3
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Orange Park Fl
Posts: 485
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stankulas
that one makes a nice cut. however it is a pain to setup and if you cut diffrent size arms you will have to keep setting it up. if you buy it you will regret for sure after 2 weeks. buy a hudy manual one its cheaper and much easier to use. i still use the same one for 5 years. ( advance model).
Thanks for the reply.
Do you have to do the setup each time you cut? or just when you change size?
__________________
Lon
Mugen MBX6E Tekno V4 Tekin RX8 Tekin 1700
Losi SCTE 4x4 , Tekin RX8, Tekin SCX4-5.5
Associated SC10 4X4, Tekin RX8, Tekin SCX4 -5.5
Kyosho Ultima SC-R, Tekin RS Pro, Tekin 10.5
Lon_L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2006, 02:48 PM   #4
Tech Adept
 
stankulas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: hartford ct
Posts: 230
Default

just when you change sizes but keep in mind that if you have say 2 stock motors that you run a night or want to get a few ready for a big race then they will all have diffrent sizes.
__________________
RC America
Xray
Hudy
stankulas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2006, 06:09 PM   #5
Tech Elite
 
Mr. Shookie's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Wilderness
Posts: 4,711
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Shookie Send a message via MSN to Mr. Shookie
Default

Lonny,

Just get a normal comm lathe, the none auto one before you move and have Tony show you how..
He taught me forever ago. Its really not much to cut a comm to me anymore..Like 3 minutes total....
This is the one I use...
http://www.speedtechrc.com/store/ebp...nid=131&id=252
and then I ordered one of these as it makes it so easy to setup for different motors...
http://www.hudy.net/eshop/products/p...4&kategoria=74

I know its pricey but you shouldn't ever need another lathe ever.

Hope that helps,
If Tony cannot show you I will....takes only minutes to learn all the tricks to get a really clean and straight cut.
-Shookie <><
__________________
All who love the LORD JESUS I praise with you.1 Cor 10:31
Team HOLY Rollers (Team Manager)
The Church is a Hospital for Sinners not a Museum for Saints.
RcTech Feedback <>< RC Tech Subcriber #92
Mr. Shookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2006, 06:49 PM   #6
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Orange Park Fl
Posts: 485
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Shook,

I have a Trinity Lathe now. I just hate doing it. that is why I always get Tony to do it for me. I figure if the auto lathes really work, atleast all I would have to do is throw the com on it and hit the button. that would be too bad. I just wish Hobby World in Fl (which will be my new local track) had a brushless class for touring car. they only run 19t, so I will have to deal with that. Now I run the brushless in my mod T2, and the 19t in one of my other T2's , and Tony has been hooking me up on the maintenance on it.

Funny though, dont know if you heard, last week we were racing 19t and his motor went up in smoke about 2 mins in, then about 1 min after that, mine went up too. But he had those 19t motors running like a 6t LOL. Now I told him just do the normal stuff <G>
__________________
Lon
Mugen MBX6E Tekno V4 Tekin RX8 Tekin 1700
Losi SCTE 4x4 , Tekin RX8, Tekin SCX4-5.5
Associated SC10 4X4, Tekin RX8, Tekin SCX4 -5.5
Kyosho Ultima SC-R, Tekin RS Pro, Tekin 10.5
Lon_L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2006, 08:43 PM   #7
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 699
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to AChupp2
Default

If you have the money or just want the best, the Fantom Lathe is second to none but most will do just fine. I use the Integy Automatic Lathe and it is simple and makes a great cut.
__________________
Fantom Racing Team Manager
AChupp2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2006, 08:55 PM   #8
Team EAM
 
EAMotorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 9,158
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to EAMotorsports
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AChupp2
If you have the money or just want the best, the Fantom Lathe is second to none but most will do just fine. I use the Integy Automatic Lathe and it is simple and makes a great cut.
IF I was looking for a new lathe the Fantom would be my LAST choice!! Ive seen way to many of them cutt with a taper in them and it can NOT be adjusted out of a Fantom lathe like it can with others. 400.00 is a lot of cash to spend on something that may or may not cut straight

If I was going to spend that kind of cash I would look at the Team Hard lathe. I have one here I am playing with and it is awesome. In fact is probably going to replace my trusty ol' Orion lathe as the Norm....Just want to test its durability and ease of use a few more weeks.

EA
__________________
Contact Us
Team EAM, Our Facebook
Team EAM | Xray | RCAmerica | Hudy | APEX Raceway and Hobbies | RC Mission | Killer Concepts | AVID | Hobbywing.
EAMotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2006, 09:01 PM   #9
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 699
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to AChupp2
Default

WOW! I have never heard anybody say that, only good things but I won't disagree. I know they aren't adjustable so it would definitely be possible. I would think that most lathes are sufficient though.
__________________
Fantom Racing Team Manager
AChupp2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2006, 09:05 PM   #10
Team EAM
 
EAMotorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 9,158
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to EAMotorsports
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AChupp2
WOW! I have never heard anybody say that, only good things but I won't disagree. I know they aren't adjustable so it would definitely be possible. I would think that most lathes are sufficient though.
Yea I wouldnt have thought the Fantoms would have been bad either but I had a few drivers that said when they rebuilt their motors the amp draw was near nothing (3-4 amps on a motor that was 10+). So I cutt the comm for them and it was right back up to where it should have been. After measuring the comm we found the problem. But I have seen plenty of Fantoms that cut awesome...Mo Denton has one, Todd Putnam has one, Michael Skeen, etc....Kinda weird

EA
__________________
Contact Us
Team EAM, Our Facebook
Team EAM | Xray | RCAmerica | Hudy | APEX Raceway and Hobbies | RC Mission | Killer Concepts | AVID | Hobbywing.
EAMotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2006, 09:08 PM   #11
Tech Master
 
picco007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: TX.
Posts: 1,814
Trader Rating: 92 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to picco007 Send a message via Yahoo to picco007
Default

I have had the Orion Quick set lathe for a year now and it has been great. I would seriously look into a manual lathe rather than an automatic one. Just my .2 cents.
__________________
EA Motorsports
picco007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2006, 07:57 AM   #12
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 835
Default

Interesting EA,I will have to check my Fantom lathe,what exactly did you find with the bad ones?
Hyper1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2006, 08:03 AM   #13
Team EAM
 
EAMotorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 9,158
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to EAMotorsports
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hyper1
Interesting EA,I will have to check my Fantom lathe,what exactly did you find with the bad ones?
That they cutt with a bad taper (smaller toward the stacks) by .001-.002.

EA
__________________
Contact Us
Team EAM, Our Facebook
Team EAM | Xray | RCAmerica | Hudy | APEX Raceway and Hobbies | RC Mission | Killer Concepts | AVID | Hobbywing.
EAMotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2006, 08:28 AM   #14
Tech Lord
 
protc3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Spring Hill,Florida
Posts: 10,838
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

i agree eric.i never bought a lathe that didnt need to be adjusted to cut straight and round.it takes me a bit but the lathe always cuts awesome and my bits always last longer.the fact that you can't adjust the fantom lathe is why i never tried one.
__________________
Jason Breiner
BMI Racing
Team Associated
J Concepts
protc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2006, 08:50 AM   #15
Tech Elite
 
HarshGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Roseville, CA
Posts: 3,379
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lon_L
Anyone have any experience with these? I am thinking of getting one. I really hate motor maintenance. Where I live now , Tony Ross does my motors for me, and does a great job. But I am moving to Fl and I will be on my own.

I like the idea of it being fully automatic, but how good does it really do?

Pros? Cons?

Thanks for any input.
I have one of these, cuts beautifully ...but it does take setup time for every com you , even if you are cutting all monster stock arms in a row as an example, not 2 have the "exact same positioning" of the com, what you have to adjust is the amount of movement the lathe will have back and forth ...I've gotten used to it now so no big deal, but it was pretty "painful" at first ...certainly the kewl thing about it is that you end up with a very nive cut as the back and forth movement of the lathe is controlled by the unit itself not by your hand cranking on a wheel (i.e. you drank a lot of coffe and energy drinks and you're hand's all jitery and you end up with threads on your com ).
__________________
http://www.arroyoc.com
http://www.gearchart.com
http://www.weracemountainbikes.com
HarshGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hudy Executive Automatic Comm Lathe cvt01 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 10 08-27-2007 06:14 PM
HUDY EXECUTIVE AUTOMATIC COMM LATHE Sigearhead R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 08-22-2007 04:45 PM
Help with Hudy Executive Automatic Comm Lathe HarshGuy Electric On-Road 15 01-09-2006 07:00 PM
Hudy Executive Comm Lathe Macky R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 10-08-2003 07:23 PM
HUDY "EXECUTIVE" Automatic Comm Lathe for sale Ron Meloni R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 08-07-2002 01:41 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:37 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net