R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-24-2003, 12:16 AM   #1
Tech Master
 
TRF-Powered's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 1,003
Default MIP Tweak station

Hi,

I have recently purchased one of this MIP tweak station. Today, I assembled the unit and set my car with all the electronics and battery on the station, and to my surprise both front and rear of the car are not tweaked at all. the bubble stay at the center for both front and rear. I was surprised that the car is not tweaked at all, which lead to the thought of that i might be using the tweak station in a wrong way.

Here is what I did with the tweak station any info about if i'm doing it right or wrong would be appricated:

1. assembled the station. by first make sure that the legs are even to the surface. (I did it in the way that was in the instruction)
2. put the front end of the car on the fixed bar, and the rear on the bar that moves.
3. Read the bubble (it's centered)
4. switch the rear to the front, front to the rear, and read the bubble for the front end of the car. And again, it's centered.

Does this mean that there is no tweak in my car and the car is well balanced?

or Am I reading the wrong thing and using the tweak station completely wrong?

Thanks
TRF-Powered is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2003, 01:42 AM   #2
Tech Master
 
Speed Demon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ROCK GARDEN
Posts: 1,053
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

I think it should be okay.. but just my opinion below..

1. make sure the fixed block is level by placing the other block with buble on it.

2. Fix the shaft onto the fixed block and level it with the other block that has buble.

3. Place the block with buble onto the shaft (end with bearing) and check if it is level. If not, balance the block with the supplied lead. If all are okay... place the car on it..

4. Read the bubble!!!!!

that's what I normally do.....correct me if I am wrong..
__________________
CUSTOM CRAWLER & ROCK STACKER
Speed Demon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2003, 07:32 AM   #3
Tech Apprentice
 
rchotrod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 56
Default tweak

dexter nailed this one!!!

Tweak should be the very last thing you do to tune your car.

If the tweak is way off, then something is wrong and needs to be fixed.

Most of the time the tweak can be adjusted out with less than 1 turn on the shock collar.

I will level out the entire guage, both side to side and front to back.

See Ya,
Rod
rchotrod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2003, 07:45 AM   #4
Tech Elite
 
howard hudson's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: some damned place called Iowa
Posts: 4,245
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by dexter
I think it should be okay.. but just my opinion below..

1. make sure the fixed block is level by placing the other block with buble on it.

2. Fix the shaft onto the fixed block and level it with the other block that has buble.

3. Place the block with buble onto the shaft (end with bearing) and check if it is level. If not, balance the block with the supplied lead. If all are okay... place the car on it..

4. Read the bubble!!!!!

that's what I normally do.....correct me if I am wrong..
THE ONLY THING i CAN ADD IS TO MAKE SURE YOU LEVEL THE SHAFT ALSO.

DO THIS BY PUTTING THE BAR WITH THE BUBBLE ON THE SHAFT. THEN LEVELING THE BAR WITH THE FRONT ADJUSTABLE FOOT
__________________
what the heck is r/c car??? ( said in your best redneck voice)

'OL BUZZARD FARMING (lol)
howard hudson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2003, 02:29 PM   #5
Tech Master
 
TRF-Powered's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 1,003
Default

Thanks for the reply

I have done all that you guys has mentioned, like leveling the center shaft, the fixed bar...etc....

And yes, I have tuned my car (the camber, tone in... ride height..etc) before I placed it on the tweak station.

So I guess I'm doing fine with the tweak then.

By the way, when you guys put your car on the tweak station. Do you have the tire on? or the setting wheel on?

Thanks
TRF-Powered is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2003, 04:03 PM   #6
Tech Elite
 
BigDogRacing's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 2,955
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to BigDogRacing
Default

In my opinion, it would be better to use the setup wheels if you have them because that would eliminate the variable of the tires/wheels being untrue even to a small degree.

There is one step you are leaving out. You need to check the front with a 10mm block under the rear first. The rear will be on the stationary bar. I don't feel like typing the whole process so go see the setting tweak thread.... we keep going over the same thing again and again and again...

Here's the link: http://www.rctech.net/forum/showthre...threadid=13511

Last edited by BigDogRacing; 02-24-2003 at 04:07 PM.
BigDogRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2003, 10:21 PM   #7
Tech Regular
 
Hooked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Rich Valley, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 396
Default Tweak Station Procedure

Jujst one more thing that has not been mentioned in this thread (although it has been mentioned in other threads) ...

and that is to push down in the center of both shock towers to settle the springs and then let them go before checking the bubble ...
Hooked is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Set up station and tweak station Integy Midnight R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 11 09-02-2008 04:43 PM
WTB MIP Tweak Station and 1/10th TC Setup Station Charles Leto R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 6 03-23-2006 12:05 PM
Integy Setup station & Tweak station dirtybirk R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 4 11-02-2005 08:59 PM
INTEGY SETUP STATION AND MIP Tweak Station yamrace R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 07-09-2005 05:14 PM
Setup Station Or tweak Station? goodspeed Nitro On-Road 11 02-23-2004 01:34 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:13 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net