R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-23-2003, 12:11 PM   #1
Tech Elite
 
Cole Trickle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Denmark / Europe
Posts: 2,571
Default Any belts alternative for Pro2 ?

Are there any other belts than HPI, that fits the Pro2?

I would like to get some with lower friction !
__________________
Schumacher Mi5 - Sanwa MT-4 / RX-462 / KO Propo PDS-2123 - Nosram 5600 X-treme Saddle Pack - LRP SPX Zero/X12 17,5 - Nosram Stealth Touch Evolution - MAAS SPS 9250
Cole Trickle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2003, 02:16 PM   #2
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 303
Default

Im not sure, but you could try the belts for the Speedmind Daytona. I think they share a lot of parts. Make sure before you buy though

www.speedmind.ca
RC Paperboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2003, 02:38 PM   #3
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Newville,Pa
Posts: 2,152
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

The speedmind car uses larger pulleys at the diff and layshaft, so the belts will be longer....
__________________
G's RC Raceway- Best off-road track on the east coast...period!!!

Pitman for Team Dallas Austin...
IMPACTPLAYR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2003, 02:57 PM   #4
Tech Addict
 
JohnA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Back in good old England :)
Posts: 590
Default

Atlas make after market belts for the Pro2, I think you should be able to get them through Integy. You should still be able to get HPI ones I would have thought.
JohnA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2003, 03:32 PM   #5
Tech Elite
 
popsracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: "Hot, Sunny Southern California"
Posts: 3,120
Default Cole Trickle;

Quote:
Are there any other belts than HPI, that fits the Pro2?
Try the HPI web site and see if they still list parts for that Car. I know that they make Low-Friction belts for the Pro-3 and had thought that the LF Belts were availible for the Pro-2 also.
HPI Racing
popsracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2003, 07:09 PM   #6
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Tai Po, HKG
Posts: 133
Send a message via ICQ to Mingfinity
Default Re: Cole Trickle;

Quote:
Originally posted by popsracer
Try the HPI web site and see if they still list parts for that Car. I know that they make Low-Friction belts for the Pro-3 and had thought that the LF Belts were availible for the Pro-2 also.
HPI Racing
Just found a website in Japanese that can help you

http://team-osion.hp.infoseek.co.jp/...belt-hyou.html

Seems PRO2's belt has the same length as the Kyosho TF-4
The rear has the same length as the Kyosho TF-4 rear belt also
Mingfinity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2003, 01:31 AM   #7
Tech Elite
 
Cole Trickle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Denmark / Europe
Posts: 2,571
Default

I got two sets of un-used original belts (one set in the car, the other as spare parts).

I'm purely looking for low friction versions.

HPI aint got any LF versions for the Pro2 and the Pro3 belts aint fitting the Pro2.

I will check out the X-Ray belts.
__________________
Schumacher Mi5 - Sanwa MT-4 / RX-462 / KO Propo PDS-2123 - Nosram 5600 X-treme Saddle Pack - LRP SPX Zero/X12 17,5 - Nosram Stealth Touch Evolution - MAAS SPS 9250
Cole Trickle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2003, 07:12 AM   #8
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Newville,Pa
Posts: 2,152
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Cole- a few suggestions,

-soak your belts in wd40, this will soften them up and make them more flexable

- carefully cut the belts down, I would say in 1/2 for the rear and maybe 1/3 off of the front......
__________________
G's RC Raceway- Best off-road track on the east coast...period!!!

Pitman for Team Dallas Austin...
IMPACTPLAYR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2003, 12:14 PM   #9
Tech Elite
 
Cole Trickle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Denmark / Europe
Posts: 2,571
Default

X-Ray belts dont fit (at least not without a lot of belt tension).

I've already soaked them in WD40, but thanks for the tip anyway.

Hmmm, cutting them down? Haven't tried it, but I think it's difficult. One small crack can spoil them. However, sonds tempting. Maybe I try with the old belts from my Sport2....
__________________
Schumacher Mi5 - Sanwa MT-4 / RX-462 / KO Propo PDS-2123 - Nosram 5600 X-treme Saddle Pack - LRP SPX Zero/X12 17,5 - Nosram Stealth Touch Evolution - MAAS SPS 9250
Cole Trickle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2003, 01:00 PM   #10
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 80
Default

An easy way to cut belts is just to hold a piece of rough grit sand paper against the side until the belt is the desired width.
Cyclonus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2003, 02:10 PM   #11
Tech Elite
 
Cole Trickle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Denmark / Europe
Posts: 2,571
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Cyclonus
An easy way to cut belts is just to hold a piece of rough grit sand paper against the side until the belt is the desired width.
Ahhh, clever ! Thanks.
__________________
Schumacher Mi5 - Sanwa MT-4 / RX-462 / KO Propo PDS-2123 - Nosram 5600 X-treme Saddle Pack - LRP SPX Zero/X12 17,5 - Nosram Stealth Touch Evolution - MAAS SPS 9250
Cole Trickle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2003, 03:00 PM   #12
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 105
Send a message via Yahoo to LaxRacer
Default

Cole

Did you Try Ofna OB4 belts, I think the front belt is about the same size. I know the rear doesn't fit ... Though I might have them backwards.

How off are the Xray Belts ??? one option you could do is re-gear your car so you can use them, aka different diffs, put nitro Diffs in.

Oh i had a thought ... Howbig is the Racer2's Front belt ??? its been awhile since I looked That might help.



C
LaxRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2003, 04:08 PM   #13
Tech Regular
 
HYDRAMATIC99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 492
Send a message via AIM to HYDRAMATIC99
Default

You could also thin the belts down like the xray high performance belts. I would use a sanding block to make sure its flat and even when removing material.
HYDRAMATIC99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2003, 03:40 AM   #14
Tom
Tech Regular
 
Tom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Australia-mate
Posts: 349
Default

try the corally belts

i have heared they fit
Tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Alternative to rb pit box? J.Gonzalez Nitro On-Road 10 05-18-2008 08:31 PM
Alternative to Paypal Scott S Chat Lounge 5 03-24-2008 11:28 AM
Alternative Underground Hip-Hop ruckusink Chat Lounge 19 03-10-2006 04:09 PM
compressor alternative impdog Painting, Designs, Graphics and Photography 8 09-30-2005 08:25 PM
Alternative Failsafe? Pirvan Rookie Zone 2 09-09-2002 10:48 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:27 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net