Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Any belts alternative for Pro2 ? >

Any belts alternative for Pro2 ?

Any belts alternative for Pro2 ?

Reply

Old 02-23-2003, 11:11 AM
  #1  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
 
Cole Trickle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Denmark / Europe
Posts: 2,571
Default Any belts alternative for Pro2 ?

Are there any other belts than HPI, that fits the Pro2?

I would like to get some with lower friction !
Cole Trickle is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2003, 01:16 PM
  #2  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 303
Default

Im not sure, but you could try the belts for the Speedmind Daytona. I think they share a lot of parts. Make sure before you buy though

www.speedmind.ca
RC Paperboy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2003, 01:38 PM
  #3  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Newville,Pa
Posts: 2,152
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

The speedmind car uses larger pulleys at the diff and layshaft, so the belts will be longer....
IMPACTPLAYR is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2003, 01:57 PM
  #4  
Tech Addict
 
JohnA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Back in good old England :)
Posts: 590
Default

Atlas make after market belts for the Pro2, I think you should be able to get them through Integy. You should still be able to get HPI ones I would have thought.
JohnA is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2003, 02:32 PM
  #5  
Tech Elite
 
popsracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: "Hot, Sunny Southern California"
Posts: 3,120
Default Cole Trickle;

Are there any other belts than HPI, that fits the Pro2?
Try the HPI web site and see if they still list parts for that Car. I know that they make Low-Friction belts for the Pro-3 and had thought that the LF Belts were availible for the Pro-2 also.
HPI Racing
popsracer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2003, 06:09 PM
  #6  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Tai Po, HKG
Posts: 133
Default Re: Cole Trickle;

Originally posted by popsracer
Try the HPI web site and see if they still list parts for that Car. I know that they make Low-Friction belts for the Pro-3 and had thought that the LF Belts were availible for the Pro-2 also.
HPI Racing
Just found a website in Japanese that can help you

http://team-osion.hp.infoseek.co.jp/...belt-hyou.html

Seems PRO2's belt has the same length as the Kyosho TF-4
The rear has the same length as the Kyosho TF-4 rear belt also
Mingfinity is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2003, 12:31 AM
  #7  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
 
Cole Trickle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Denmark / Europe
Posts: 2,571
Default

I got two sets of un-used original belts (one set in the car, the other as spare parts).

I'm purely looking for low friction versions.

HPI aint got any LF versions for the Pro2 and the Pro3 belts aint fitting the Pro2.

I will check out the X-Ray belts.
Cole Trickle is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2003, 06:12 AM
  #8  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Newville,Pa
Posts: 2,152
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Cole- a few suggestions,

-soak your belts in wd40, this will soften them up and make them more flexable

- carefully cut the belts down, I would say in 1/2 for the rear and maybe 1/3 off of the front......
IMPACTPLAYR is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2003, 11:14 AM
  #9  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
 
Cole Trickle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Denmark / Europe
Posts: 2,571
Default

X-Ray belts dont fit (at least not without a lot of belt tension).

I've already soaked them in WD40, but thanks for the tip anyway.

Hmmm, cutting them down? Haven't tried it, but I think it's difficult. One small crack can spoil them. However, sonds tempting. Maybe I try with the old belts from my Sport2....
Cole Trickle is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2003, 12:00 PM
  #10  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 80
Default

An easy way to cut belts is just to hold a piece of rough grit sand paper against the side until the belt is the desired width.
Cyclonus is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2003, 01:10 PM
  #11  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
 
Cole Trickle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Denmark / Europe
Posts: 2,571
Default

Originally posted by Cyclonus
An easy way to cut belts is just to hold a piece of rough grit sand paper against the side until the belt is the desired width.
Ahhh, clever ! Thanks.
Cole Trickle is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2003, 02:00 PM
  #12  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 105
Default

Cole

Did you Try Ofna OB4 belts, I think the front belt is about the same size. I know the rear doesn't fit ... Though I might have them backwards.

How off are the Xray Belts ??? one option you could do is re-gear your car so you can use them, aka different diffs, put nitro Diffs in.

Oh i had a thought ... Howbig is the Racer2's Front belt ??? its been awhile since I looked That might help.



C
LaxRacer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2003, 03:08 PM
  #13  
Tech Regular
 
HYDRAMATIC99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 492
Default

You could also thin the belts down like the xray high performance belts. I would use a sanding block to make sure its flat and even when removing material.
HYDRAMATIC99 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2003, 02:40 AM
  #14  
Tom
Tech Regular
 
Tom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Australia-mate
Posts: 349
Default

try the corally belts

i have heared they fit
Tom is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service