R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Old 02-21-2003, 09:21 AM   #1
Tech Adept

Send a message via AIM to unknown
Default Help with suspension tuning (TC3)

All right, I have been racing this car for about 2 months now. When I first started, I noticed that when I take turns going rather fast, the car would want to lift off the ground. Sometimes it would even flip over. I was racing one day and it happened and one of the "experienced" racers seen it. He told me to get the car and bring it to him. I did so, and he said that I needed to stiffen up the suspension. He suggested that I get purple springs all the way around. I ended up with copper in the front and red int he rear. My droop is set to stock which I think is 6 in the rear and 4 in the front. After I made that change, I took it back out onto the track and noticed that things got better. The car wouldn't want to lift up as much...but it did do it every once in a while. I only does it when I am going down the straight away and I make the turn. I even let up off the throttle a little and it still does it. So then, I bought the sway bar for the rear to see if that would help it any. From what I can see, it didn't really help it at all. Maybe just the slightest bit. After all is said and done, the car still wants to lift up off the ground when I am going into that turn after the straight away.

Can anyone recommend some things for me to try and test. I am sorta new and don't know all the "tricks". Thanks
unknown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2003, 09:25 AM   #2
Tech Initiate

Sounds like you are getting to much traction...I don't know what type of surface you are racing on but you might want to consider changing to a different type of tire.
Telengard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2003, 09:33 AM   #3
Tech Adept

I race on Ozite carpet. Everyone that races there runs foams. Double-purple's in the front and purples in the rear.
Old 02-21-2003, 09:36 AM   #4