R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-16-2006, 04:30 PM   #1
Tech Initiate
 
Montrealer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 37
Default Help with capacitor please

Hi,

I'm a hardcore offroad buggy racer grease monkey that just decided to spend winter racing instead of going nuts. I just bought a spankin new T2'007 with a LRP Quantum Competition 2 + a C027 and another 19 turn motor on it's way. I just need plain frank unbiased answers on the need for a capacitor on this specific ESC cause I'm a total noob to electric rc.

Is it required, is it just optional ? If optional, what would I gain from it, if required what do I stand to lose by not adding it.

I get different answers all over the place and I am definitly going nuts about this.

LRP QC2 owners' answers prefered.

thanks in advance.
Montrealer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2006, 05:38 PM   #2
Tech Master
 
timmay70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,701
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Punch. The cap will dump it's stored power when you get back on the throttle getting out of corners. This will make racing easier on your batteries as well.. IMO, a cap is very necessary in racing on-road, regardless of which ESC you choose. BTW, I use LRPs...
__________________
Speed Merchant Rev7, Tekin, TQ Racing (wire), Team Tamale
RC Excitement - Buy where you race, support your local tracks.
ROAR #105242
timmay70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2006, 06:34 PM   #3
Tech Regular
 
Z.Hallett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Reston, Virginia
Posts: 401
Send a message via AIM to Z.Hallett
Default

a capacitor also helps to keep the esc cool by charging itself w/ the voltage spikes. the cap. absorbs the extra volts and uses it to give extra punch out of the corners.

-Zac
Z.Hallett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2006, 06:56 PM   #4
Tech Initiate
 
Montrealer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 37
Default

I couldn't wait, read one of the threads about caps and I just installed a 16v 4700uF capacitor and a schottky diode on my motor and notice the motor runs MUCH faster.

Another question then. Can a capacitor harm the motor or ESC if I choose the wrong one. I think I got the right thing on as per what I read but just in case...
Montrealer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2006, 07:21 PM   #5
Tech Elite
 
mangoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,981
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Yeah sorry montrealer just saw your post. The QC2 worlds kit should come with 2 Power Capacitors. They greatly increase the punch of the speedie which is a must in any spec motor class, such as stock or 19T.

Basically the capacitor helps to maintain the voltage supplied by the battery when you are accelerating hard (thus the extra punch).

The difference in the two Power Capacitors is also very noticable, i think you have installed the big one which is the best choice.

I dont understand schoktty's so much but my understanding is that it will protect the fet's on the speedy while also increasing the breaking effect of the motor.

I dont know if choosing the wrong capacitor will harm the motor or esc. Manufacturers reckon they select the capictors based on testing which i guess means you dont want one too big that its going to drain your power **SHRUG**.

No idea if it can damage your equipment or not.
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone!!!
www.smaracing.org
www.rchobbies.com.au - www.feralbatteries.com.au
craig mcphee ( WHERE'S MY BEER )
mangoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2006, 08:12 PM   #6
Tech Initiate
 
Montrealer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 37
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mangoman
Yeah sorry montrealer just saw your post. The QC2 worlds kit should come with 2 Power Capacitors. They greatly increase the punch of the speedie which is a must in any spec motor class, such as stock or 19T.

Basically the capacitor helps to maintain the voltage supplied by the battery when you are accelerating hard (thus the extra punch).

The difference in the two Power Capacitors is also very noticable, i think you have installed the big one which is the best choice.

I dont understand schoktty's so much but my understanding is that it will protect the fet's on the speedy while also increasing the breaking effect of the motor.

I dont know if choosing the wrong capacitor will harm the motor or esc. Manufacturers reckon they select the capictors based on testing which i guess means you dont want one too big that its going to drain your power **SHRUG**.

No idea if it can damage your equipment or not.
It's not actualy the worlds upgrade kit I installed but rather a 2$ capacitor I got from an electronics store. The schottky came with my ESC. Anywho, the results are spectacular.
Montrealer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2006, 09:20 PM   #7
Tech Addict
 
Iceracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 656
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

It depends where you are installing the capacitor. If its on the power leads or plugged into the receiver, you can use whatever size you want. If its on the output from the ESC, which is high frequency DC pcm, you should not install a large capacitor. It will absorb the power that was meant to go into the motor. Only extremely low value caps (0.1uf) are installed at the motor, and that is to absorb unwanted rfi. Capacitors block DC and pass AC. That's why you don't put a large on on the output of the esc or across the motor leads.
Iceracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2006, 11:21 AM   #8
Tech Initiate
 
Montrealer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 37
Default

Damn !

Now I'm getting even more confused. I installed the Cap on my QC2, it does run faster. Called my LHS, they say they are not required as one of these capacitors is integrated in the ESC. Will this additionnal capacitor, assuming there is one equal inside the ESC, harm my motor put throwing too much power to it ?

Summer...nitro... please come back
Montrealer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2006, 11:39 AM   #9
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,300
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Montrealer
Will this additionnal capacitor, assuming there is one equal inside the ESC, harm my motor put throwing too much power to it ?
No - it will not harm the motor. Some racers even elect to install larger caps on their speed controls. With the size of QC2 I doubt the cap inside the shell is 4700 Uf.
duckman996 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2006, 12:25 PM   #10
Tech Master
 
timmay70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,701
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Montrealer
Called my LHS, they say they are not required as one of these capacitors is integrated in the ESC.
Your LHS is run by an uneducated d**t. Ok, that may have been a little harsh, so he's just uneducated in the fine ways of on-road. Put a nice fat cap on the battery leads going into your esc for more punch. Plug one into your receiver to help keep the voltage up going to the electronics, and put .01uF caps on the motor (most have them now) to keep stray rf away. Caps are your friend. I know someone that runs 2 caps in parallel on the battery in for the ESC... I don't like to spin my foam tires on carpet.
__________________
Speed Merchant Rev7, Tekin, TQ Racing (wire), Team Tamale
RC Excitement - Buy where you race, support your local tracks.
ROAR #105242
timmay70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2006, 12:38 PM   #11
Tech Initiate
 
Montrealer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 37
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by timmay70
Your LHS is run by an uneducated d**t. Ok, that may have been a little harsh, so he's just uneducated in the fine ways of on-road. Put a nice fat cap on the battery leads going into your esc for more punch. Plug one into your receiver to help keep the voltage up going to the electronics, and put .01uF caps on the motor (most have them now) to keep stray rf away. Caps are your friend. I know someone that runs 2 caps in parallel on the battery in for the ESC... I don't like to spin my foam tires on carpet.
: Capacitors are my friends... capacitors are your friends... everybody should have a capacitor friend... dum dudum dudum...

LOL !!! thanks, I feel better already.

E.
Montrealer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2006, 04:59 PM   #12
Tech Master
 
nikkiesteban's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,649
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to nikkiesteban
Default

i saw this post and maybe i can ask questions here.. i have a TC2 esc and bought it 2nd hand, and there's no power cap installed on i but it do have the wires for the power cap.. if i will be buying at a local electronic shop what it should buy.. wat farad and voltage??
nikkiesteban is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2006, 06:15 PM   #13
Tech Addict
 
Iceracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 656
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nikkiesteban
i saw this post and maybe i can ask questions here.. i have a TC2 esc and bought it 2nd hand, and there's no power cap installed on i but it do have the wires for the power cap.. if i will be buying at a local electronic shop what it should buy.. wat farad and voltage??
4700uf 10 volts

Should be about the size of a thimble. You can go larger on either number, but the physical size will increase. Increased voltage rating is not necessary and would be unnecessary added size.
Iceracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2007, 06:55 PM   #14
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Middletown, NY
Posts: 71
Send a message via AIM to BadCarmaNY
Default

Sorry to bring back an old thread, but Im curious.. Does anyone know where there is.. or HAVE.. a diagram showing the installation of a power capacitor?

And can you use one on ANY ESC? Im was just looking at an LRP Quantum 2 Super Reverse.. http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXLTY2&P=7

and wondering if it would ham this?

This is the only thread with real good answers I found, just looking for more of an installation step-by-step...
BadCarmaNY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2007, 07:02 PM   #15
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Middletown, NY
Posts: 71
Send a message via AIM to BadCarmaNY
Default

Oooh, also... is there any charging required for these caps? With a car stereo cap, I know you have to hook it up to power through a resistor, and let the power gradually build before installation...

Anything similar with these?
BadCarmaNY is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RX Capacitor? wog....supraman Radio and Electronics 2 11-05-2007 01:51 AM
Capacitor surrealmaterial Electric On-Road 8 02-28-2007 02:09 AM
capacitor help dado11g Electric On-Road 7 08-26-2005 01:33 AM
capacitor and p2k pro w/ gt7 tc3Guru Electric On-Road 1 06-15-2004 01:07 AM
Capacitor kartermdb Electric On-Road 2 05-11-2004 07:41 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:23 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net