R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-13-2006, 01:42 PM   #1
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Kent
Posts: 78
Default spektrum dx3 or dx2?

just looking for some input as to what radio to get. i will be using this in my ta-05 and thats about it. what would you go for? and when is the 3channel really needed?

thanks.
2qwik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2006, 01:57 PM   #2
Tech Master
 
PitNamedGordie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Highwood, IL
Posts: 1,789
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to PitNamedGordie Send a message via Yahoo to PitNamedGordie
Default

I am about to do the same thing. I am going withe the DX2 because you still get the 3 channel reciever and for our cars you dont't need to control a third channel. AND it's about $90 cheaper!
__________________
☆ The Track @ Harbor Hobbies ☆ www.harbor-hobby.net ☆
PitNamedGordie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2006, 07:56 PM   #3
Tech Elite
 
Joel Lagace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,628
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I have raced nitro and electric on and offroad for years and have yet to ever use the 3rd channel on my Futaba 3PK. If i could have saved $90 on the radio to not have the 3rd channel i would have taken the money!
__________________
"Without Rules its just Backyard Bashing!"
www.rcottawa.com
Joel Lagace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2006, 02:54 AM   #4
Tech Regular
 
Pie_robot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 461
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Pie_robot
Default

not sure bout nitro on road but in nitro boats a third servo is used for the air/fuel pin

so unless you plan to run a nitro boat you dont need to worry bout it
__________________
Tamiya 415MRE- GTB +10.5- Spektrum = 19t
Tamiya F103gt - 17.5t -lipo(yah) = 2wd stock
Tamiya M03 -Spektrum - NiMh(boo)= Mini

Bodgy Brothers Racing......19t,Stock,Mini,540,2wd stock
JMP Graphics....sparkly
www.castlehillraceway.com
Pie_robot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2006, 03:03 AM   #5
Tech Regular
 
Boosta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Old Hatfield
Posts: 431
Default

i'm pretty sure you would use the third channel on the reciever to power a personal transponder but you don't need it on the tranny
Boosta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2006, 03:10 AM   #6
Tech Regular
 
Pie_robot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 461
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Pie_robot
Default

im pretty sure you can run a personal transponder of the aux power input
__________________
Tamiya 415MRE- GTB +10.5- Spektrum = 19t
Tamiya F103gt - 17.5t -lipo(yah) = 2wd stock
Tamiya M03 -Spektrum - NiMh(boo)= Mini

Bodgy Brothers Racing......19t,Stock,Mini,540,2wd stock
JMP Graphics....sparkly
www.castlehillraceway.com
Pie_robot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2006, 03:15 AM   #7
Tech Regular
 
Boosta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Old Hatfield
Posts: 431
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pie_robot
im pretty sure you can run a personal transponder of the aux power input
Your right there Pie_robot you may also need the third channel for a Capacitor just incase you experiance the voltage drop some people have encountered when using certain digital servos (ko etc) you an check this by holding the car in the air and going full throttle and steer left and right whilst listening to hear if the motor slows up.
Boosta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2006, 03:17 AM   #8
Tech Regular
 
Pie_robot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 461
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Pie_robot
Default

Thx i didn't know that
__________________
Tamiya 415MRE- GTB +10.5- Spektrum = 19t
Tamiya F103gt - 17.5t -lipo(yah) = 2wd stock
Tamiya M03 -Spektrum - NiMh(boo)= Mini

Bodgy Brothers Racing......19t,Stock,Mini,540,2wd stock
JMP Graphics....sparkly
www.castlehillraceway.com
Pie_robot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2006, 09:18 AM   #9
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Kent
Posts: 78
Default

thanks for the tips and inputs! i ended up getting a dx2. thanks again.
2qwik is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Futaba 3PKS - Lipo Tx Pack - Spektrum Module - Spektrum Micro Pro Reciever - Case racer34v R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 06-20-2008 09:42 AM
HUGE SALE TONS TC5, Novak Speak Spektrum GTB 13.5, Spektrum Pro, AMB Transponder + mach51 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 16 01-08-2008 03:11 PM
Electronics For Sale: M11/Spektrum, Spektrum Micro RX, Futaba Synth etc. johnnyboy R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 11-30-2007 08:17 AM
swap ko propo helios radio with spektrum pro for 3pk super with spektrum pro willabong Australia Wanted to Buy 0 04-01-2007 05:39 AM
Spektrum receiver...Spektrum 590 Servo...PCR Temp gun...CRT Roto start... SCUBA STEVE R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 8 08-22-2006 09:18 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:55 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net