R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-10-2006, 08:49 PM   #1
Tech Elite
 
tmaxxking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Roseboro NC
Posts: 4,990
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to tmaxxking
Motor Break In Using An Ice Charger

Im Lost With In The Motor Break In On This Thing

The Last Time I Bought A New Motor . I Took It Out Of The Package And Ran Like I Stole It



Any Info Would Be Great
__________________
FEEDBACK LINK

rctech.net/forum/showthread.php?t=106423
tmaxxking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2006, 08:53 PM   #2
wyd
Tech Legend
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,143
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to wyd
Default

Are you looking for advice on breaking in your motor when using the breakin on the ICE? If so I set my charger to run motors at 2 volts and then put a fan on my motor and run it for 300 seconds.
__________________
Castle Creations (Since 2005) Just awesome products
Bumps & Jumps RC (Great Indoor facility for offroad and oval)
ST Racing Concepts (STRC)
Custom Works (Best Oval Cars around)
wyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2006, 09:01 PM   #3
Tech Elite
 
tmaxxking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Roseboro NC
Posts: 4,990
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to tmaxxking
Default .

I Have No Idea What To Do With It

To Many Options With All The Cycle Time's

Back When I Built Slot Car Motor's

For Break In's We Would Oil The Oil Lites Or Bearing's

A Drop Of VooDoo juice On the Com

Real Low Setting On The Break In Box

Listen To It For The RPM's To Come Up When The Brushes Were Broken In

Let It Cool Down

Clean Reoil And Bring The Voltage Up A Little At A Time
__________________
FEEDBACK LINK

rctech.net/forum/showthread.php?t=106423

Last edited by tmaxxking; 11-11-2006 at 04:03 PM.
tmaxxking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2006, 03:29 PM   #4
Tech Elite
 
tmaxxking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Roseboro NC
Posts: 4,990
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to tmaxxking
Default .

Anyone Else Have Some Input On This

Thanks Again wyd
__________________
FEEDBACK LINK

rctech.net/forum/showthread.php?t=106423
tmaxxking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2006, 03:35 PM   #5
Tech Adept
 
Rc_Boy89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: New Zealand, Dunedin
Posts: 234
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Rc_Boy89
Default

i dont understand what your trying to say....do you want to know how to use this feature on the charger?
__________________
.:Team Extreme:.

Kyosho STRR / OS Speed
Mugen MTX-4R / RB Speedline Matrix
Jammin CRT.5 / Sirio STI
Rc_Boy89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2006, 04:01 PM   #6
Tech Elite
 
tmaxxking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Roseboro NC
Posts: 4,990
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to tmaxxking
Default .

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rc_Boy89
i dont understand what your trying to say....do you want to know how to use this feature on the charger?

Yes That's What I Want To Know

How Many Cycle's

How Much Time Per Cycle

Does Anyone Use Com Drops Or Just Oil On The Bearing's/Bronze Bushing's aka Oillite's
__________________
FEEDBACK LINK

rctech.net/forum/showthread.php?t=106423
tmaxxking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2006, 04:18 PM   #7
Tech Master
 
sportpak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ft Wayne, IN
Posts: 1,314
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Run it on the charger at 2 volts for atleast 300 seconds. Watch the amp draw. When the amps come up the motor is getting close to broke in. When the amps level off it should be pretty close. You ask 20 guys, you get 20 different opinions. Play with it and see what works for you.
__________________
-Tamiya TA05-R - Tamiya M05 - Summit Raceway Ft. Wayne, IN

www.summitrcraceway.com
sportpak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2006, 04:39 PM   #8
Tech Elite
 
tmaxxking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Roseboro NC
Posts: 4,990
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to tmaxxking
Default .

well so far i have 2 guy's saying 2 volts juice

300 seconds of run in time



does anyone use com drops for break in's ?

at 50.00 a pop i dont want to end up with that wonderful aroma of fried electric filling my room
__________________
FEEDBACK LINK

rctech.net/forum/showthread.php?t=106423
tmaxxking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2006, 11:40 PM   #9
Tech Regular
 
Impulse_racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Glen Allen, VA
Posts: 250
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tmaxxking
well so far i have 2 guy's saying 2 volts juice

300 seconds of run in time



does anyone use com drops for break in's ?

at 50.00 a pop i dont want to end up with that wonderful aroma of fried electric filling my room
Lube the bushings but not the com. You want the brushes to wear to the shape of the com. Lubing the com defeats the purpose and prolongs the breakin time.
__________________
Xray T3 EU
KO Propo Helios
Tekin RS Pro/LRP X-12/Venom LiPo
Hudy
Litemodz CVS
Impulse_racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2006, 02:59 PM   #10
Tech Regular
 
Z.Hallett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Reston, Virginia
Posts: 401
Send a message via AIM to Z.Hallett
Default

the length of time of the break-in depends on the brushes you use. for F brushes i break my motors in for 500 secs. at 2.5 volt. i oil only the bushing, nothing else.

-Zac
Z.Hallett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2006, 03:23 PM   #11
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Toronto
Posts: 195
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Do you guys use a fan on the motor when breaking in. People seem to be divided on whether you should place any load on the motor during break-in.
jon123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2006, 03:27 PM   #12
Tech Regular
 
Z.Hallett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Reston, Virginia
Posts: 401
Send a message via AIM to Z.Hallett
Default

i use a fan for load only when i am breaking in 10th motors, not for motors that will go into a 12th scale car.

-Zac
Z.Hallett is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Motor Break In aussierevo Electric On-Road 5 12-09-2007 08:13 PM
motor lathe/motor break in andy_b22 Electric On-Road 4 05-17-2006 06:29 PM
Motor Break DOES Higher AMP draw = better motor? Travis S Electric On-Road 13 02-12-2005 03:02 AM
charger/dyno/break-in hogdaddy77 Electric On-Road 8 12-27-2004 11:43 AM
Motor Break-in? TC3er Electric On-Road 7 03-15-2004 02:51 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:20 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net