Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
fastest digi servo for reasonable price? >

fastest digi servo for reasonable price?

fastest digi servo for reasonable price?

Reply

Old 10-25-2006, 10:06 PM
  #1  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
builthatch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Southern NJ
Posts: 265
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default fastest digi servo for reasonable price?

first question- i see alot of people barking about ratings at 6V; aren't most of you giving the servo 4.8-5V? If not, what am i missing because my Mamba Max ESC provides 5V BEC.

So, i have a Futaba digi 3050. it cost me in the $40 range. it's got a claimed .16 @ 6V, but where it matters for me is a .20 @ 4.8V.

What out there is faster to the point to warrant spending the cash to replace the 3050?

It's currently in my Losi mf2, but i need one for my upcoming touring car order and i figure i'll put the fastest servo (within dollar reason) in both cars.

thanks!
builthatch is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2006, 12:08 PM
  #2  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
builthatch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Southern NJ
Posts: 265
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

up for info
builthatch is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2006, 12:13 PM
  #3  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (38)
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

What's your budget? I currently use some high-end Airtronics servo but it is like $125. The Futaba s9451 is a good servo and a bit less. Hitec servos seems to be the best value.
or8ital is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2006, 12:16 PM
  #4  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (70)
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Dallas,Tx
Posts: 3,666
Trader Rating: 70 (100%+)
Default

Few Questions need to be answered here.

1st-Why Digital?

2nd-Whats your budget?

3rd-Are you going to run the mamba in both?

Les
TexRacer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2006, 12:31 PM
  #5  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
builthatch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Southern NJ
Posts: 265
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by TexRacer
Few Questions need to be answered here.

1st-Why Digital?

2nd-Whats your budget?

3rd-Are you going to run the mamba in both?

Les
les,

well, i'm going digital because i'd like to have the new school technology. I am getting my feet wet with new stuff (new to me since i've been out for a while) like synth FM, HRS, digi servos, brushless, etc...

I figure i have the RX and big capacity batteries for it, so i'll go with digi.

My budget is roughly 80$ if possible...i mean, if it's a truly marginal difference vs. my 3050 then i'll stick with this one, but if there is one out there that is noticeably faster, then i'll spring for it.

and yes, i will be running the Mamba in both; why do you ask? im curious about that one...

What do you guys think about the 5V vs. 6V thing? what do you guys do to get it 6V?
builthatch is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2006, 12:35 PM
  #6  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (30)
 
k_bojar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 7,020
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by builthatch
well, i'm going digital because i'd like to have the new school technology.
Just don't confused digital as "new school"...there are plenty of new servo release that aren't digital - don't mean they are "old school"

speed isn't necessarily the thing you want for a stadium truck - torque is what you are looking for...and in most cases, that what the digital gives you...not that's not saying that a "normal" servo producing 80oz of torque is crap...just don't have the 145oz that some of the digital are capable of producing...
k_bojar is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2006, 12:41 PM
  #7  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (38)
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by k_bojar
Just don't confused digital as "new school"...there are plenty of new servo release that aren't digital - don't mean they are "old school"

speed isn't necessarily the thing you want for a stadium truck - torque is what you are looking for...and in most cases, that what the digital gives you...not that's not saying that a "normal" servo producing 80oz of torque is crap...just don't have the 145oz that some of the digital are capable of producing...
He said it was for a touring car.
or8ital is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2006, 01:03 PM
  #8  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (38)
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

You might wanna check this out.

http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...&I=LXMUS3&P=FR
or8ital is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2006, 01:16 PM
  #9  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (12)
 
geeunit1014's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The dirty burnie
Posts: 5,535
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

for $80, get the futaba 9451. .10 @ 6v 120 oz of torque.not sure about 4.8, but surley faster than .20. cant beat it for the price
geeunit1014 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2006, 02:41 PM
  #10  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
builthatch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Southern NJ
Posts: 265
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by or8ital
He said it was for a touring car.
right, i am looking for one for my upcoming touring car, but i'd like to put the same servo in the truck too if possible to replace this 3050.

i'm still curious what you all do to get the servos 6v...

thanks for the info so far guys.
builthatch is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2006, 03:51 PM
  #11  
Tech Master
iTrader: (24)
 
pinggoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: WBP Florida
Posts: 1,263
Trader Rating: 24 (96%+)
Default

i'm still curious what you all do to get the servos 6v...
i hope i got your question right...

6v is for the voltage of touring cars while 4.8v is the estimated voltage of a 12scale...(batteries.) so when it says .10 sec @ 6 volts.and .08sec on 4.8v. when you hook it up on your 6 cell battery it will closely get .10 sec. and if you put that servo on your 12 scale or four cell cars it will closely be .08 sec. its all about the battery voltage.
pinggoy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2006, 04:41 PM
  #12  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (-1)
 
PeteB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 477
Default

Originally Posted by pinggoy
i hope i got your question right...

6v is for the voltage of touring cars while 4.8v is the estimated voltage of a 12scale...(batteries.) so when it says .10 sec @ 6 volts.and .08sec on 4.8v. when you hook it up on your 6 cell battery it will closely get .10 sec. and if you put that servo on your 12 scale or four cell cars it will closely be .08 sec. its all about the battery voltage.

Close, but I think you'll find that different ESCs give out different voltages, I have a GTB which provides 6v, 3A BEC on 6 cells, on 4 cells its only 4.8v (I think) previous to that I had a futaba mc800cv2, which put out 5.8v on 6 cells. its the BEC rating of your ESC that supplies power to your receiver and servo. The higher the voltage the faster the servos transit time.; I also have the futaba s9451, and although it is not the *fastest* servo available I find it really good. $80 well spent. make sure that your radio can handle digi servo, not all can...

Pete

Last edited by PeteB; 10-26-2006 at 04:54 PM.
PeteB is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2006, 04:48 PM
  #13  
Tech Master
iTrader: (5)
 
nikkiesteban's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,649
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

i wanna have digital servo to ass well and my rx is RF123... will digital servo like futaba s9550 can work?? my ESC is cyclone TC2... do you think it can work??
nikkiesteban is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2006, 05:01 PM
  #14  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (-1)
 
PeteB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 477
Default

your esc sounds fine, the best way to confirm if you radio can support digi servo is to check the manual...

what brand and model is the transmitter, and receiver?
PeteB is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2006, 05:08 PM
  #15  
Tech Master
iTrader: (5)
 
nikkiesteban's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,649
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by PeteB
your esc sounds fine, the best way to confirm if you radio can support digi servo is to check the manual...

what brand and model is the transmitter, and receiver?
both futaba.. 3pdf and RF123 for rx... wat do you think?
nikkiesteban is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service