R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-23-2006, 08:59 AM   #1
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 36
Default Checkpoint 19t Problem

Been running a checkpoint Money motor in my 1/12th no problem, exactly how it came with the '4 cell' brushes in it. Decided at the weekend to try the silver infinity brushes in it and it was fine but lacked some punch so decided to put the other brushes back in.

I put it on my Robitronic Overloader to check it was running ok and at 2v it was only pulling 3A and sounded slow. (it was pulling about 7-7.5A before). So I decided to give it a skim and put some brand new brushes in, still only pulling 3.5A. Whats going wrong?
rbecking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2006, 10:21 AM   #2
Tech Elite
 
jeff jenkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Snohomish, WA
Posts: 4,020
Trader Rating: 77 (100%+)
Default

you need to check to see if the shimming is too tight and maybe put in a silver spring on the positive side. since the money comes with med springs on both neg and pos. or just put in a new set of med springs on both the neg and pos side since springs do get soft after a lil while. everytime i run a check point i chang the springs alot. make sure that the comm is completely round and you are breaking it in properly cuz infinity brushes take for ever to break in i break mine in at 2v for 10min. hope this helps.
__________________
Maclan Racing Products-Bellgate Distributions-PR Racing- Prospeed
jeff jenkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2006, 01:50 PM   #3
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 36
Default

I've took one of the shims out so there is now a bit of play, now pulling 5A, still not as high as it was though. What springs are recommended for 4 cell 1/12 racing?
rbecking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2006, 02:27 PM   #4
Tech Elite
 
BSchorr's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Posts: 4,820
Trader Rating: 92 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to BSchorr Send a message via Yahoo to BSchorr Send a message via Skype™ to BSchorr
Default

With new infinity brushes and a skimmed comm, you need to break it it like at 1 volt for like 10-15 min, they take a while to break in. Dont ust put new brushes in and run it in the car, most likely burn teh brushes.
__________________
Proline ~ Genesis R/C Products ~ First Premier Satellites
BSchorr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2006, 02:28 PM   #5
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: bella vista ar
Posts: 869
Send a message via AIM to ERTRACHTER
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rbecking
I've took one of the shims out so there is now a bit of play, now pulling 5A, still not as high as it was though. What springs are recommended for 4 cell 1/12 racing?
I WOULD THINK YOU NEED THE LIGHTEST SPRINGS THEY MAKE THE INFINITI BRUSHES NEED A LONG TIME TO BREK IN 15 TO 20 MINUTES AT 2V
__________________
ASSOCIATED 12r5.1,REEDY MOTOR AND BATTERY, LRP SPEEDO,KIMBROUGH PRODUCTS,BIG DOG RACING,BELMONT R/C SPEEDSHOP, DENNIS LYMAN RACING, TEAM TOSO, TEAM FACTORY BITTER, SCHUUR SOLUTIONS, SIMMONS RACING, TEAM BOOZCRUZ
ERTRACHTER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2006, 03:45 PM   #6
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 36
Default

I've not got the infinity brushes in now, I've got the gold 4 cell brushes in.
rbecking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2006, 04:18 PM   #7
Tech Rookie
 
toofast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 17
Default

I put it on my Robitronic Overloader to check it was running ok and at 2v it was only pulling 3A and sounded slow. (it was pulling about 7-7.5A before). So I decided to give it a skim and put some brand new brushes in, still only pulling 3.5A. Whats going wrong?

You can't tell how a motor is going to run by amp draw. That was a trick that the oval crowd was trying. In fact, in 1/12 scale, less is better. That's why they install lighter springs for 1/12 scale, to make run time. This reduces drag, which reduces amp draw. Checkpoint makes a spring lighter than the gold. Try to get a pair of those.
toofast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2006, 05:21 PM   #8
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,010
Trader Rating: 35 (97%+)
Send a message via AIM to King of B Main
Default

just run it , amp draw doesnt mean anything. The more I run my checkpoint motors the faster they get..
King of B Main is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2006, 05:35 PM   #9
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 139
Default

Buy a k-19 and your problems will be solved!
L.P.I. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2006, 07:28 PM   #10
Tech Master
 
tfrahm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,026
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to tfrahm
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rbecking
Been running a checkpoint Money motor in my 1/12th no problem, exactly how it came with the '4 cell' brushes in it. Decided at the weekend to try the silver infinity brushes in it and it was fine but lacked some punch so decided to put the other brushes back in.

I put it on my Robitronic Overloader to check it was running ok and at 2v it was only pulling 3A and sounded slow. (it was pulling about 7-7.5A before). So I decided to give it a skim and put some brand new brushes in, still only pulling 3.5A. Whats going wrong?
About the problem when you put the original brushes back into the motor... I'd bet that they got "swapped" from + to -... Even though the hoods are very precise in their alignment, nothing is perfect, and the brushes have some play in the hoods (so they don't bind). The net effecti is that the brushes (if swapped sides) will no longer be properly seated -- they will, in fact be much farther off than new brushes. That means only one edge of the brush is probably making contact, so there is very low amp draw. Next time you want to "save" brushes to reinstall, use Red and Black "Sharpie" markers to mark the shunts (red for +, black for -, just like the brush caps) -- that way you can put them back in the correct sides....

As to the new brushes, as others have pointed out, they can take time to "seat"... Infinity brushes especially. The low amp draw again indicates that the brushes are not fully seated -- you want to see the brushes become polished so that the serrations touch from one side all the way to the other...
__________________
"If you cannot win, make the one ahead of you break the record."
Biff Racing Team #420 (Ah... The "good old days"...)
The local indoor Offroad Track: The RC Race Barn
TLR22-3.0, TLR22T-2.0, TLR22SCT-1.0
tfrahm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CheckPoint 9x1 mod NEW!!! Michal101 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 02-15-2008 12:20 PM
FS checkpoint 9x2 straightaway R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 01-31-2008 12:02 AM
Checkpoint justdafacts Electric On-Road 4 10-11-2006 01:59 AM
Checkpoint 9x1 pimpjuice_101 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 12-24-2005 02:46 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:34 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net