R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-14-2006, 11:19 PM   #1
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 16
Help on my R/C

hey guys im new with this. i bought a kit Tamiya TA05 and a Futaba Magmum for remote. i got everything working but sometimes in a short range my r/c acts funny like steering wheels moving back and forth and the car start moving forward/backwards.

tried relocating the Antenna. still the same. and also how far can i go with my r/c. it seems i can only go short distance and it start acting funny. is it my reciever bad or my remote? im pretty isnt the car itself. should i get high end remote? i mean this is wat the sales man told me to get. thnx guys!
deadhero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2006, 11:29 PM   #2
Tech Master
 
pinggoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: WBP Florida
Posts: 1,263
Trader Rating: 24 (96%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to pinggoy
Default

now thats what you call glitching.

am radio wont go that far.

high end radio? for newbie wont matter. start running it first. after you get the hang of it. buy a fm ( if you just wanna spend money, or you want to get serious on racing (with a good high end car) then buy a high end radio. or if you just bashing just buy a regular fm radio.

sale man? that why they are called sales man.
__________________
TAMIYA TRF415 MRE l NOSRAM SPX l BALLISTIC 17.5
TAMIYA TRF416X
www.noicewatches.bigcartel.com
pinggoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2006, 11:33 PM   #3
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 640
Default

Make sure that the reciever is not to close to the speed control....this will cause glitching.

TJ
rc_freak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2006, 11:34 PM   #4
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pinggoy
now thats what you call glitching.

am radio wont go that far.

high end radio? for newbie wont matter. start running it first. after you get the hang of it. buy a fm ( if you just wanna spend money, or you want to get serious on racing (with a good high end car) then buy a high end radio. or if you just bashing just buy a regular fm radio.

sale man? that why they are called sales man.


Thnx man ! so i guess thats normal? i mean cant be normal sometimes while im playing around all sudden it stops responding or it will just steer on its own. thats short distance... how do i fix my glitching?

so any FM radio would work and stop the glitching?
deadhero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2006, 11:39 PM   #5
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 16
Default

heres the actual pic of my R/C



i know the wiring are messy bcoz ive been playing with the wires relocating back and forth tryin to figure out which one would work..
deadhero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2006, 11:44 PM   #6
Tech Master
 
pinggoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: WBP Florida
Posts: 1,263
Trader Rating: 24 (96%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to pinggoy
Default

Quote:
Make sure that the reciever is not to close to the speed control....this will cause glitching.
'hey ta05 has different layout than usual car. the receiver and the speedo is serparated by the motor. and its probably small percentage being receiver is too close is also a good reason to say its glitching.

also make sure your antenna wire is fully extended and dont cut it.
__________________
TAMIYA TRF415 MRE l NOSRAM SPX l BALLISTIC 17.5
TAMIYA TRF416X
www.noicewatches.bigcartel.com
pinggoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2006, 11:46 PM   #7
Tech Master
 
pinggoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: WBP Florida
Posts: 1,263
Trader Rating: 24 (96%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to pinggoy
Default

you could switch the receiver and speedo.put the speedo to the back.
__________________
TAMIYA TRF415 MRE l NOSRAM SPX l BALLISTIC 17.5
TAMIYA TRF416X
www.noicewatches.bigcartel.com
pinggoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2006, 11:50 PM   #8
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 557
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Maybe try swapping the position of the receiver and the speed controller, that way the antenna doesn't have to be routed around the motor. this will also allow the antenna to extend further outside the body, might help with a little bit of range.
$$$... is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2006, 11:57 PM   #9
Tech Regular
 
loopedeloop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Whangarei Newzealand
Posts: 490
Default

Sounds like a fault or interference to me.
Can you define "not far" as I have used am sets for years and generally they are perfectly adequate.
Fm sets are less likely to glitch but your am set should work well past 60-70metres without problem.

Usual causes of Glitching are faulty aerial or crystals, receiver or transmitter faults, interference from other sets or surroundings, faulty motors or motors with no capacitors, loose wires, speed control .......the list goes on. Make sure your aerial wire is clear of all power wires. I mount my reciver on the steering servo on my Tao5. ESC is behind the motor.

if that doesnt fix it you may need to one by one replace each component until you find the cause of the problem. If you can, borrow a mates receiver and stick that in and try it etc.

If its new, take it back and get the guys that sold it to you to help.

Your AM set should be sufficient until your skill level is at the stage where you want the adjustability of the dearer FM sets.

Last edited by loopedeloop; 10-15-2006 at 12:13 AM.
loopedeloop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2006, 12:04 AM   #10
Tech Champion
 
F. Mendoza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: SoCal
Posts: 7,233
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Try to get receiver and ant antenna away from motor. Do not route antenna around motor. Your am radio will be good for now. Check if antenna wire is frayed or kinked/broken. Fully extend antenna wire. Do not roll or curl up excess wire.
__________________
RC America - Xray - Hudy - Gravity RC - KO Propo - Super Rad Graphics

Mr. Shookie goes home 10-06-08. Bill Levinson 4-14-15
F. Mendoza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2006, 12:29 AM   #11
Tech Fanatic
 
moshmike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Trackside, Wisconsin/Seal Bay Alaska
Posts: 809
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Do as the other posts say and move your ESC and REC. The ant. wire near the motor=glitching! If that isn't it, your crystals may be bad. Had that happen a LONG time ago when I started out. Try new ones that maybe you can borrow from the LHS or a friend.
__________________
My most high tech car is a TA-03.
moshmike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2006, 12:57 AM   #12
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 16
Default

Thnx Guys problem solve!

relocate the wires and REC/ESC in a better spot away from the motor! thnx for the help! what ya guys think?

heres wat it looks like now

and before:
deadhero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2006, 01:03 AM   #13
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 16
Default

is there anyway i can do to make my r/c to steer more to the right? i tried fixing it but it seem the left turn steers more the left. i tried looking at the servo it seems to be max out. i feel that my right turn kinda short.
deadhero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2006, 05:58 AM   #14
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,039
Send a message via ICQ to rcnewb2004
Default

have you made sure your camber/turn buckle links are exactly the same length? also have you tried adjusting the trim on your radio?
rcnewb2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2006, 06:05 AM   #15
Tech Regular
 
thecrow2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 451
Default

1. Remove Servo from the car
2. Take Servo Horn/Saver off of servo
3. Turn car on and set steering trim on the radiop to the middle
4. put the horn back on in the dead center of the servo.
5. Reinstall
6. Check front wheels both have level toein or toe out
thecrow2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:59 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net