R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-10-2003, 10:08 PM   #1
CGR
Tech Regular
 
CGR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Arizona
Posts: 384
Default CPU Power Supply

Can these be used for chargers?
CGR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2003, 10:16 PM   #2
Tech Regular
 
fasterdanu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: the bat cave
Posts: 428
Default

yes they can but i can't vouch for the quality of the power they put out.
if you wan't to know how to make one i can tell you
fasterdanu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2003, 10:21 PM   #3
CGR
Tech Regular
 
CGR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Arizona
Posts: 384
Default

When you say make one, do you mean from scratch or does a CPU supply have to be modded?
CGR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2003, 12:12 AM   #4
Tech Regular
 
fasterdanu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: the bat cave
Posts: 428
Default

u got to modify it a little but it need's no real genius.
but don't do it if u are color blind

let me know if you want to know how it's a good way to get into the sport cheap
fasterdanu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2003, 12:47 AM   #5
CGR
Tech Regular
 
CGR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Arizona
Posts: 384
Default

Thx for the info but I think I will buy a regular one. I needed a new supply for my turbo 35 and wondered if these would easily work.
CGR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2003, 01:43 AM   #6
Tech Elite
 
Cole Trickle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Denmark / Europe
Posts: 2,571
Default

Here's a guide to do the conversion: http://www.magicookie.com/prodigy/psupply.htm
__________________
Schumacher Mi5 - Sanwa MT-4 / RX-462 / KO Propo PDS-2123 - Nosram 5600 X-treme Saddle Pack - LRP SPX Zero/X12 17,5 - Nosram Stealth Touch Evolution - MAAS SPS 9250
Cole Trickle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2003, 09:34 AM   #7
Tech Addict
 
tufferwilde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Whereabouts Unknown
Posts: 530
Default

Matt -

As for the power of the CPU power supply - it will be plenty clean, but I doubt that it would deliver the amperage that you will want to run that nice new T35!! I actually used one a while ago to power my lathe and it didn't really have to power to drive that nicely....

Wilde
__________________
Trackside Hobbies and Raceway: www.tracksideraceway.com
Novak Electronics: www.teamnovak.com
tufferwilde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2003, 09:44 AM   #8
R/C Tech Founder
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Del Mar, CA, USA
Posts: 7,063
Default

It all depends on the power supply that you choose to use, and the amount of resistance you place on it; with more internal resistance, your computer PS will deliver higher voltage and more amps.

When you choose a computer PS, check the label for the maximum voltage/amperage loads on it.

Read the link that Cole Trickle posted, that's a rather informative article.
__________________
Visit my store: www.ampdraw.com
futureal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2003, 09:56 AM   #9
CGR
Tech Regular
 
CGR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Arizona
Posts: 384
Default

Thx for the info folks, I'll check out that article
CGR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2003, 12:05 PM   #10
Tech Elite
 
Cole Trickle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Denmark / Europe
Posts: 2,571
Default

We uses around 20 of those CPU PS's in our club. No problems. They can easily deliver over 10 amps. Maybe more, we havent pushed them to the limit...

You cant compare the use of an charger and a com lathe / motor break in. This is due to the fact, that a motor in the moment of star, draws a big peak amp. Thus will the CPU PS believe it's overloaded and shut down... But it wont do that with a charger, since a charger draws a constant amperage.
__________________
Schumacher Mi5 - Sanwa MT-4 / RX-462 / KO Propo PDS-2123 - Nosram 5600 X-treme Saddle Pack - LRP SPX Zero/X12 17,5 - Nosram Stealth Touch Evolution - MAAS SPS 9250

Last edited by Cole Trickle; 02-11-2003 at 12:07 PM.
Cole Trickle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Computer power supply used for charger power supply? 66Racer Radio and Electronics 7 05-25-2008 12:52 AM
RC BLOW OUT !!!! Ice chargers,novak discharger,power supply,power bridge,integy setup shrum1340 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 20 07-23-2007 05:37 AM
>>> TEAM NOVAK N-POWER POWER SUPPLY GREAT CONDITION $50 <<<< mach51 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 02-06-2007 10:53 PM
turning pc power supply into a rc power supply andy_666 Electric On-Road 20 01-16-2006 05:20 PM
SEC Power Supply vs. Hobbico Power Supply? F1Junkie Electric On-Road 1 06-05-2004 08:52 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:36 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net