R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-01-2009, 03:10 PM   #16
Tech Master
 
sandrixx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: SnakeVille
Posts: 1,434
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default yes it is...

Bradir, I don't own a Pro4 nor any other tc brand except Serpent s400's. But regarding HPI Pro4 which my top competitor is driving on our weekend races here All I can say is in the hands of a good driver this car is superb.

You can say it's a battle between belt vs. shaft here on weekends so i look forward every friday. Take care of your kit, gather important parts and you'll reap what you sow in the end.

ayuzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz!
__________________
Team DogBone-Cobra/Serpent
Team F.R.E.A.K.S/SOLIDSNAKE_Saudi Arabia

Stay Serpent...
sandrixx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 04:43 PM   #17
Tech Elite
 
tandman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: airdrie
Posts: 2,966
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to tandman
Default

The Pro4 is very competitive against the current TC's out there. It really depends on setup and how comfortable you are with a certain chassis that makes it work for you. I have ran the Pro4 on and off for the last 4-5 years and I still go back to it and run just as competitively with as with my other TC's. I have won more regional events and series with my Pro4 than any other chassis that I have used. I am going to update it with the new cyclone suspension arms and see what that does. It is a shaft drive cyclone after all
__________________
Dwayne Flodell
Team Mad Scientist
-When you need mad rip.....call the Mad Scientist
Team Sweepracing-R1 Wurks Team Canada
tandman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 05:12 PM   #18
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Maryland
Posts: 3,984
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Which Cyclone arms fit the Pro4? The newest Cyclone arms I hope. My biggest concern are the diff gears as they wear out. Parts will become more and more scarce I'm afraid. The car was fast though last Saturday. Two stupid mistakes in the 3rd qualifier cost me a higher spot.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tandman View Post
The Pro4 is very competitive against the current TC's out there. It really depends on setup and how comfortable you are with a certain chassis that makes it work for you. I have ran the Pro4 on and off for the last 4-5 years and I still go back to it and run just as competitively with as with my other TC's. I have won more regional events and series with my Pro4 than any other chassis that I have used. I am going to update it with the new cyclone suspension arms and see what that does. It is a shaft drive cyclone after all
Isaac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 10:07 PM   #19
Tech Elite
 
tandman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: airdrie
Posts: 2,966
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to tandman
Default

All of the suspension parts from the inner hinge pin out are interchangeable- just go for the newest TC arms as there are more lower shock mounting holes and are also made of a slightly different material(hardness)
__________________
Dwayne Flodell
Team Mad Scientist
-When you need mad rip.....call the Mad Scientist
Team Sweepracing-R1 Wurks Team Canada
tandman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2009, 05:44 PM   #20
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Maryland
Posts: 3,984
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Made the A Main today with two fast guys. One had a Cyclone and the other a Corally '09. Fastest lap was a 13.3 and their fastest was 13.0. I broke in the freakin' main but was running second before I did. I would surely say since coming back from not racing for two years today was my best day. The car is just about the kit set up besides the rear shocks down one hole. Tekin RS, Express Dou2, KO radio, Mazda Speed 6, and RP 30s.
Isaac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2009, 12:40 PM   #21
Tech Addict
 
Barry White's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: HEAVEN
Posts: 720
Default Nope, never was.

Nope, never was. A shaft drive only works well with a fixed diff gear (spool, one way diff, gear diff). The floating ball diff gear creates too much on power friction.
Barry White is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2009, 01:12 PM   #22
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Maryland
Posts: 3,984
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Huh, what?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Barry White View Post
Nope, never was. A shaft drive only works well with a fixed diff gear (spool, one way diff, gear diff). The floating ball diff gear creates too much on power friction.
Isaac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2009, 07:56 PM   #23
Tech Addict
 
Barry White's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: HEAVEN
Posts: 720
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Isaac View Post
Huh, what?
Yep. You heard it right. Those badly engineered Pro4, TC3, TB Evo's Cuda's only worked becouse they had good factory drivers at the right time. The only potent electric well engineerd car is the Durango becouse of the gear diffs.
Barry White is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2009, 08:10 PM   #24
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Maryland
Posts: 3,984
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

I disagree as I just put the car in the A main and was .3 off the fast lap of the day and averaged the same lap times as the top 2 drivers. Qualified 3rd.
Isaac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2009, 08:35 PM   #25
Tech Addict
 
Barry White's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: HEAVEN
Posts: 720
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Isaac View Post
I disagree as I just put the car in the A main and was .3 off the fast lap of the day and averaged the same lap times as the top 2 drivers. Qualified 3rd.
Well thats a good result but with a belt car you would simply be faster.
Barry White is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2009, 09:23 PM   #26
Tech Elite
 
tandman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: airdrie
Posts: 2,966
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to tandman
Default

So, if the Pro4 is not competitive but I consistantly place top 3 with TQ's and wins with good regional drivers attending weekend event races, how many tenths would you say I could pick up with a current belt car....say a Cyclone TC or the Tamiya 416WE?? My Pro4 has never let me down but is time to try the 416WE, what should I expect for a performance gain.....3-4 tenths in stock or superstock?
__________________
Dwayne Flodell
Team Mad Scientist
-When you need mad rip.....call the Mad Scientist
Team Sweepracing-R1 Wurks Team Canada
tandman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2009, 09:46 PM   #27
Tech Addict
 
Barry White's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: HEAVEN
Posts: 720
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tandman View Post
So, if the Pro4 is not competitive but I consistantly place top 3 with TQ's and wins with good regional drivers attending weekend event races, how many tenths would you say I could pick up with a current belt car....say a Cyclone TC or the Tamiya 416WE?? My Pro4 has never let me down but is time to try the 416WE, what should I expect for a performance gain.....3-4 tenths in stock or superstock?
Well given the same surcomstance I'd say yep but there are so many factors. There's only one thing for sure. It'll have less friction and U will be faster.
Barry White is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
still competitive? fable3022 Rookie Zone 12 08-26-2008 06:42 AM
FT TC4 Still Competitive? Yub, yub, cmdr! Electric On-Road 8 07-12-2007 11:32 AM
BMI Pro4 + HPI Pro4 Plus tons of spare Parts Sluggo R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 13 11-01-2005 04:37 PM
How competitive is the xxx-nt RTR ? G2'sRC Electric Off-Road 3 10-01-2005 09:27 AM
Getting a little more competitive NinjaViper Electric On-Road 13 01-23-2005 02:15 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:19 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net