R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-21-2006, 11:41 AM   #1
Tech Adept
 
TRFTIM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 196
Default Saddle packs to sticks

Can I change my saddle packs to sticks as I have a 415 stick pack chassis, and have loads of saddles.

Can this be done??

Thanks
TRFTIM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2006, 05:48 PM   #2
Tech Adept
 
rtherbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Lancaster,PA
Posts: 165
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Same # of cells-Same voltage-securely Fits in car? I would say yes.
rtherbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2006, 06:01 PM   #3
Tech Master
 
Burlap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,277
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Burlap
Default

You can, but oh Lord isn't it a pain in the arse making stick packs. Better off selling the saddle packs and buying new stick packs, if you value your sanity.
Burlap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2006, 09:34 PM   #4
Tech Addict
 
Tsquare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: San Diego
Posts: 618
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Burlap
You can, but oh Lord isn't it a pain in the arse making stick packs. Better off selling the saddle packs and buying new stick packs, if you value your sanity.
I agree with this statement, did it once will never do it again.
Tsquare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2006, 02:58 AM   #5
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 3,117
Trader Rating: 69 (100%+)
Default

i suggest either ...

A. get the regular 415 lower chassis plate with slots for your batts. you can install your saddlepacks directly or convert them to side by side - just replace the jumper wire with a battery bar.

or

B. modify your stick pack chassis ...
- 1. get yokomo BD plastic battery trays
- 2. dremel/cut away the protruding plastic under the trays so you can install them flat on the chassis -but check first before cutting away - depending on your cells, you may need to leave the protruding plastic parts behind, just check if your cells are secure enough when the trays are on the chassis.
- 3. CA/epoxy the trays to the chassis
- 4. put a couple of slots on the ends of the battery trays, one on each end. this will serve as your battery tape slot. or you can get a graphite battery strap and aluminum mounts that will fit 6 cells (similiar to what the 415, xray, yoke, etc has) drill a couple of mounting holes on each end of the trays to mount the aluminum standoffs.

IMHO, this is much easier than converting your saddle packs into stick packs
marvi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
4x saddle packs hailmick Australia For Sale/Trade 1 01-30-2007 10:23 PM
saddle packs rubicon20032003 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 2 10-03-2006 11:38 AM
Can You Use Saddle Packs , TA-04? Sushi Man Electric On-Road 3 09-13-2005 01:38 AM
Can You Use Saddle Packs , TA-04? Sushi Man Electric On-Road 0 09-13-2005 12:52 AM
Saddle Packs prelude19 Electric On-Road 2 10-13-2001 09:08 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:08 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net