R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-17-2006, 11:28 PM   #1
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 12
Red face Spektrum Telementry woth it?

Hi I am thinking about getting the specktrum telementry pak for my electric sedan . Any body out there have any opinions or thoughts abought this product?.Also is it strong enought to withstand crashes(not that I hit anything ;-) . thanks
Philip Henzog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2006, 06:49 AM   #2
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Waste of money. The only part of it that might be worth anything is the lap counting.
or8ital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2006, 06:56 AM   #3
Tech Elite
 
vtl1180ny's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Wrong Island
Posts: 4,963
Default

It's worthwile for Nitro... I'm not too sure on the spektrum since I don't use it but from the looks of it you have to find room for the unit plus all the wires. From an ex Eagle Tree user, it aint easy on a TC...

If you want Telemetry, get a Nomadio... If you just want 2.4ghz stay with Spektrum...
__________________
I still lurk....
vtl1180ny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2006, 09:44 AM   #4
Tech Adept
 
sepirts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 140
Default

Adds a lot of wiring. I've made a good use of their telem products for testing (temp sensing is nice). But it's just as easy to pull over and have someone temp your car from the pit lane.

Mine went to ebay after a few weeks. Wasn't worth it to me.

Side note:Nomadio: I've never used them. But, the two people I know never raced them and resold them on ebay within a month. They just weren't comfortable with it - no problems to speak of.
sepirts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2006, 10:44 AM   #5
Tech Elite
 
vtl1180ny's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Wrong Island
Posts: 4,963
Default

I have nerve damage into both my arms and I love the Nomadio, it's much more comfortable than my 3Pk...

I like the lap timer function for the Spektrum but beyond that, adding another reciever sized box plus the wires has got to be too much in any TC...
__________________
I still lurk....
vtl1180ny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2006, 11:40 AM   #6
Tech Elite
 
Skiddins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Windsor, UK
Posts: 4,762
Default

I've just ordered it with the lap timer bit.

The lap timer is the main reason for getting it, I got fed up with practicing at tracks I was soon to be racing at with no way of telling if I was improving my times or not. And I don't care what anyone say's, using a stop watch is inconvenient (another person required) and not as accurate.

The temp sensor should be another way of telling if your gearing is too far in one direction, and you'll be able to tell before it goes bang

Quote:
But it's just as easy to pull over and have someone temp your car from the pit lane
That's one of the problems, you need someone else!

The telemetry box looks about the same size as Spektrum's micro receiver.

Can also tell you your maximum speed, again usefull to see if your getting the most from your gearing.
Also tells you the signal strength from the tranny to the car and it can measure your battery voltage.

If your not interested in these things, then it's not worth it. But I'd get it for the lap timer alone for the reasons mentioned above.

Skiddins
__________________
Xray T4'18, T4'14 (Wet Car)
Xray X12 2018
Xray X1'16
wlrc.co.uk (West London Racing Centre)
RCDisco.co.uk
Skiddins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2006, 11:50 AM   #7
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Well I found the temp sensor to be very fragile. It came apart easily and there was no easy way to mount it. The RPM sensor is impossible to mount no other way to explain it. Good luck getting it to work. My voltage sensor always read half of what it really was. Like I said the only thing that would have been of use to me was the lap counting.
or8ital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2006, 12:13 PM   #8
Tech Elite
 
Skiddins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Windsor, UK
Posts: 4,762
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by or8ital
Well I found the temp sensor to be very fragile. It came apart easily and there was no easy way to mount it. The RPM sensor is impossible to mount no other way to explain it. Good luck getting it to work. My voltage sensor always read half of what it really was. Like I said the only thing that would have been of use to me was the lap counting.
Ok, I'll tell you all how I get on, and take some photo's once it's sorted.

Out of interest, what car were you trying to mount the RPM sensor in (the magazine review mentioned this was awkward)

Skiddins
__________________
Xray T4'18, T4'14 (Wet Car)
Xray X12 2018
Xray X1'16
wlrc.co.uk (West London Racing Centre)
RCDisco.co.uk
Skiddins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2006, 01:10 PM   #9
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skiddins
Ok, I'll tell you all how I get on, and take some photo's once it's sorted.

Out of interest, what car were you trying to mount the RPM sensor in (the magazine review mentioned this was awkward)

Skiddins
I tried it on a pro4 at the time. The sensor has to basically be sitting on the spur to read (as close as possible without touching). The way the sensor mounts to the bracket you have to bend it all sorts of ways and ends up breaking. Good luck! Hope it works for you or they have improved it since I tried.
or8ital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2006, 01:59 PM   #10
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: north-west Indiana
Posts: 748
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

It is good for practice, and getting your gearing right. I had the same voltage problem but sent it in and horizon fixed that. The lap counting is cool, but the track I race at uses a timing system so I just use my pt. Rpm sensor, yeah royal pain. All in all, I bought it, sent it in, pulled my hair out trying to mount the rpm sensor, broke a temp sensor, and then finally got it all mounted and only used it for a week. But it did help with gearing. On the other hand there are guys at your track and on this forum that can help with gearing, and it doesn't cost $135.
trilerian is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2006, 03:14 PM   #11
Tech Elite
 
vtl1180ny's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Wrong Island
Posts: 4,963
Default

Is the Spektrun speed/tach sensor a magnetic pickup like Nomadio and Eagle Tree?

If it is and anyone wants I have RPM sensors mounted in a FK05, Carpet Knife, NTC3, Yok SD, T4 and MGT.... My only mount I'm not happy with is the T4, I can't get the diff apart, but I have another way I'm going to mount it sooner or later...
__________________
I still lurk....
vtl1180ny is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Futaba 3PKS - Lipo Tx Pack - Spektrum Module - Spektrum Micro Pro Reciever - Case racer34v R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 06-20-2008 09:42 AM
On Board Temp Monitoring/Telementry hashoobe Nitro Off-Road 7 04-22-2008 08:18 AM
HUGE SALE TONS TC5, Novak Speak Spektrum GTB 13.5, Spektrum Pro, AMB Transponder + mach51 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 16 01-08-2008 03:11 PM
Perfect condition xray EV02 woth near new XRC chassis Got Xray? Australia For Sale/Trade 4 07-21-2006 05:00 PM
trinity xxx machined rear pivot block woth it? crono man Electric Off-Road 3 05-07-2003 09:13 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:03 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net