R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-12-2006, 11:48 AM   #1186
Tech Elite
 
Fred Hubbard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Inglewood, CA
Posts: 2,719
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by STLNLST
Fred- What turn brushless motor are you running in mod? I had the car rockin' yesterday in 19 turn. I'll be running mod mods next weekend.
3.5/4.5
__________________
Goodwine Racing - RC America - XRAY - HUDY - Sanwa - Motiv - GravityRC - BN Racing
Fred Hubbard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2006, 11:51 AM   #1187
Tech Elite
 
theisgroup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,191
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AChupp2
It seems a lot of people are using the Futaba S9550 servo for the T2 and T2 '007, what servo mounting whole does it use? The narrower or wider? Hope that makes sense.
neither. you will need to use some washers on the mounting screws and the wide mounts.
__________________
yang lai

Team Tamale | Team Tekin | RCAmerica | Speedmerchant | Speedzone RC | EA Motorsports | Ko Propo USA | eXpress Motorsports | Parma/PSE
theisgroup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2006, 01:29 PM   #1188
Tech Addict
 
|<R1Z |>'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: why stand on a silent platform
Posts: 636
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to |<R1Z |>
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AChupp2
It seems a lot of people are using the Futaba S9550 servo for the T2 and T2 '007, what servo mounting whole does it use? The narrower or wider? Hope that makes sense.
Quote:
Originally Posted by theisgroup
neither. you will need to use some washers on the mounting screws and the wide mounts.

Additionally, the BMI kit allows the use of any servo with the normal mounts. I had no trouble mounting the 9550 to my BMI chassis and I didn't have to "jimmy" it in.
__________________
signature'd
|<R1Z |> is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2006, 01:42 PM   #1189
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 699
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to AChupp2
Default

Anybody know a good servo that uses the narrower servo mount?
__________________
Fantom Racing Team Manager
AChupp2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2006, 02:09 PM   #1190
Tech Regular
 
Michael Barch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Penticton, BC (Canada)
Posts: 268
Send a message via AIM to Michael Barch
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fred Hubbard
-The '007 is better suited for carpet racing, and fixed what the T2 lacked in that department.

Keep in mind the '007 comes in 2 versions, rubber and foam tire. So your observation in only half true.

-Also, by just reading this last page, is something wrong with the bearings XRAY supplies?

Nothing wrong in terms of a manufacturing defect. XRay is saying that these bearings have tighter tolerances and so they need to be lubed sufficiently until they are broken in.
Thanks for clearing it up for me. I will get the US Spec version then. When I get this T2 007, I will be racing on-road for the summer, so should I get the Euro instead, and will it be a good carpet racer? Or vis versa? I can't afford both.
Michael Barch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2006, 03:45 PM   #1191
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 8,999
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Barch
Thanks for clearing it up for me. I will get the US Spec version then. When I get this T2 007, I will be racing on-road for the summer, so should I get the Euro instead, and will it be a good carpet racer? Or vis versa? I can't afford both.
Are you running foams or rubber tire's on carpet? If it's rubber tire then get the EU 007 and that will carry over to the asphalt. If you are running foams then you have a tough choice to make.
__________________
REMEMBER THE GOOD OLE DAYS..........THEY'RE NEVER COMING BACK SO WE'RE STUCK WITH THE MESS IN FRONT OF US!!!!
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2006, 05:46 PM   #1192
Tech Regular
 
Michael Barch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Penticton, BC (Canada)
Posts: 268
Send a message via AIM to Michael Barch
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by STLNLST
Are you running foams or rubber tire's on carpet? If it's rubber tire then get the EU 007 and that will carry over to the asphalt. If you are running foams then you have a tough choice to make.
I used to run foams, but near the end, before I quit, I ran rubbers. Rubbers took some getting used to, and some good prep work with the lube. Me, being a college student, on a budget. Foams are expensive, and you need to get a new set pretty much each week. Rubbers however can last a little longer, and IMO, take more skill. So do you think I will be better off running rubbers on carpet, and then it will be cheap, and cost me nothing to switch right over to the asphalt.

So Euro edition sounds like it would suit me better? Yes, we can run rubbers on the carpet track.
Michael Barch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2006, 06:07 PM   #1193
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 34
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Barch
I used to run foams, but near the end, before I quit, I ran rubbers. Rubbers took some getting used to, and some good prep work with the lube. Me, being a college student, on a budget. Foams are expensive, and you need to get a new set pretty much each week. Rubbers however can last a little longer, and IMO, take more skill. So do you think I will be better off running rubbers on carpet, and then it will be cheap, and cost me nothing to switch right over to the asphalt.

So Euro edition sounds like it would suit me better? Yes, we can run rubbers on the carpet track.
I believe buying the EURO version suits you the best. When your constraint (i.e. budget) gets relieved, I believe you can just buy the US version the upper and lower chassis plate, the springs for foam and one more set of ball diff. Then you can have the foam version to run form tires. That's the cheapest way I believe.
kennykay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2006, 06:19 PM   #1194
Tech Elite
 
Joel Lagace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,628
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

And lets not forget with the multiflex ability some of the stiffy settings overlap between the EU and US versions, so its is possible to run the EU with just the addition of a ball diff for foam.
__________________
"Without Rules its just Backyard Bashing!"
www.rcottawa.com
Joel Lagace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2006, 06:28 PM   #1195
Tech Regular
 
Michael Barch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Penticton, BC (Canada)
Posts: 268
Send a message via AIM to Michael Barch
Default

Alright thanks. I think the Euro suits me the best right now. I'll try and pick up the foam version next winter, for indoor season. See what I can do.
Michael Barch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2006, 07:49 PM   #1196
Tech Elite
 
teamgp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Hampton/VA Beach USA
Posts: 2,089
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joel Lagace
And lets not forget with the multiflex ability some of the stiffy settings overlap between the EU and US versions, so its is possible to run the EU with just the addition of a ball diff for foam.
FYI, if you run the EU chassis with foams on medium to high grip carpet, I'd highly suggest using the +0.75 (high roll center) suspension holders all around. This will make up a lot of the difference that the thinner chassis flex gives and raise the car up out of the carpet. Otherwise, the car will likely dig in mid corner and lose a lot of corner speed.

Acquiring the US wide top deck/alum posts, and running the posts in the outer position will help a good bit as well.
__________________
Guy Hood
Sponsored by: Team XRAY / Team RC America / RB Products USA
/ Twister Tires USA / Maxy's Mods & Fuel / Parma PSE / Zubaks
Un-sponsored Shoutout: NexusRacing.com
*** 301 Raceway is my home away from Home ***

Last edited by teamgp; 12-12-2006 at 08:55 PM.
teamgp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2006, 08:00 PM   #1197
Registered User
 
UltegraSTI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,171
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

my EUs job is rubber tire on indoor smooth asphalt. any suggestions. i've seen the setups but other ideas on its function are welcomed. that and i've also toyed w/idea of 4/5cell.

Ult
UltegraSTI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2006, 11:31 PM   #1198
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 8,999
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Barch
I used to run foams, but near the end, before I quit, I ran rubbers. Rubbers took some getting used to, and some good prep work with the lube. Me, being a college student, on a budget. Foams are expensive, and you need to get a new set pretty much each week. Rubbers however can last a little longer, and IMO, take more skill. So do you think I will be better off running rubbers on carpet, and then it will be cheap, and cost me nothing to switch right over to the asphalt.

So Euro edition sounds like it would suit me better? Yes, we can run rubbers on the carpet track.
The EU version would be your best bet. The multi diff alone is worth getting the EU. Car worrks really well with rubber tire's on carpet. I have mostly run Paul L. vegas set up with a couple of changes. I'm still running the same rubber tire's I used in Vegas for club racing. The tire's will last longer than the foams.
__________________
REMEMBER THE GOOD OLE DAYS..........THEY'RE NEVER COMING BACK SO WE'RE STUCK WITH THE MESS IN FRONT OF US!!!!
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2006, 12:02 AM   #1199
Tech Master
 
DirtyDog3375's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Queenslander
Posts: 1,920
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to DirtyDog3375
Default electronics layout

Hi all,

Just wondering if people wouldn't mind putting up pics of the electronics layout for 4 and 5 cell batteries?

Thanks in advance,

Leonard.

p.s. or if you know where I can access some photos from???
__________________
:::Smokem Racing:::RCMaker.com.au:::Speedy RC.com.au:::
==========================================================
"It's more fun to drive slow cars fast, than fast cars slow"...
DirtyDog3375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2006, 10:22 AM   #1200
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Fontana,CA
Posts: 1,005
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default Pinion Gears

T2 007 EU running stock & 19 turn, switching to 64 pitch, Have a 114 spur. What would be a good range of pinion gears?
svines1972 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
XRAY T2'007 KyLayfield R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 01-19-2008 10:39 AM
Need Xray t2'007 parts edgaras R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 0 10-29-2007 04:11 AM
WTB/WTT: Xray T2 or T2'007 WheelNut R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 4 09-15-2007 06:02 PM
XRay T2'007 duckman996 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 18 02-06-2007 01:29 PM
Xray T2'007 US Edition fastzach R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 10-27-2006 04:03 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:02 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net