R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-21-2006, 03:47 PM   #961
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,300
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by svines1972
2 Questions before I start the build.

1. I understand the edge of the chassis needs to be sealed w/ CA. How do you do this without runoff onto the top or bottom of the chassis? Very carefully is not the answer I am looking for. Is there a method to it?

2. Just received the kit and noticed the bulkheads are already attached, but there are 3 screws missing on the rear bulkheads and 2 on the front. Is this something I will insert later on or were they left out by mistake.
1. Not only does the chassis need to be sealed- it also has to be sanded. The battery slots need to be filed and sanded as well. After the sanding is complete, I like to clean the chassis with alcohol to make sure all the sanding dust is removed. Make sure you wear a mask for this. One of the best links that explains this is HERE
Rather then letting the glue run on the chassis, many have had good luck with using a Q-Tip dabbed in glue to apply it to the chassis edges. Try to use genuine QTips with the cardboard sticks - the plastic ones react with the CA and release a toxic gas.

2. Take the bulkheads off - they are just there for show at this point. The remaining screws to mount them properly are in the parts-bags.
duckman996 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2006, 03:56 PM   #962
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Fontana,CA
Posts: 1,005
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Thanks for the quick response. I am sure I will be back for more info once I start.
svines1972 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2006, 05:20 PM   #963
Gravity RC
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Wi
Posts: 1,147
Default

Jag88, I wont say that it is good to have the chassis drag, but we are going so fast into the courners now that its hard to get them not to drag when the bite is up. I think that a little drag can be ok but a ton for me is not ideal atall.
Paul L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2006, 05:50 PM   #964
Tech Elite
 
Anthony.L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Federal Way, WA
Posts: 2,701
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

In the past I've used the qtip method with good success. I first soak the qtip in CA glue then dab it on a paper towel so it's not dripping wet. Then use the qtip like a brush and with light strokes coat the edges of the chassis.

To be honest, with my last two carpet chassis's I've been lazy and done zero CA. I will use a fill or dremel to bevel the edge a bit just to knock the sharp edge off. With carpet the only real concern is cutting the rug with a sharp edge on the chassis. On asphalt it's more important to glue the chassis so it doesn't splinter on a bad wreck.
Anthony.L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2006, 01:54 AM   #965
Tech Elite
 
RCknight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,273
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default Can anyone tell me if a Team Orion lipo 3300 will fit...

in the EU 007 or not? If not, I'll be selling all most of my stuff until the smoke clears with the battery/tc configs. I'm waiting for a lipo/tc design standard.
RCknight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2006, 02:24 AM   #966
Tech Elite
 
Mr. Shookie's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Wilderness
Posts: 4,711
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Shookie Send a message via MSN to Mr. Shookie
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RCknight
in the EU 007 or not? If not, I'll be selling all most of my stuff until the smoke clears with the battery/tc configs. I'm waiting for a lipo/tc design standard.
With the EU kit yes.
THe US kit the thinker chassis and lowered bulkheads made it very hard to fit.
I have two 3200 packs that fit real nice in the Eu. Still trying to get the right conter weights. Seems everyone around here shuts down for thanksging on Monday...Slackers I tell ya...

-Shookie <><
__________________
All who love the LORD JESUS I praise with you.1 Cor 10:31
Team HOLY Rollers (Team Manager)
The Church is a Hospital for Sinners not a Museum for Saints.
RcTech Feedback <>< RC Tech Subcriber #92
Mr. Shookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2006, 08:20 AM   #967
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Colorado, Above The Rest
Posts: 992
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Any update on the conversion kits?
__________________
Team BSR
Team Power Push
Protoform Race Bodies
KSKT Racing - #1 in SK Racing Chassis
Darkside Motorsports - "WE ARE WHAT'S NEXT." - www.darksidems.com
THE DARKSIDE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2006, 08:37 AM   #968
Tech Fanatic
 
ralph m's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 917
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Hi Guys,

Can anyone let me know what they're using for track width spacers front and rear, running Parma tires? I've seen many setups posted on the XRay site, most/all are using Jaco tires and stated 3mm. This appears to be too wide for Parma's.

Thanks,
Ralph
ralph m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2006, 09:10 AM   #969
Tech Master
 
pcar951's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Cow Town
Posts: 1,706
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ralph m
Hi Guys,

Can anyone let me know what they're using for track width spacers front and rear, running Parma tires? I've seen many setups posted on the XRay site, most/all are using Jaco tires and stated 3mm. This appears to be too wide for Parma's.

Thanks,
Ralph
I don't use any spacers when I run Parma's as they're already offset. Makes the car feel mushy to me.
__________________
Jim Chapman
PM Hobbycraft | RCAmerica | Xray | Hudy
pcar951 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2006, 09:17 AM   #970
Tech Master
 
pcar951's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Cow Town
Posts: 1,706
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Anybody got a fix (other than aluminum) for losening screws in the steering knuckles.
I'm on my 3rd set in 3 race days. Never replaced a set on the T2 at all. Camber link screws are stripping the threads in the plastic.
__________________
Jim Chapman
PM Hobbycraft | RCAmerica | Xray | Hudy
pcar951 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2006, 09:45 AM   #971
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Geneva, Switzerland
Posts: 110
Default ORION 3200 LIPOs in t2'007???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Shookie
With the EU kit yes.
THe US kit the thinker chassis and lowered bulkheads made it very hard to fit.
I have two 3200 packs that fit real nice in the Eu. Still trying to get the right conter weights. Seems everyone around here shuts down for thanksging on Monday...Slackers I tell ya...

-Shookie <><

Hey Shookie,

So you confirm that 3200 team orion carbon edition LIPOs fit in the new 007?

Thanks,

Cham
CRiXman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2006, 09:57 AM   #972
Suspended
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 3,519
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

In the EU kit he restated twice in his last post that they fit well.
racenut123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2006, 10:10 AM   #973
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 8,999
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

I GET TO RUN THE NEW RIDE TODAY. I JUST HOPE THAT I CAN DRIVE PAUL'S SET UP. TIME TO TO GO RDX HUNTING.
__________________
REMEMBER THE GOOD OLE DAYS..........THEY'RE NEVER COMING BACK SO WE'RE STUCK WITH THE MESS IN FRONT OF US!!!!
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2006, 10:13 AM   #974
Tech Elite
 
Jack Smash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 2,897
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

If you cant drive Paul's setup, learn it. Tons of steering = fast.
__________________
Kyosho / Orion / Amain.com / Protek / MIP /
Jack Smash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2006, 10:32 AM   #975
Tech Lord
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,140
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Hehe, "RDX HUNTING." You'd have better luck catching a snipe!
syndr0me is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
XRAY T2'007 KyLayfield R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 01-19-2008 10:39 AM
Need Xray t2'007 parts edgaras R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 0 10-29-2007 04:11 AM
WTB/WTT: Xray T2 or T2'007 WheelNut R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 4 09-15-2007 06:02 PM
XRay T2'007 duckman996 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 18 02-06-2007 01:29 PM
Xray T2'007 US Edition fastzach R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 10-27-2006 04:03 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:22 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net