R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-08-2008, 11:08 PM   #3871
Tech Elite
 
BigDogRacing's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 2,955
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to BigDogRacing
Default

mtboy- 2 things- make double sure the hinge pin is straight even if it looks straight to the naked eye, clean it and roll it slowly on clean glass surface. Then double check the hinge pin mount screws. Even a small amount of bend in them can cause bind. If not sure, move the screws and pin to the other side arm and see if problem follows them or stays with the arm.

If neither of those fix it, then if could be the arm or bulkhead tweaked.

Last thing- when I tighten my hingepin screws, I tighten them pretty snug, then back off just a bump- maybe 15deg- to take the bind out of the mount. Some tighten them then give the arm a nice firm tap in both directions.

Hope than helps....
BigDogRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 07:21 PM   #3872
Tech Addict
 
mtbboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Winnipeg. Igloo. Hockey. Beer.
Posts: 715
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigDogRacing View Post
mtboy- 2 things- make double sure the hinge pin is straight even if it looks straight to the naked eye, clean it and roll it slowly on clean glass surface. Then double check the hinge pin mount screws. Even a small amount of bend in them can cause bind. If not sure, move the screws and pin to the other side arm and see if problem follows them or stays with the arm.

If neither of those fix it, then if could be the arm or bulkhead tweaked.

Last thing- when I tighten my hingepin screws, I tighten them pretty snug, then back off just a bump- maybe 15deg- to take the bind out of the mount. Some tighten them then give the arm a nice firm tap in both directions.

Hope than helps....
Did help....Thank you.
D.
__________________
Team Associated Reedy factory team driver.
B5M Factory lite $ B44.3 Factory $ TC6.2 $ RC12R 5.1
Reedy 410 Speedos $ Reedy Mach Series motors
204 Raceway Winnipeg 1/10-1/8 Offroad. Owner.
mtbboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 09:12 PM   #3873
Tech Champion
 
Davidka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 9,930
Trader Rating: 77 (100%+)
Default

can anyone tell me if kimbrough spur gears will fit on Xray's spur gear mount?
Davidka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2008, 12:55 AM   #3874
Tech Master
 
Professor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Sydney,Australia
Posts: 1,090
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default spur gears

yes they will,they are the only kind that i now use on my 007 (they seem to last longer than others ive tried), i use 48 pitch not 64 but i dont see why 64 wouldnt fit
hope this helps


graham
Professor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2008, 01:08 AM   #3875
Tech Elite
 
rx7ttlm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 2,521
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Davidka View Post
can anyone tell me if kimbrough spur gears will fit on Xray's spur gear mount?
they have the right bolt pattern, pain in the @$$ to use them on 008 car, If I remember right they should bolt on to 007 no problem(holding the center shaft in my hand)
__________________
|Team Xray | RC America |MAX Engines | Hudy |Jaco | KO PROPO |"From Slovakia with Love" T3 | Team Timezone |

Timezone Raceway & Hobbies - http://www.timezonehobbies.com
rx7ttlm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2008, 01:57 AM   #3876
Tech Regular
 
Impulse_racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Glen Allen, VA
Posts: 250
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I had to sand them a little thinner on my '007 because they rubbed.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rx7ttlm View Post
they have the right bolt pattern, pain in the @$$ to use them on 008 car, If I remember right they should bolt on to 007 no problem(holding the center shaft in my hand)
__________________
Xray T3 EU
KO Propo Helios
Tekin RS Pro/LRP X-12/Venom LiPo
Hudy
Litemodz CVS
Impulse_racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2008, 07:46 AM   #3877
Tech Champion
 
Davidka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 9,930
Trader Rating: 77 (100%+)
Default

Excellent. That's what I was looking for guys, thanks.
Davidka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2008, 08:08 PM   #3878
Tech Master
 
Keith Billanti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: BUFFALO
Posts: 1,794
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Got the arm thing figured out- They were the wrong mounts he had on.

NOW-- Im looking over setup sheets and it seems a lot of guys are running 30/30 oil. That seems awful thin, im wondering if it is Xray brand, and if so- is it thicker than say-- Losi oil?? OR- does the car really just work well with thinner oil?

sorry to come off as a newb- but i have never run this car before..

Keith
__________________
OUT
Keith Billanti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2008, 08:17 PM   #3879
Tech Addict
 
mtbboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Winnipeg. Igloo. Hockey. Beer.
Posts: 715
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Adjustable pistons affords you the ability to run a thinner oil as you can change damping through # of holes.
__________________
Team Associated Reedy factory team driver.
B5M Factory lite $ B44.3 Factory $ TC6.2 $ RC12R 5.1
Reedy 410 Speedos $ Reedy Mach Series motors
204 Raceway Winnipeg 1/10-1/8 Offroad. Owner.
mtbboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2008, 09:32 PM   #3880
Tech Master
 
Keith Billanti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: BUFFALO
Posts: 1,794
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Okay- cool.. so the pistons are actually used.. i remember back in the day there was something similar from race prep or somthing-- for the XX Buggy.. didnt catch on. LOL.

Anyway- so 30 wt it is.. Thanks guys..

Keith
__________________
OUT
Keith Billanti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2008, 09:35 PM   #3881
Tech Master
 
Akhor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Alberta,Canada
Posts: 1,293
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Professor View Post
yes they will,they are the only kind that i now use on my 007 (they seem to last longer than others ive tried), i use 48 pitch not 64 but i dont see why 64 wouldnt fit
hope this helps


graham
Do you have to drill holes for the access to the motor mounting screws?
Akhor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2008, 04:08 AM   #3882
Tech Master
 
Professor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Sydney,Australia
Posts: 1,090
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default holes

akhor

depends i guess on what motor u are using,currently i am running 17.5 bl with
74 spur & between 27--31 pinion & i have increased two existing diagonal holes just a litlle just so its simple & quick to change pinions without any hassles,but when i was running silver cans with 77--81 spur gears i had to make the two holes somewhat larger, as for anything lower turn than 17.5 i am unsure
hope this helps

graham
Professor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2008, 06:37 AM   #3883
Tech Master
 
Akhor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Alberta,Canada
Posts: 1,293
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Professor View Post
akhor

depends i guess on what motor u are using,currently i am running 17.5 bl with
74 spur & between 27--31 pinion & i have increased two existing diagonal holes just a litlle just so its simple & quick to change pinions without any hassles,but when i was running silver cans with 77--81 spur gears i had to make the two holes somewhat larger, as for anything lower turn than 17.5 i am unsure
hope this helps

graham
This does help. Thanks.

Drilling the spurs, does not cause some crazy rotational wobble does it? Or at least one that's noticable.
Akhor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2008, 08:23 AM   #3884
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 87
Default

Keith - The 30wt you see in setups is X-Ray brand...I can't remember exactly how it compares to Losi/Assoc, but it's around 50-60wt for those.

Denney
Denney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2008, 03:17 PM   #3885
Tech Master
 
Keith Billanti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: BUFFALO
Posts: 1,794
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Thats what i was getting at... I guess ill have to write some emails. unless someone knows off hand what 30 Xray is close to?

I put 30wt Losi in, mainly because i have every losi oil there is LOL..

Car is coming together nicely.. The rest of the supplies i am waiting for will be here this week--

KB
__________________
OUT
Keith Billanti is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
XRAY T2'007 KyLayfield R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 01-19-2008 10:39 AM
Need Xray t2'007 parts edgaras R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 0 10-29-2007 04:11 AM
WTB/WTT: Xray T2 or T2'007 WheelNut R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 4 09-15-2007 06:02 PM
XRay T2'007 duckman996 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 18 02-06-2007 01:29 PM
Xray T2'007 US Edition fastzach R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 10-27-2006 04:03 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:35 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net