R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-18-2008, 05:39 AM   #3616
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,052
Trader Rating: 16 (94%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blueskieshlg View Post
whats the differance between a 24 tooth 48dp pinion and a 24 tooth 64 dp pinion?
The difference between them is the pitch.

The definition of Pitch in this case: the degree of inclination or slope

48-pitch pinions require the use of 48-pitch spurs, while 64-pitch pinions requre 64-pitch spurs.

Why would you want one over the other? 64-pitch offers a greater variety of gear ratios since 64-pitch tooth count on the spur/pinion will be higher to reach the required diameters to work in the car. Most people agree that 64-pitch is slightly more efficient, but 48-pitch is more durable with larger teeth and contact area. A side benefit of 64-pitch is they are generally quieter than 48-pitch setups. Lastly, 64-pitch will mostly be used is racing, while 48-pitch is more universal for on-road and off-road RC cars.
kn7671 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2008, 06:49 AM   #3617
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Bedford
Posts: 49
Default

Thanks Kn7671 for taking the time to explain
blueskieshlg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2008, 11:01 AM   #3618
Tech Master
 
adamge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Saskatoon,SK Canada
Posts: 1,654
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I thought pitch was defined as number of teeth per inch of diameter. Measuring a 64p 44t pinion I have here, it is about .675" diameter (measuring the valleys, not the peaks), multiplied by 64 = 43. Close, I probably measured wrong.
__________________
When someone is intent on excelling in an otherwise laudable manner, does he not desire to inflict pain on others by means of his exalted status and enjoy the envy he arouses? Is there not an anticipated delight in an artist's ability to defeat his artistic rivals, which heightens his euphoria in creation?
-Nietzsche
adamge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2008, 06:50 PM   #3619
Tech Adept
 
xraysteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: blissfield,mi
Posts: 146
Default

what the heck is everyone talking about. just get the spur you want and take a body hole reamer and make a hole. it dos not make a difference if the spur gear has the same size hole all the way around it. one is all you need. it will work. i have done this many times. you can also take the aluminum spur holder off the car to ream some holes for the gear to fit it.
__________________
lazer speedway everything else is a parking lot
xraysteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2008, 07:35 PM   #3620
Tech Master
 
komkit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Germantown, America
Posts: 1,789
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to komkit Send a message via AIM to komkit Send a message via Yahoo to komkit
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xraysteve View Post
i have done this many times.


Picture please or it didnít happen.

How did you drill a 96 teeth spur gear? We are not talking about 110 teeth and up spur gears, we are talking about 96 or lower spur gears.
komkit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2008, 08:47 AM   #3621
Tech Regular
 
Ridge_Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 445
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Ridge_Racer Send a message via Yahoo to Ridge_Racer
Default

Help !!

The grub screw that holds the dogbone to the CVD on my X-ray is rust welded in place. Is there a way of getting that screw out without loosing the entire assembly? I am about to hit an auto store for some rust remove or something. Can anyone help out with this.
__________________
http://www.countdowntovegas.blogspot.com
Ridge_Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2008, 09:48 PM   #3622
Tech Initiate
 
daveflyr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 35
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

the front belt has been fliping on my t2 007 lately. the belt was originaly installed with the front diff eccentric installed at the center notch. a few months later an experienced t2 007 owner sugested that the belt was too tight, so the eccentric was moved one notch to loosen the belt. i had no problems with it for the longest time then the belt started to flip, some times just on the front diff gear, sometimes on both. so i put the adjustmet back to the center notch. it still flipped. so i went one notch tighter again, and it still flips. the belts teeth all look good, gear teeth are clean. as i cant see anything wrong with the car i am wondering if the belt flips when the car is subjected to an impact?
daveflyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2008, 09:58 PM   #3623
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 377
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I kinda came upon a set-up that worked by accident at my local track the other day. I completely rebuilt my car and left the bulkhead screws a little loose for a reason. The car felt completely dialed, had controlability like I havent had in a long time. After I took it off the track I remembered that I was supposed to tighten the screws down again. I did, lost all the traction.
Today I went to the track, loosened up all the screws and again, phenomenal handling. Got it back to the bench and saw I lost a couple of screws. Put some loctite in the screws but decided to call it a day for personal reasons.

Question: Should i be doing this or looking for traction elsewhere? A guy I talked to said it will do that but it will be inconsistent cuz the screws will be movin out or falling out...which they did. I have tried removing the screws for the support post and it seemed to do ok but not near as well as having the screws on all the bulkheads turned half a turn loose.
Any help is appreciated, thanks.
wcalaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2008, 08:40 PM   #3624
Tech Apprentice
 
SARCAR_Revmax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 77
Send a message via MSN to SARCAR_Revmax
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by komkit View Post
Picture please or it didnít happen.

How did you drill a 96 teeth spur gear? We are not talking about 110 teeth and up spur gears, we are talking about 96 or lower spur gears.
Well, I for a fact have drilled a 75 tooth 48dp spur, and am positive I could do it with a 72. Not sure about a 69 though.
__________________
Xray T2 '007
SMC Batteries
Novak GTB 13.5/17.5 Brushless
SARCAR_Revmax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2008, 08:44 PM   #3625
Tech Elite
 
Joel Lagace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,628
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Can someone post a detailed picture of a GTB installed in there 007. I'm looking for a really sweet clean install. I stared at my ride and gtb for an hour and then just gave up....

I hate long wires, i hate clutter ect ect. Show me your best installs please.... The GTB ended up getting shoe horned into my xxxcr for now... But ill need a BL in my 007 soon.

Thanks guys
__________________
"Without Rules its just Backyard Bashing!"
www.rcottawa.com
Joel Lagace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2008, 08:49 PM   #3626
Tech Master
 
Verndog's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: PPDBillet.com USA
Posts: 1,845
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xraysteve View Post
what the heck is everyone talking about. just get the spur you want and take a body hole reamer and make a hole. it dos not make a difference if the spur gear has the same size hole all the way around it. one is all you need. it will work. i have done this many times. you can also take the aluminum spur holder off the car to ream some holes for the gear to fit it.
Yes...that will work....But it will also prematurely wear your bearings out and contribute to runnout because the gear will no longer be balanced.
__________________
--->Dial-a-Grip for TC6
Kevin -- PPDBillet---TC6---Exoray 008
---Team Hoarders---
Verndog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2008, 10:34 PM   #3627
Tech Elite
 
VooDooPH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Philippines
Posts: 3,715
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to VooDooPH
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joel Lagace View Post
Can someone post a detailed picture of a GTB installed in there 007. I'm looking for a really sweet clean install. I stared at my ride and gtb for an hour and then just gave up....

I hate long wires, i hate clutter ect ect. Show me your best installs please.... The GTB ended up getting shoe horned into my xxxcr for now... But ill need a BL in my 007 soon.

Thanks guys





__________________
[TRF418][TB-04Pro][FF-03Pro][M-05v2][TRF102][F-104 WGP][TT-01R TypeE]
[Cross CF-01'08][Yokomo R12][Team C TC02Evo][Team C T8E v3]
VooDooPH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2008, 12:15 AM   #3628
Tech Elite
 
ernestf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Singapore
Posts: 2,027
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to ernestf
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joel Lagace View Post
Can someone post a detailed picture of a GTB installed in there 007. I'm looking for a really sweet clean install. I stared at my ride and gtb for an hour and then just gave up....

I hate long wires, i hate clutter ect ect. Show me your best installs please.... The GTB ended up getting shoe horned into my xxxcr for now... But ill need a BL in my 007 soon.

Thanks guys
Hi, I am running Norsam ESC (same as LRP TC Spec), please have a look and hope this helps.

http://ernrc.blogspot.com/
ernestf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2008, 09:32 AM   #3629
Tech Addict
 
act2007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: North Jersey
Posts: 701
Trader Rating: 46 (100%+)
Thumbs up

Joel, you should check out this thread for some really nice
GTB set up. Hope this would solve your dilemma!

http://www.rctech.net/forum/showthre...=211010&page=3

Here's mine as a starter!
Attached Thumbnails
Xray T2'007-my-xray-t2-002.jpg   Xray T2'007-my-xray-t2-004.jpg   Xray T2'007-my-xray-t2-001.jpg  
act2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2008, 09:41 AM   #3630
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 3,121
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to A. Rhodes
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joel Lagace View Post
Can someone post a detailed picture of a GTB installed in there 007. I'm looking for a really sweet clean install. I stared at my ride and gtb for an hour and then just gave up....

I hate long wires, i hate clutter ect ect. Show me your best installs please.... The GTB ended up getting shoe horned into my xxxcr for now... But ill need a BL in my 007 soon.

Thanks guys
Here are some pics of my GTB set up in my 007. All of the leads to the servo, PT, and SC have been shortened. The sensor wire runs behind eveything.









__________________
Retired from RC....
Quantum - St. Croix - Bass Pro Shops - XPS - Rapala
A. Rhodes is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
XRAY T2'007 KyLayfield R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 01-19-2008 10:39 AM
Need Xray t2'007 parts edgaras R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 0 10-29-2007 04:11 AM
WTB/WTT: Xray T2 or T2'007 WheelNut R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 4 09-15-2007 06:02 PM
XRay T2'007 duckman996 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 18 02-06-2007 01:29 PM
Xray T2'007 US Edition fastzach R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 10-27-2006 04:03 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:56 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net