Xray T2'007


Old 05-19-2007, 04:02 AM
  #2536  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4
Default T2 007 & 4800

B18C Turbo,
I have the T2 007 EU and i have the Orion 4800 in mine.
I just sanded the top and bottom of the battery case and a
slight bit of the little knob that sticks down. It fits perfect and
no car handling problems from shaving the little knob.
fasttrack42 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2007, 09:21 AM
  #2537  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (138)
 
SammyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New England
Posts: 3,045
Trader Rating: 138 (100%+)
Default

dude what did you sand the 4800pack with? 220 grit?
SammyZ is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2007, 10:03 AM
  #2538  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4
Default 4800pack

B18C Turbo,
I used the 120 grit 220 was a bit to smooth for me.
On the aluminun mount on the car i just shaved it
a little bit with the dremel.Also i had to shave the
four little plastic end pieces that holds the battery
and left the two center one's out and the battery
sat in there perfect. I have had no problems with
the mods.
fasttrack42 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2007, 01:59 PM
  #2539  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (138)
 
SammyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New England
Posts: 3,045
Trader Rating: 138 (100%+)
Default

Well I measured with my digital Mic, The T2 '007 has 22mm clearance for a battery pack. My Platinum lipo measured 23mm! I don't think sanding is going to make it clear because the plastic case is so thin!

I think my best bet is to buy some Orion carbon 3200's because they clear simply by notching a divot in the pack to clear teh layshaft bulkhead.
SammyZ is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2007, 05:00 PM
  #2540  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (138)
 
SammyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New England
Posts: 3,045
Trader Rating: 138 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by fasttrack42
B18C Turbo,
I have the T2 007 EU and i have the Orion 4800 in mine.
I just sanded the top and bottom of the battery case and a
slight bit of the little knob that sticks down. It fits perfect and
no car handling problems from shaving the little knob.
Its a lot easier for you man because you have the EU edition. My US car has another 1mm of thickness to deal with. The Platinum Li-po physically will fit in the EU with no mods but it disables the top deck from flexing, so you need to make about .75mm to let it flex. Its easy for you to shave off .75mm from the packs case because thats all you need.

In my case, my US car requires 1.75mm of shaving, thats not possible! I think I have to buy the carbon 3200's, oh well.
SammyZ is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2007, 05:17 PM
  #2541  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
Big B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Kent, WA
Posts: 1,176
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Dosen't MaxAmps or one of the many other companies out there, make a lipo batt that will fit in the 007 without mods?
Big B is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2007, 05:47 PM
  #2542  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4
Default Max Amp

Big B,
I have MaxAmp's 5000mah Lipo that fits in the T2 007 EU with
no problem.
fasttrack42 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2007, 07:35 PM
  #2543  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (138)
 
SammyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New England
Posts: 3,045
Trader Rating: 138 (100%+)
Default

yeah now im looking at max amps packs because they look promising
SammyZ is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2007, 09:45 PM
  #2544  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (138)
 
SammyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New England
Posts: 3,045
Trader Rating: 138 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by fasttrack42
Big B,
I have MaxAmp's 5000mah Lipo that fits in the T2 007 EU with
no problem.
dude I just order ny max amp 5000 too, its only 20mm thick vs the 23mm Orion li-po. I saved $35 over the Orion and shave 3mm on height, pick up 200mah. What a deal
SammyZ is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2007, 10:40 PM
  #2545  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (32)
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,189
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

With Orion's packs, you're getting a higher quality cell that is much safer and has better cycle life, not to mention the hard case. The MaxAmps packs are nice, but don't be fooled into thinking you're getting the same quality for a lower price. You get what you pay for with LiPo.
syndr0me is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2007, 11:11 PM
  #2546  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
adamge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Saskatoon,SK Canada
Posts: 1,654
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

syndrome, do you have any proof of this?
adamge is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2007, 11:25 PM
  #2547  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
Big B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Kent, WA
Posts: 1,176
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Maxamps has just as good of cells as Orion, they just dont come in a shiny box . All I was getting at is there are options out there that are just as good, especially for club racing, that dont require any modification to the chassis.
Big B is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2007, 11:36 PM
  #2548  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (32)
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,189
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by adamge
syndrome, do you have any proof of this?
I suppose not, I haven't tested it myself. I guess that's my opinion, and I shouldn't state it as a definitive fact. I mean, I guess it's possible those great prices aren't the result of a Chinese manufacturer sourcing the cells.

But, until MaxAmps reveals the source of their batteries, which definitely HAS been tested and scrutinized (as all LiPo manufacturers are), I will continue to consider them suspect and secondary. Not revealing the source allows them to exist in relative ambiguity, and I think that's a mistake for LiPo acceptance.

The hard case is a lot more than good looks. LiPo's are in a soft, vulnerable package, which is exposed in a sedan, especially the way we mount our batteries. It's my opinion, and that of many others that a hard case is a very good thing for our application.

That's great you guys got a good deal. I hope the batteries work great. Read up on proper care and safety, and enjoy them.

Last edited by syndr0me; 05-19-2007 at 11:48 PM.
syndr0me is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2007, 11:38 PM
  #2549  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (32)
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,189
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Big B
Maxamps has just as good of cells as Orion, they just dont come in a shiny box . All I was getting at is there are options out there that are just as good, especially for club racing, that dont require any modification to the chassis.
No, they don't. Orion openly reveals the source of their cells (Kokam) because they're extremely highly regarded in the industry, and considered among the best. They're also expensive.

MaxAmps doesn't reveal the source of their cells, and just says "they're great." They would brag about the cells they used if they were from a company that's well-respected.
syndr0me is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2007, 12:09 AM
  #2550  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
Big B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Kent, WA
Posts: 1,176
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I agree that having a protective cover for these shells is important, but what good does it do when you have to modify the structural integrety of that case or your car to fit them in?
Big B is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service