R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-15-2006, 06:47 PM   #1
Tech Elite
 
andrewdoherty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ★Wylie, TX★
Posts: 3,776
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default Flashing M8?

I bought a used M8. The first time I turned it on the screen was flashing, kind of like when you video tape a computer screen and it scrolls down. Sometimes it scrolls fast, and some times it scrolls slow. Later that same day I noticed it was gone. Today I turned it on again and the flashing is back. I have tried new and somewhat disharged nimh rechargeable AA batteries. Anyone else experience this? Any other things I could check to fix it? I'd hate to spend the $$ now to send it to Airtronics.
__________________
"Whether you think you can, or think you can't, you're right." -Henry Ford
"[Driving] Genius is 1% inspiration, and 99% perspiration" -T.A. Edison
|◤Hobbywing◢|◤SpeedzoneUSA.com◢|◤Pro-One◢|
|◤ReflexRacing.net◢|◤Protoform◢|◤AVID R/C◢|
andrewdoherty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2006, 06:56 PM   #2
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,300
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Check to see of the head of the controller is loose from the handle. It may actually be a crushed wire - or a bad connection in the controller itself. If the head unit is loose, a wire may have gotten in there and become crushed.
duckman996 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2006, 07:12 PM   #3
Tech Elite
 
andrewdoherty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ★Wylie, TX★
Posts: 3,776
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Im still new to the M8. When you say head, can you explain? Where are teh screws I should check to tighten this? Or should I just dismantle the unit and visually inspect it? Its used so its not like I am voiding any warranty I guess . . .
__________________
"Whether you think you can, or think you can't, you're right." -Henry Ford
"[Driving] Genius is 1% inspiration, and 99% perspiration" -T.A. Edison
|◤Hobbywing◢|◤SpeedzoneUSA.com◢|◤Pro-One◢|
|◤ReflexRacing.net◢|◤Protoform◢|◤AVID R/C◢|
andrewdoherty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2006, 07:35 PM   #4
Tech Elite
 
andrewdoherty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ★Wylie, TX★
Posts: 3,776
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Well that was easy! I unscrewed the back and wiggled the ribbon wire around and saw that it was certainly the culprit. I slightly unplugged the wire from the board, and then plugged it back in and now it doesn't flash. Wish everything was this easy! Thanks for the help duck man. Your idea was just the thing I needed I guess to get my thinking going!
__________________
"Whether you think you can, or think you can't, you're right." -Henry Ford
"[Driving] Genius is 1% inspiration, and 99% perspiration" -T.A. Edison
|◤Hobbywing◢|◤SpeedzoneUSA.com◢|◤Pro-One◢|
|◤ReflexRacing.net◢|◤Protoform◢|◤AVID R/C◢|
andrewdoherty is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
D-Style Rc Lights ---------Flashing-------- D-Style R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 6 01-03-2008 11:48 AM
Tamiya ESC LED Flashing????????? stick21 Electric On-Road 15 04-22-2006 04:21 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:29 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net