Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Can i use 16awg wire for my ESC >

Can i use 16awg wire for my ESC

Can i use 16awg wire for my ESC

Reply

Old 09-10-2006, 01:30 PM
  #1  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
 
TRFTIM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 196
Default Can i use 16awg wire for my ESC

Can i use 16 awg wire for my Cyclone esc and 17 x 2 motor

Thanks
TRFTIM is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2006, 01:55 PM
  #2  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
scoobydo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bay Area San Jose
Posts: 1,501
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by TRFTIM
Can i use 16 awg wire for my Cyclone esc and 17 x 2 motor

Thanks
Most guys in 12th scale do in order to reduce the pod from binding with the higher gauge wire. I'm not sure about any other class.
scoobydo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2006, 07:33 PM
  #3  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (36)
 
Anthony.L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Federal Way, WA
Posts: 2,701
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

With a mod motor and 6 cells I probably would not run less then 14ga. The amp draw is what kills small gauge wire.
Anthony.L is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2006, 07:44 PM
  #4  
Tech Master
iTrader: (10)
 
big al's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Olympia,Wa
Posts: 1,026
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Anyone ever pop open an esc and see how thin the pc board leads are?? Having 12ga. wire soldered on to a pc lead that is maybe 4 hairs wide seems strange. I think 14ga. is sufficient, but still overkill. I've used 16ga. for competitive stock racing and didn't have one problem. Something to consider.--Al
big al is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2006, 08:20 PM
  #5  
Tech Master
iTrader: (13)
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,312
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Yes - I am using 16 AWG for my 1/12 with 19 turn motors ... however, if you are going to run a hotter mod, I would recommend at least moving to 14 AWG. To test what gauge to run, you have to calculate expected max amp current running through the wires. Motors running off 4-cells draw much less amps then with 6 cells - however, when you move into low-turn motors, their amp draw tends to exceed the capacity of smaller guage wires and actually cause them to melt. 16 guage wire is rated for 22 or less amps, where-as 16 guage wire is rated up to 32 amps. If you know the expect max amp draw of your motor, you can select easily - if not, play it safe and run the larger wire.
duckman996 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2006, 08:22 PM
  #6  
Tech Master
iTrader: (13)
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,312
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by big al
Anyone ever pop open an esc and see how thin the pc board leads are?? Having 12ga. wire soldered on to a pc lead that is maybe 4 hairs wide seems strange. I think 14ga. is sufficient, but still overkill. I've used 16ga. for competitive stock racing and didn't have one problem. Something to consider.--Al
Although the size of the wires within the ESC are smaller, they also travel a much smaller distance which allows for these low diameter wires to be sufficient - especially since these wires are probably only handling small amp duties. The board is handling the larger amp duties - hense the lack of larger wires in the ESC.
duckman996 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2006, 08:32 PM
  #7  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: So Cal
Posts: 13
Default

Originally Posted by duckman996
Motors running off 4-cells draw much less amps then with 6 cells.
I thought its the other way around. when you increase voltage it lowers the current draw? Maybe you meant total amount of power?
IMslow is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2006, 10:26 PM
  #8  
Tech Master
iTrader: (13)
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,312
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by IMslow
I thought its the other way around. when you increase voltage it lowers the current draw? Maybe you meant total amount of power?
Nope... what I meant was that as voltage delivered to the motor decreases (via battery voltage output) - so does amperage from said motor thus allowing for a smaller diameter wire (i.e. 16 AWG) since there is less draw through the wires via the speed control.
duckman996 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2006, 10:15 AM
  #9  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
 
TRFTIM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 196
Default

Originally Posted by duckman996
Nope... what I meant was that as voltage delivered to the motor decreases (via battery voltage output) - so does amperage from said motor thus allowing for a smaller diameter wire (i.e. 16 AWG) since there is less draw through the wires via the speed control.
*

ill give the 16 a go and see what happens
TRFTIM is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2006, 10:26 AM
  #10  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 10
Default

I run 18 awg for 1/12th Stock and 19T. I have heard of pro drivers running 18 awg as well for Mod. (I could be wrong)
Novak makes some really nice 18 awg if you can find it.
jposthumus is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service