Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
ko propo radio charging ?'s >

ko propo radio charging ?'s

ko propo radio charging ?'s

Reply

Old 09-07-2006, 09:42 AM
  #1  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (50)
 
buffalobill989's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: broken arrow, ok
Posts: 754
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Default ko propo radio charging ?'s

wondering how people charge there rechargable pack in there radio. is it with the plug that goes into ur radio & into ur chrgr, the wall chrgr or are u just chrging staight from ur chrgr leads to the bat. how many cells do i set it at & what amp rate. thanks for ur help
buffalobill989 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2006, 09:56 AM
  #2  
Tech Master
 
pheyhoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 1,337
Default

I use on old Riko charger i used to charge a cheapo car that took 8 AA cells.

If not i take them out the charger and charge them in a seperate charger that runs off the mains.
pheyhoe is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2006, 03:17 PM
  #3  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (7)
 
Scottmisfits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 3,104
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

I went to radio shack and got myself another 8 cell holder. Now I just use alligator clips on the two 9volt style plugs on the end of the pack.

I usually charge those batteries at 0.5a or less. You don't need the power or punch out of them, you want them to last a long time. The lower the charge rate, the longer the charge will last. And set the charger to 8 cells
Scottmisfits is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2006, 05:59 PM
  #4  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (1)
 
dsrbltoys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Renton, WA
Posts: 890
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Same as Scott, except, I use .9 amp, and a .03 drop back / cut-off voltage on a turbo GFX!
dsrbltoys is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2006, 10:35 PM
  #5  
Tech Master
iTrader: (6)
 
Rob Phillips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Indianapolis / VA
Posts: 1,722
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Watch the plugs polarity, if you use one to charge your cells, it's different than Futaba and Airtronics. I can't remember which is + and which is -, but I know it was different. I just use my MM CTX and clip my leads to the "9 volt" connection.
Rob Phillips is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2006, 05:47 AM
  #6  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (50)
 
buffalobill989's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: broken arrow, ok
Posts: 754
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Default

thanks alot guys
buffalobill989 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2006, 06:06 AM
  #7  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (50)
 
buffalobill989's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: broken arrow, ok
Posts: 754
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Default

how long does it take to charge the pack at .4 or .5?
buffalobill989 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2006, 07:36 AM
  #8  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (9)
 
Mr. Shookie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Wilderness
Posts: 4,711
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by buffalobill989
how long does it take to charge the pack at .4 or .5?

Well if 1.0amp charge rate gives you 1000mah per hour than .4 or .5 would yeild you 400 -500 mah's per hour..

Depends on how many Mah your batteries are...
Hope that helps,
-Shookie <><
Mr. Shookie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2006, 07:45 AM
  #9  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (50)
 
buffalobill989's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: broken arrow, ok
Posts: 754
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Default

so by my calcs it will take a 2500 mah bat about 5hrs to charge at .5 amp? how long do the radio packs last. how long does the cgarge typically last? is just for one night of racing?
buffalobill989 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2006, 08:49 AM
  #10  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (9)
 
Mr. Shookie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Wilderness
Posts: 4,711
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by buffalobill989
so by my calcs it will take a 2500 mah bat about 5hrs to charge at .5 amp? how long do the radio packs last. how long does the cgarge typically last? is just for one night of racing?
Yup it will take about 5 hours...LOL
But it will be full when it is....
2500mah should last you a good long while...
When you see the Voltage drop below 10V recharge your pack..
Hope that helps,
-Shookie <><
Mr. Shookie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2006, 08:54 AM
  #11  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (50)
 
buffalobill989's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: broken arrow, ok
Posts: 754
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Default

thanks alot i think that will get it for now. wow i feelpretty spec getting a reg mod to help me out
buffalobill989 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2006, 09:25 AM
  #12  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (9)
 
Mr. Shookie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Wilderness
Posts: 4,711
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by buffalobill989
thanks alot i think that will get it for now. wow i feelpretty spec getting a reg mod to help me out

Don't feel too special....I am just as retarded as the next guy...LOL

-Shookie <><
Mr. Shookie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2006, 09:32 AM
  #13  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (50)
 
buffalobill989's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: broken arrow, ok
Posts: 754
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Default

buffalobill989 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service