R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-02-2003, 02:43 PM   #1
Tech Legend
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 29,546
Trader Rating: 240 (100%+)
Exclamation Can't get breaks to work on my ESC, help!

Hey all,

I am currently running a novak explorer II speed control with my JR XR3 radio on a SC18 car. When I go to set it up, the throttle works fine, but I don't get any breaks. When I go to use them, the light goes out but it doesn't start showing green like it says in the manual. If I however reverse my throttle setting (basically like a servo reverse switch) my breaks do come on but then everything else is not right, at least though I know that the breaks do work.

Is there something I am not doing right when setting up the radio to work with the ESC? I noticed that I couldn't get breaks to work on my cyclone with this radio unless I had at least 30 set on the BRG when using the A thumb button to set it. I have tried this on the BRP car, but it doesn't work, Any ideas?


Thanks.



Cain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2003, 08:44 PM   #2
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Socal
Posts: 613
Default

sounds like you fried your brakes, its just wear on the fet or a manu. fault. My brakes went on my v7.1 and my keyence, oh also you could have the brakes set to high when you run mod and use it like a on off switch. full-brake-full-brake will also get them hot and they may burn up. call novak.
teamAE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2003, 09:57 PM   #3
Tech Fanatic
 
minicooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Beautiful Downtown L.A. Where the sky is always on fire and the grass is always brown
Posts: 949
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to minicooper Send a message via Yahoo to minicooper
Default Re: Can't get breaks to work on my ESC, help!

Quote:
Originally posted by Cain
Hey all,

I am currently running a novak explorer II speed control with my JR XR3 radio on a SC18 car. When I go to set it up, the throttle works fine, but I don't get any breaks. When I go to use them, the light goes out but it doesn't start showing green like it says in the manual. If I however reverse my throttle setting (basically like a servo reverse switch) my breaks do come on but then everything else is not right, at least though I know that the breaks do work.

Thanks.
Cain - try this link JR radio settings
minicooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2003, 11:17 AM   #4
Tech Legend
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 29,546
Trader Rating: 240 (100%+)
Default

Thanks for the info, I will give it a try. Some of the terms they use are alittle confusing, if I have trouble I will post.


Thanks again.
Cain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2003, 01:08 PM   #5
Tech Master
 
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: I'm All Over The Place
Posts: 1,160
Default

Hello, the ESC sounds like it needs to be "setup" still. Review your manual regarding the One Touch Setup. Manuals can be found in the DOWNLOAD section of www.teamnovak.com You can email me if you need some help. Thanks

Charlie Suangka
Novak Electronics,
[email protected]
949-833-8873
__________________
Novak Electronics Tech Support
Charlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2003, 03:57 PM   #6
Tech Legend
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 29,546
Trader Rating: 240 (100%+)
Default

That did the trick. I reset my Explorer II and my Cyclone as well. My XXX-S equipped with the cyclone even sounded a little faster as well. Will be fun to see how the fix does at the track.
Cain is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
M8 - steering spring breaks??? nikos2002 Radio and Electronics 4 02-06-2008 12:50 AM
1:5 Scale 23cc inc radio and disc breaks only $480 remotebandit Australia For Sale/Trade 2 11-28-2007 04:34 AM
Breaks on savy making strage noise! silacomalley Monster Trucks 2 08-13-2005 12:53 AM
What Breaks?? Sleighty Electric On-Road 10 07-20-2004 05:25 PM
MP 7.5, what breaks? Randy Caster Electric Off-Road 10 04-21-2003 09:10 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:02 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net