R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-30-2006, 11:30 PM   #1
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 495
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default Servo Glitch

I noticed tonight that my steering will twitch at certain speeds. I had just installed a cap on my competition 2 esc and was just checking to make sure it was working. Well at full throttle everything is fine. But I noticed somewhere around 1/4 throttle the steering servo will twitch badly. Can anyone tell me why it would do that? I have a JR xs3 radio, RS310 reciever, and Hitec 965mg servo. Thanks.
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone
Xray T2 007
KO Helios
Duratrax ICE
porschejim911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2006, 01:19 AM   #2
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 1,152
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by porschejim911
I noticed tonight that my steering will twitch at certain speeds. I had just installed a cap on my competition 2 esc and was just checking to make sure it was working. Well at full throttle everything is fine. But I noticed somewhere around 1/4 throttle the steering servo will twitch badly. Can anyone tell me why it would do that? I have a JR xs3 radio, RS310 reciever, and Hitec 965mg servo. Thanks.

Some possible reasons...

Your antena too close to ESC wires or touching carbon fibre.

Or it could be your crystal damage...Or worst, your radio is damage.

Or your motor is too old and comm out of round and its making a lot of electrical noises at full throttle.

Check these out.
Ben.C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2006, 05:19 AM   #3
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 495
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Most of those are pretty clear. Motor is a co27 with 4 runs on it. Don't have any crystals. I'll try moving wires away from antena.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben.C
Some possible reasons...

Your antena too close to ESC wires or touching carbon fibre.

Or it could be your crystal damage...Or worst, your radio is damage.

Or your motor is too old and comm out of round and its making a lot of electrical noises at full throttle.

Check these out.
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone
Xray T2 007
KO Helios
Duratrax ICE
porschejim911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2006, 05:22 AM   #4
Tech Adept
 
JAY_UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Yorkshire - UK
Posts: 135
Send a message via MSN to JAY_UK
Default

Are you running Spektrum system?
JAY_UK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2006, 07:15 AM   #5
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 454
Default

Make sure you are in normal response mode. It's in the menu where you change the frequency.
trf_racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2006, 07:33 AM   #6
Tech Addict
 
cbrfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Stock Truck
Posts: 676
Default

I just fixed that same trouble with my son's buggy and my truck. We use XS3's also.

Get a new receiver and the glitch will be gone.
cbrfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2006, 07:36 AM   #7
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 495
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Is this the frame rate on the transmitter?

Quote:
Originally Posted by trf_racer
Make sure you are in normal response mode. It's in the menu where you change the frequency.
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone
Xray T2 007
KO Helios
Duratrax ICE
porschejim911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2006, 07:49 AM   #8
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 454
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by porschejim911
Is this the frame rate on the transmitter?
Yes, that's it!
trf_racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2006, 07:52 AM   #9
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 495
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Thanks. I'll check it when I get home. Haven't ever looked at it since I guess I assumed it came set for normal. Could be I accidently switched it too.

Quote:
Originally Posted by trf_racer
Yes, that's it!
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone
Xray T2 007
KO Helios
Duratrax ICE
porschejim911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2006, 12:52 PM   #10
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 495
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

I have a few receivers so I'll try it. Hope it's not it as the receiver is basically new. He was getting glitching at lower throttle only?

Quote:
Originally Posted by cbrfreak
I just fixed that same trouble with my son's buggy and my truck. We use XS3's also.

Get a new receiver and the glitch will be gone.
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone
Xray T2 007
KO Helios
Duratrax ICE
porschejim911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2006, 01:04 PM   #11
Tech Addict
 
cbrfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Stock Truck
Posts: 676
Default

Both of our cars had the same symptoms. Light throttle was causing the steering to twitch and the motor was kind of glitchy acting too.

I had to get a new receiver for mine and a new speedo for his. Both had the same symptoms you are describing.
cbrfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2006, 04:47 PM   #12
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 495
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

yep it's on normal.

Quote:
Originally Posted by trf_racer
Make sure you are in normal response mode. It's in the menu where you change the frequency.
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone
Xray T2 007
KO Helios
Duratrax ICE
porschejim911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2006, 07:31 PM   #13
Tech Master
 
Tek Nickal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,301
Default Having the same problem

I'm having the same problem with my JR XS3 also, the servo twitches left to right at certain speeds. Esp. at very very low throttle, and then less when more is applied. My antenna isn't touching graphite, and isn't going over any wires.
Tek Nickal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2006, 07:34 PM   #14
Tech Addict
 
cbrfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Stock Truck
Posts: 676
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tek Nickal
I'm having the same problem with my JR XS3 also, the servo twitches left to right at certain speeds. Esp. at very very low throttle, and then less when more is applied. My antenna isn't touching graphite, and isn't going over any wires.
If you have a different speedo to try, do that. If it still glitches then it's your receiver. Trust me, I pulled my hair out for a week tracking the problem down.
cbrfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2006, 07:35 PM   #15
Tech Master
 
Tek Nickal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,301
Default

Tek Nickal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
High power servo glitch? Revo-lution Radio and Electronics 1 04-24-2009 07:53 PM
Digital Servo glitch problem ckaspar Radio and Electronics 2 06-05-2008 04:19 PM
JRXR2 Radio 2 receivers JR Z650M Servo Batteries Glitch Buster Tires hardey R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 6 01-15-2007 02:19 PM
Can a servo cause a glitch? Iceracer Electric Off-Road 10 04-04-2006 02:07 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:55 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net