R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-24-2006, 08:37 PM   #16
Tech Elite
 
imprsme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Va.
Posts: 3,733
Trader Rating: 74 (99%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by geeunit1014
easy way is to coat the comm with a sharpie before you cut it. once all the sharpie is gone, the comm is round

NOT TRUE AT ALL!!!

If the lathe is cutting at and angle that is deeper at the inside vs the outside. The sharpie would be gone but the Comm. would be tapered.

If you cut it deep enough all of the Sharpie will be gone anyway...
__________________
AwesomatixUSA
eXpress Motorsports

Last edited by imprsme; 08-24-2006 at 08:48 PM.
imprsme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2006, 05:15 AM   #17
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 297
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tek Nickal
Thanks, that helped a lot. Now, the comm is smooth but, its not as shiny as it was before. I think its time for a new bit...does anyone know which carbide bit fits the integy auto lathe? Also, where can I get it pretty cheap?
I use the same lathe. I got a Hudy bit to replace the one that came with it. I've gotten twice as many good, clean cuts with the Hudy bit. I also discovered that the lathe in question is sensitive to having the bit shimmed correctly. If you're one shim off on either side, it will make a huge difference.
Stampede is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2006, 09:19 AM   #18
Tech Master
 
Tek Nickal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,301
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by James35
Tek Nickal,
Big Jim has been the authority on brushed motors, but even I was a little skeptical with I read Big Jim's post saying that even new carbide bits need to be sharpened!

So I followed his advice, paid $25 for a diamond hand file (220 grit) and learned how to sharpen the carbide bits. Here is how:
http://www.rccars.com/forums/attachment.php?postid=6980

Well, I used an 8X power eye magnifying glass to see what I was doing, and I got pretty good at it. Man what a difference! After sharpening the bit, the cuts look like a copper mirror. It's so easy and fast to sharpen the bits, that I do it ever as soon as 5-8 passes!

After I become proficient at it, I started putting brand new carbide bits up against my hand sharpened bits, and wouldn't you know it, Big Jim was right. The new bits definately have room for improvement and the powerful eye magnifying glass will makes it apparent.
Thanks, I'll purchase a diamond file and try sharpening bits on my own. How long does a carbide bit last after being sharpened so many times?
Tek Nickal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2006, 10:14 AM   #19
Tech Fanatic
 
James35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
Posts: 750
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Well, the great news is, the diamond file does not take a lot off. The cheap carbide bits can be sharpened over and over. To the touch and the naked eye, a worn bit is still pretty sharp looking and feeling to your fingers. But when you use a 8x power (or more) jeweller's loupe or photography magnifying glass, you can easily see the difference.

Last edited by James35; 08-25-2006 at 11:05 AM.
James35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2006, 10:32 AM   #20
Tech Elite
 
Joel Lagace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,628
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by imprsme
NOT TRUE AT ALL!!!

If the lathe is cutting at and angle that is deeper at the inside vs the outside. The sharpie would be gone but the Comm. would be tapered.

If you cut it deep enough all of the Sharpie will be gone anyway...


ACtually if you made to pass one left to right with sharpie then one right to left with sharpie you could confirm out of round cuts. With very very small depth of cut... My diamond bit hudy cuts both ways... not sure if that was every its intent but for 5+years i cut both ways
__________________
"Without Rules its just Backyard Bashing!"
www.rcottawa.com
Joel Lagace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2006, 12:03 PM   #21
Tech Addict
 
DrOlds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 644
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by drew85
Is there anyway to tell if its not cutting round? I was thinkg just go in a bit and make a pass without cutting but moving in a bit at a time intill it hits a high spot..just wanted to see if there was a standered way of doing it.

Thanks
Run the motor at 3-4 volts and lightly touch your pinion wrench to the back side of the brush with the motor running.If the comm is out of round you can feel a vibration.And always use a Sharpie-it acts as a cutting lubricant and shows you where the low spots are on the comm,and when you have cut enough.A mirror finish is not improtant(it won't be a mirror finish any more as soon as you run it)but a round comm is.
DrOlds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2006, 02:30 PM   #22
Tech Regular
 
drew85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 399
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

OK thats a great idea, im going to try it this weekend.
drew85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2006, 03:09 PM   #23
Tech Elite
 
PitCrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Seattle Indoor Raceway
Posts: 2,129
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by imprsme
NOT TRUE AT ALL!!!

If the lathe is cutting at and angle that is deeper at the inside vs the outside. The sharpie would be gone but the Comm. would be tapered.

If you cut it deep enough all of the Sharpie will be gone anyway...

I don't think it really matters if you have a little bit of taper in the comm. I know my lathe cuts with a small ammount. You can see if if you look at the brushes after like 30 seconds of run. After that its unnoticable. Maybe it works better that way, cause you have more surface contact. My motors are always fast.
PitCrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2006, 04:47 PM   #24
Tech Lord
 
protc3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Spring Hill,Florida
Posts: 10,838
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

yo pit,i will PM you the way i get my lathe to cut dead nuts straight.i will shoot it over in a bit.

just to clear it up now,this is an involved process that requires expensive equiptment found in a machine shop and i know pit crew has access to this equiptment.
__________________
Jason Breiner
BMI Racing
Team Associated
J Concepts
protc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2006, 05:43 PM   #25
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 180
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

As far as roundness goes you can use another Big Jim trick which is to use a jewelers screwdriver with the wiggly top and run the motor at ~3 volts. If the top hops around then this is where you can show a problem with roundness. This could be indicatine a bent arm shaft in the motor or the lathe needing work. Jim always said that a diamond can give a good looking cut even when it is dull and need relapping, (Carter diamond bits will do this) when it gets dull it can cut out of round. Also if the gibs are too loose it can cause the lathe to cut out of round. A taper is harder to detect. Calipers usually can not see all taper issues unless it is pretty bad. Get some one who builds good stock motors to cut an arm for you. Then cut it using a sharpie and you might be able to tell if you are cutting at a taper by seeing what is left or if you end up gigging the com. Adjusting this to probably 0.0001 will be very hard and you would probably just live with it unless it is bad.
plumslow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2006, 06:39 PM   #26
Tech Addict
 
swopemike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 526
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default Followup Questions

I have that same lathe and I have had the same problem with the erratic slide movement. I found I can put a little pressure on the thing and get it to cut better so mine has the same issue with needing lube. Can you describe more where the lube goes ?

What voltage should I run it at? 12V nominal (13.2) seems to cut OK and is faster. Running 3-5 Volts is so slow and doesn't seem (by my eye or fingernail on com) to cut much different.

Which way (left or right, looking with bit on top) should I be cutting? I cut both ways (left in towards tabs and back out) - or does it matter?

Two things I have found that helps are (1) I brush away chips as soon as possible (air gun) and (2) I recoat with the sharpie after each pass - I get a much better finish. I even will recut with same depth setting just adding another layer of sharpie and when it cuts that off it smooths out the surface a little better.

I appreciate the postings from folks who have a lot of experience and businesses to run, yet are willing to take time to post help for others....
swopemike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2006, 10:23 AM   #27
Tech Addict
 
swopemike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 526
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default Correct Autolathe Voltage etc. for better cut

ttt

PS I AM using a diamond bit and my 100x scope says it's still perfect...
swopemike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2006, 11:20 AM   #28
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 297
Default

[QUOTE=swopemike]I have that same lathe and I have had the same problem with the erratic slide movement. I found I can put a little pressure on the thing and get it to cut better so mine has the same issue with needing lube. Can you describe more where the lube goes ?

I had the same problem with mine. I loosened up the set screw to loosen up the depth dial thingy and had no further problems. I have had it for two years and haven't needed to lube anything.
Stampede is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2006, 11:37 AM   #29
Tech Elite
 
EddieO's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,414
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Detecting taper is easy.....get a harder style brush.....file the faces FLAT....and I mean flat....run the motor at 2 volts for like 10-20 seconds....if it makes contact vertically along the entire brush.....then yer fine....it doesn't, then you more than likely have a taper...you need to make sure the brush is VERY VERY flat for this to work correctly..

Later EddieO
__________________
www.teambrood.com
EddieO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2006, 01:02 PM   #30
Tech Addict
 
swopemike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 526
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Stampede, depth dial thingy . . . now which whatchamajig is that doohicky you mean ?

Anyone know the right Voltage to use to cut the comm?

Where do I lube, just along the bottom where the slide sits in the groove?

Is it OK to cut both ways?

I am a geek and I like reading the instructions. Unfortunately this one didn't come with any (I got it used) So now I gotta bug somebody to get help
swopemike is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
XXIP Comm Lathe and Orion Quick set lathe vino1 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 01-25-2008 04:35 AM
Trinity Tru Lathe Motor Comm Cutter Lathe maximum R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 05-14-2007 04:56 PM
XIPP Super Lathe 3 / (pics) comm lathe diamond bit evostyle R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 8 12-01-2006 12:53 PM
Motor Lathe (Integy Xipp X-Mod Super Lathe) Geppetto R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 15 01-27-2006 05:10 PM
Tire Lathe, Motor Dyno, Comm Lathe For Sale 17Mark71 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 8 06-05-2005 01:07 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:06 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net