motor question

Old 08-22-2006, 04:59 PM
  #1  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
 
Racingfreak6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Livonia,Michigan
Posts: 166
Default motor question

I have a integy evo30 19t motor and the LED stopped working.The chip on top came loose in a crash and poped out.So i put it back in and ran it on my ice and seemed to be fine.I am wondering if it is ok to put in my car or is it toast?
Racingfreak6 is offline  
Old 08-22-2006, 05:14 PM
  #2  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (10)
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: golf course and R/C track
Posts: 923
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

I think if the l.e.d. lit up again after you soldered it back on it should be fine.
jeffb is offline  
Old 08-22-2006, 05:14 PM
  #3  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (9)
 
R.Dalnogare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 869
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

i belive that chip is the capacitor, it should run fine, you may want to solder some on there, but it should be fine.
R.Dalnogare is offline  
Old 08-22-2006, 05:17 PM
  #4  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
 
Racingfreak6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Livonia,Michigan
Posts: 166
Default

I forgot to add the LED didnt come back on.
Racingfreak6 is offline  
Old 08-22-2006, 05:26 PM
  #5  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (45)
 
dgullickson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: I'm a Dork Fish
Posts: 7,662
Trader Rating: 45 (96%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Racingfreak6
I forgot to add the LED didnt come back on.

Easy fix - There are 4 tabs on the top which connect to the circuit board, Solder those to where it makes contact and it should work again.
dgullickson is offline  
Old 08-22-2006, 06:53 PM
  #6  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
 
Racingfreak6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Livonia,Michigan
Posts: 166
Default

I soldered the tabs on and it spun for a second then shot up to a 12-13 amp draw then my ice charger said the motor was disconnected.Any idea why? or is it just maybe my ice charger cant handle it?I even took the motor apart and put it back togeather.
Racingfreak6 is offline  
Old 08-22-2006, 08:10 PM
  #7  
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Canton, MI
Posts: 500
Default

Ryan,

Those motors are notorious for the endbells shorting out. I had one that shorted and Timmmayyyyy was able to fix it real quick like with a dremel. As far as the cap board, just solder some external caps on the tab and endbell and you'll be fine. However, you may want to use a desoldering tool and remove all of the solder that you put on there. That might be the source of your short. Have Stamper check it out and he can get it going for ya again I'm sure. The motor's not toast, you just have to take care of that short and put some external caps on there.

I'll probably be leaving a present for you up at CEFX on thursday or friday. I'll let ya know.

Talk to ya later junior.

Tony
RcCzarOfOld is offline  
Old 08-22-2006, 08:10 PM
  #8  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (10)
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: golf course and R/C track
Posts: 923
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

The ICE cannot run the motor at more than 10 amps for extended periods so it shut down that's all.

If you set the motor run voltage at 1 volt that might let it run. Give that a try.
jeffb is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.