2 speed

Old 08-22-2006, 06:36 AM
  #1  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
shakzool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: wollongong australia
Posts: 18
Default 2 speed

hi all does anyone know of a 2 speed electric cars or gearbox.
shakzool is offline  
Old 08-22-2006, 06:40 AM
  #2  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (12)
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 326
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

I have seen one years ago, was in a yokomo I think.

Quite cool watching it out run gas cars down the straight. Run time was horrendous, but only 1700 nicads too!
kingpops is offline  
Old 08-22-2006, 06:53 AM
  #3  
Tech Adept
 
santinuchi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: YOUNGSTOWN
Posts: 199
Default hpi

Originally Posted by shakzool
hi all does anyone know of a 2 speed electric cars or gearbox.
you used to able to buy a 2speed for the hpi rs4 years ago.
santinuchi is offline  
Old 08-22-2006, 07:32 AM
  #4  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
shakzool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: wollongong australia
Posts: 18
Default

some one somewhere must be makin them if even only for the weekend basher. if u have any links please post them.or i`ll spend the next few weeks figuring out how i`ll make one.
shakzool is offline  
Old 08-22-2006, 07:56 AM
  #5  
Tech Master
iTrader: (5)
 
timmay70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,701
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

I would try doing a search, this topic must have been covered a hundred times already.
timmay70 is offline  
Old 08-22-2006, 08:23 AM
  #6  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (11)
 
RCSteve93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 4,601
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Shumacher has one in their 1/8 scale electric.
RCSteve93 is offline  
Old 08-22-2006, 09:40 AM
  #7  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (44)
 
YR4Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: So Cal
Posts: 5,637
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

Look around on e-bay. Sometimes someone will sell a two-speed for either the Yokomo or the HPI. Also HPI once made two-speeds for buggies like the RC10. Another two-speed used to be available for mini's but I don't know who made that one.

Only problem with two-speeds is that you can't have any brakes.
YR4Dude is offline  
Old 08-22-2006, 09:50 AM
  #8  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (208)
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 30,720
Trader Rating: 208 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by KarpetRacer93
Shumacher has one in their 1/8 scale electric.
i believe that one is a 3 speed
Marcos.J is offline  
Old 08-23-2006, 05:49 PM
  #9  
Tech Regular
 
volracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Madison, Alabama
Posts: 268
Default HPI two speed

I have an HPI two speed. I could never get it to shift correctly. An electric motor acts like a continously varible transmission, since it has constant torque unlike an internal combustion engine. So, I learned the hard way why these things are not popular.
volracer is offline  
Old 08-24-2006, 05:44 AM
  #10  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
shakzool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: wollongong australia
Posts: 18
Default

ahh just like my 2speed nitro a tempremental bastard.
still it would be sweet.
shakzool is offline  
Old 08-24-2006, 07:04 AM
  #11  
Tech Regular
 
E.T.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: $ $ $ $ $ $
Posts: 315
Wink

Oh I see, you guys are talking about the gearbox, I thought koysho had it. LOL.
Can't remember where I found this pic sometime back, it is the box in gold, like to get 1 too.
Attached Thumbnails 2 speed-2speed_motor.jpg  

Last edited by E.T.; 08-24-2006 at 07:23 AM.
E.T. is offline  
Old 08-24-2006, 10:25 AM
  #12  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (17)
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,242
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

I still have one on my AYK Boost right now, and back then, I had one on my PB Mini Mustang.........I remember the time was around 1987, my PB Mini-Mustang, with 2-speed gear box, Checkpoint gold, were racing 12th scale side by side....but of course, with that much of top speed, on a OFF ROAD car, it is impossible to outrun them on corners, but on the straight, that 2-speed is a killer......

Now, I will take a look and see what current touring car can adopt this 2-speed gear box.............
Solara is offline  
Old 08-27-2006, 05:02 PM
  #13  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Orlando
Posts: 168
Default

I recently saw that gear box on Ebay.
ECHOLogic is offline  
Old 08-27-2006, 08:40 PM
  #14  
Tech Fanatic
 
vabroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: dark side of the moon
Posts: 935
Default

Here you go, good luck!

http://cgi.ebay.com/TWO-SPEED-TRANSM...QQcmdZViewItem
vabroom is offline  
Old 08-27-2006, 09:05 PM
  #15  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
Rod M's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,545
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I believe the TF3 used to have a 2speed option,
Rod M is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.