R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-17-2006, 08:00 AM   #31
Tech Elite
 
yyhayyim's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Weston, FL
Posts: 3,424
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Also...after completing the test, most of the guys driving Xrays at our local track have sold their Xrays and have begun tring out Cyclones. However since the car has some parts durability issues(weak ball studs, weak dogbones) they have made sure to stock these parts in their spares collection....
yyhayyim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2006, 09:04 AM   #32
Tech Regular
 
diesel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Singapore
Posts: 393
Default

The cyclone loves 'attacking' the corners. I have owned the pro4 before and I should say the cyclone drives like the pro4. It's very aggressive in technical sections of the track and it allows you to on-power throttle during cornering. It may be my settings, but I found that other belt cars doesn't allow you to do that...you will need to drive really smoothly in the corners holding half throttle. In short, you can really push the cyclone through corners with confidence.
diesel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2006, 09:50 AM   #33
Tech Elite
 
yyhayyim's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Weston, FL
Posts: 3,424
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by diesel
The cyclone loves 'attacking' the corners. I have owned the pro4 before and I should say the cyclone drives like the pro4. It's very aggressive in technical sections of the track and it allows you to on-power throttle during cornering. It may be my settings, but I found that other belt cars doesn't allow you to do that...you will need to drive really smoothly in the corners holding half throttle. In short, you can really push the cyclone through corners with confidence.
And that's the difference!!! And I tried the Cyclone with its stock double one way set up, vs the Xray's multi-diff set to the solid axle, and still the Cyclone was a faster and smoother car...to the point where fellow racers were amazed at how its able to even brake and not get loose in the rear!
yyhayyim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2006, 10:20 AM   #34
Tech Elite
 
yyhayyim's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Weston, FL
Posts: 3,424
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

One very anoying pblm the Cyclone suffered from was the set screw on the on-way pulley kept getting loose after a few runs. It had to be re-adjusted frequently. Also, the rear diffs do not have dust covers like the Xray labirinth dust covers, and a lot of dust and junk gets in the diffs after 4-5 runs, and it has to be cleaned and rebuilt. Xray does not, since they are basically sealed, and rebuilds can wait weeks and months if needed. One awesome feature of the Xray T2 is the multiflex technology! its awesome. Some times by just adjusting the MTF settings on the top deck or chassis, many of car's pblms were solved, with out having to touch ride height, damping, springs, droop, caster, camber, etc!! It really works!! Overall, the support of Xray and its quality finish and strength of parts is much better than any car's, including the Cyclone. How ever, the kits dont come with sway bars, spool/one way options, included in kit, like the Cyclone and other kits do, which saves big bucks. THe Cyclone is easier to set up and adjust and wrench on, than the T2, since its design and set up is very minimal, open, and simple. Easy access and view/adjustments on every aspect-the Xray, not as easy to adjust as the Cyclone, since its a bit more technical and "luxurious"/exotic than the Cyclone, and more time and attention to detail has to be spent on the car set up. Love the Xray adjustable shocks!!! THe Cyclone stock shocks are very smooth, but its upper cap sucks, and keep getting loose, and shocks leak. At this point, I think that if you want results, meaning if you are looking to immediately move to the A-main, get the Cyclone; however, make sure to have xtra ball studs, dogbones, drive axles, and make sure to get advice on the HB shocks and how to prevent them from getting loose at the top cap(there are very easy solutions that work very well) or just use the Hara HPI PRO 4 Competition shocks.
yyhayyim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2006, 10:26 AM   #35
Tech Elite
 
BillyCaldwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: OKC, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,005
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to BillyCaldwell
Default

Here is what I have learned on my Cyclone..

1. Put the v2 steel shafts up front, dogbone probs solved... plus try not to hit stuff so much

2. diff screw... put in a an AE screw and nut and your good to go, also limit air time and landings

3. pulleys coming loose... Loctite the set screws and check them as part of normal maintenance

4. shocks leaking.. Mine weap just a lil from under the cap, but nothing too horrible.

5. The car runs great, drive it and have fun.
__________________
Maclin | VP-Pro USA
BillyCaldwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2006, 07:46 AM   #36
Tech Elite
 
Mr. Shookie's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Wilderness
Posts: 4,711
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Shookie Send a message via MSN to Mr. Shookie
Default

YYHAYYIM >>>> YOU GOT PM.............

-Shookie <><
__________________
All who love the LORD JESUS I praise with you.1 Cor 10:31
Team HOLY Rollers (Team Manager)
The Church is a Hospital for Sinners not a Museum for Saints.
RcTech Feedback <>< RC Tech Subcriber #92
Mr. Shookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PPD TC setup plates. TC5, Mi3, Xray, Cyclone and ?? Verndog Electric On-Road 196 08-31-2009 02:32 PM
XRAY T2 007 BRAND NEW IN BOX and used bmi cyclone FOR SALE ngo8 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 01-24-2008 12:57 AM
XRAY T2 or Cyclone? K_Spec_RC Electric On-Road 25 11-28-2006 04:19 PM
HB Cyclone, Xray T2, Chargers etc... FUK_WRX Australia For Sale/Trade 2 02-02-2006 07:21 AM
Xray T1R / Cyclone / Hitec 525/ ARTR JKA R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 8 01-16-2004 08:20 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:50 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net