Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Team Losi JRXS Type-R >

Team Losi JRXS Type-R

Like Tree17Likes

Team Losi JRXS Type-R

Old 11-30-2010, 12:20 AM
  #12601  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (2)
 
raycerZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 220
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default Screw it!

I stripped another of those damned black oxide 4-40 flathead screws that hold the top deck and battery tray. Does anyone know where I can get these in titanium or stainless?
raycerZ is offline  
Old 11-30-2010, 01:01 AM
  #12602  
Tech Master
 
FREAKAH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,389
Default

What kind of 1/16 hex drivers are you using?

Maybe the tip is worn.


Titanium and stainless are softer so they would strip easier, but I have no problems with either the steel screws I use for the bottom and the Ti screws I use for the upper chassis. The stock screws that came with my cars(3+ yrs old) are top grade.
FREAKAH is offline  
Old 11-30-2010, 03:56 AM
  #12603  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (2)
 
raycerZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 220
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by FREAKAH View Post
What kind of 1/16 hex drivers are you using?

Maybe the tip is worn.


Titanium and stainless are softer so they would strip easier, but I have no problems with either the steel screws I use for the bottom and the Ti screws I use for the upper chassis. The stock screws that came with my cars(3+ yrs old) are top grade.
I only use Integy hex drivers that supposedly are titanium nitride-coated. I got the Type-R used (albeit in great condition) and maybe the previous owner had already sort of rounded the sockets.
raycerZ is offline  
Old 11-30-2010, 06:23 AM
  #12604  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (5)
 
Yeti35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: SL, UT
Posts: 2,804
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Go to McMaster and get all you screws there. I have nothing but stainless in all my cars and have had no issues. They have all the sizes for the car you would need.
Yeti35 is offline  
Old 11-30-2010, 06:51 AM
  #12605  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (2)
 
markf3x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 104
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by raycerZ View Post
I only use Integy hex drivers that supposedly are titanium nitride-coated. I got the Type-R used (albeit in great condition) and maybe the previous owner had already sort of rounded the sockets.
http://www.microfasteners.com/catalo...cts/SSCSFS.cfm
markf3x is offline  
Old 11-30-2010, 09:12 AM
  #12606  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (3)
 
BrodieMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 761
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

I have lundsford titanium screw set for my XXX4, my hex drivers do not fit nearly as good as with the standard screws. For $100 I wasn't too impressed, they look cool but strip easy.
BrodieMan is offline  
Old 11-30-2010, 09:38 AM
  #12607  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (72)
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 2,064
Trader Rating: 72 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by markf3x View Post
Thanks Steve.

Was at Mike's for half the day today tweaking on the sedan.
If there's a stock class, I'll be racing through the winter.

I'll hunt down a TP 5200.. My batteries are a couple of years old.
Hey Mark are you going to be at the toys for tots race?the boys will be running 17.5 no timing etc,i will be running open esc
steve eaves is offline  
Old 12-01-2010, 12:35 PM
  #12608  
Tech Master
iTrader: (83)
 
Rdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Maple Valley, WA
Posts: 1,622
Trader Rating: 83 (100%+)
Default

Hey guys I've got tp 5000 40c packs with deans. What way are you putting the battery in the car if I put the wires forward it hits the steering and it doesn't seem to fit the other way.
Rdog is offline  
Old 12-01-2010, 01:06 PM
  #12609  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (3)
 
BrodieMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 761
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

I'm using a different battery but the wires are in the same location as TP's. My ESC is mounted on the top deck so the wires come out then up pretty high so there isn't any contact with the steering linkage at all as you can see in the pic. If you have your ESC mounted on the left side maybe using longer wires from the ESC will bring the battery wires up higher?
Attached Thumbnails Team Losi JRXS Type-R-battwire.jpg  
BrodieMan is offline  
Old 12-01-2010, 01:41 PM
  #12610  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (73)
 
MikeXray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 5,755
Trader Rating: 73 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by BrodieMan View Post
I'm using a different battery but the wires are in the same location as TP's. My ESC is mounted on the top deck so the wires come out then up pretty high so there isn't any contact with the steering linkage at all as you can see in the pic. If you have your ESC mounted on the left side maybe using longer wires from the ESC will bring the battery wires up higher?
You're running foam tires, and you electronics on the top deck and you're car isn't flipping off the track? your track must have some very low grip.
MikeXray is offline  
Old 12-01-2010, 02:16 PM
  #12611  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (3)
 
BrodieMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 761
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

MikeXray

The track I go to is on a rubberized gym floor so I've been experimenting with different tires because of the lack of any traction Foams are working OK but a few guys were hooking up with HPI Super Radials without inserts so I'm giving them a try this week. With rubber on low traction carpet though, top mounted ESC works great.

Last edited by BrodieMan; 12-02-2010 at 11:53 AM.
BrodieMan is offline  
Old 12-02-2010, 11:42 AM
  #12612  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (12)
 
outtafocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Calgary
Posts: 598
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

I was thinking about the problem of the droop screws splitting when you try to adjust them. I know the screws on my car stick up above the arm quite a bit. I think if you thread a nut onto the droop screw it will give enough support to the screw to prevent it from splitting.


Got my body all painted and decaled last night. Just have to decide on wire routing them I'm ready to run. Also installed my Exotek top deck, I don't like the carbon fiber battery tray holders so I cut down the stock aluminum pieces for a much better system.
I couldn't find a sensor cable long enough locally so I had to swap my esc and reciever from one side to the other. I don't like my speedo on the same side as the belts. Its a mamba max pro so its a bit big. Oh well
outtafocus is offline  
Old 12-02-2010, 12:10 PM
  #12613  
Tech Master
iTrader: (3)
 
Xpress's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Onroad Bermuda Triangle...
Posts: 1,741
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by outtafocus View Post
I was thinking about the problem of the droop screws splitting when you try to adjust them. I know the screws on my car stick up above the arm quite a bit. I think if you thread a nut onto the droop screw it will give enough support to the screw to prevent it from splitting.
I ran the type-r for years and never once "split a droop screw." How are you doing this?
Xpress is offline  
Old 12-02-2010, 04:12 PM
  #12614  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (12)
 
outtafocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Calgary
Posts: 598
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Xpress View Post
I ran the type-r for years and never once "split a droop screw." How are you doing this?
I put the tip of my wrench in the set screw and attempted to turn it.
Using no more force than any screw in plastic takes.

I actually doubted it when I first read that it was happening, until I split one my self.

There seems to be a few people having this problem, so maybe a duff production run of these pins?

They threaded into the arm fine, just when I went to adjust the droop the set screw split open.
All the holes were pre tapped, I only tried the one screw so it might happen again. Thats why I will try the nut idea, I will probably change the droop screws to metric any way.
outtafocus is offline  
Old 12-02-2010, 05:18 PM
  #12615  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (73)
 
MikeXray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 5,755
Trader Rating: 73 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by outtafocus View Post
I put the tip of my wrench in the set screw and attempted to turn it.
Using no more force than any screw in plastic takes.

I actually doubted it when I first read that it was happening, until I split one my self.

There seems to be a few people having this problem, so maybe a duff production run of these pins?

They threaded into the arm fine, just when I went to adjust the droop the set screw split open.
All the holes were pre tapped, I only tried the one screw so it might happen again. Thats why I will try the nut idea, I will probably change the droop screws to metric any way.
even 2 years ago there were bad batches of those pins, back then you wanted the silver colored ones, they were strong enough.
MikeXray is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.