Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Team Losi JRXS Type-R >

Team Losi JRXS Type-R

Like Tree17Likes

Team Losi JRXS Type-R

Old 09-26-2010, 09:05 AM
  #12286  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 250
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default servo horn hitting lipo batt

Hi guys, searched the thread and no one seemed to have this issue. Im using a spektrum servo w/aluminum servo horn. when i put the lipo in the tray, it's very tight and butting up against the horn. Anyone else having this issue ? I tried several of my hard packed lipos and they all butt up right against it. Do i need to get a low profile horn (if there's such a thing) ?? Oh im using the stock battery tray, plastic one.

Last edited by dmakrc; 09-26-2010 at 09:06 AM. Reason: adding info
dmakrc is offline  
Old 09-26-2010, 12:32 PM
  #12287  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (6)
 
js058515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 574
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

I use the kit horn w/ a Futaba s9551 servo which is one of the few popular servos for TC. I have no issues and at all and haven't seen any "battery hitting servo" issues posted either.

Have you tried using the kit horn or another servo? I would start there.

Originally Posted by dmakrc View Post
Hi guys, searched the thread and no one seemed to have this issue. Im using a spektrum servo w/aluminum servo horn. when i put the lipo in the tray, it's very tight and butting up against the horn. Anyone else having this issue ? I tried several of my hard packed lipos and they all butt up right against it. Do i need to get a low profile horn (if there's such a thing) ?? Oh im using the stock battery tray, plastic one.
js058515 is offline  
Old 09-26-2010, 05:40 PM
  #12288  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 5,310
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by dmakrc View Post
Hi guys, searched the thread and no one seemed to have this issue. Im using a spektrum servo w/aluminum servo horn. when i put the lipo in the tray, it's very tight and butting up against the horn. Anyone else having this issue ? I tried several of my hard packed lipos and they all butt up right against it. Do i need to get a low profile horn (if there's such a thing) ?? Oh im using the stock battery tray, plastic one.
I would say look at the spacing on your servo mounts. You get a couple of spacers that allow you to move the servo forward or backwards. Check this out and see if you can move it further forward.
Dragonfire is offline  
Old 09-28-2010, 02:36 PM
  #12289  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 250
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default horn

Thanks for all the great advice !! I ended up not using the Losi horns and using an aluminum servo horn (futaba) ... had to turn the connector to the horn sideways, which now is interfering w/the turning radius. Anyone else encounter this ?

I guess i can always cut diamond hole in the top plate into a square, dont really want to. Or look for a longer servo horn, which means more $ / wait time on order.

Im using aluminum w/an ACE ds1313 metal gear servo, dun really wana use the stock plastic ones in case it strips the plastic horn.
dmakrc is offline  
Old 09-28-2010, 02:38 PM
  #12290  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 250
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default Flying Fox stuff

Im also looking for some of the Flying Fox stuff if anyone has that they don't want ... PM me.
dmakrc is offline  
Old 09-28-2010, 02:53 PM
  #12291  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 5,310
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by dmakrc View Post
Thanks for all the great advice !! I ended up not using the Losi horns and using an aluminum servo horn (futaba) ... had to turn the connector to the horn sideways, which now is interfering w/the turning radius. Anyone else encounter this ?

I guess i can always cut diamond hole in the top plate into a square, dont really want to. Or look for a longer servo horn, which means more $ / wait time on order.

Im using aluminum w/an ACE ds1313 metal gear servo, dun really wana use the stock plastic ones in case it strips the plastic horn.
Nah the top of the servo horn should be right in the middle of the diamond in the top deck. You should have no problems doing this with the kit servo mounts.
Dragonfire is offline  
Old 09-28-2010, 04:41 PM
  #12292  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 250
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default servo horn

oh i agree. I just wanted an option to use my aluminum horn for reasons already stated.

Jus wondering if anyone else is doing that or is every1 using stock plastic horns ?
dmakrc is offline  
Old 09-28-2010, 04:57 PM
  #12293  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (73)
 
MikeXray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 5,755
Trader Rating: 73 (100%+)
Default

If you attach the stock horn with a button head screw it will NOT strip out, I think you're making a lot fo work for yourself. We had at least 10 type-rs running foam smashing into boards with plastic horns.
MikeXray is offline  
Old 09-28-2010, 05:11 PM
  #12294  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 250
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default horn

hmmm true eh ? jus didnt wana wait the 10 days to order new horns from Losi hahahaha...

either that or break out the dremel !!

Does anyone know any sites where i can order the flyfox stuff ? Their website is outa stock...
dmakrc is offline  
Old 09-28-2010, 05:38 PM
  #12295  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (6)
 
js058515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 574
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Your waiting like a lot of us. Maybe in November we will be able to get our hands on the spool and outdrives.

Originally Posted by dmakrc View Post
hmmm true eh ? jus didnt wana wait the 10 days to order new horns from Losi hahahaha...

either that or break out the dremel !!

Does anyone know any sites where i can order the flyfox stuff ? Their website is outa stock...
js058515 is offline  
Old 09-29-2010, 09:21 AM
  #12296  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (11)
 
jrxs-r's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 831
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Dragonfire--> ran a modified setup of yours tonight on carpet (standard top deck, harder rear springs (no bar), longer rear link) and it was quite nice to drive... :P Will continue to improve it to see how it goes.
jrxs-r is offline  
Old 09-30-2010, 12:44 AM
  #12297  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 5,310
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by jrxs-r View Post
Dragonfire--> ran a modified setup of yours tonight on carpet (standard top deck, harder rear springs (no bar), longer rear link) and it was quite nice to drive... :P Will continue to improve it to see how it goes.
You have a carpet track to race on now? Foam or rubber?

I am going down to ACT this weekend for club challenge. Its going to be a carpet/foam weekend although my TC is not the reason I am going. I have thrown a "theoretical" setup n it. If it goes well I will post it up for you.
Dragonfire is offline  
Old 10-01-2010, 05:28 AM
  #12298  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (11)
 
jrxs-r's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 831
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Dragonfire View Post
You have a carpet track to race on now? Foam or rubber?

I am going down to ACT this weekend for club challenge. Its going to be a carpet/foam weekend although my TC is not the reason I am going. I have thrown a "theoretical" setup n it. If it goes well I will post it up for you.
Always had a carpet track here for a long time. Push-Pin carpet running rubber tyres (no additives). Sweep 24R with Sorex B Med inserts work a treat here. It is a basket ball court sized track, so its pretty tight and windy. Laptimes for 10.5 are around the 11.5-11.9 secs.

I will be trying out the EXOTEK top deck this coming Wednesday night, and will see how it goes.

BTW, has Paul still have any aluminium battery tray holders?
jrxs-r is offline  
Old 10-01-2010, 05:52 PM
  #12299  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (2)
 
raycerZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 220
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by TryHard View Post
Hey guys,

Just thought I'd post my setup from the last round of the BRCA nationals this past weekend.
Ed what type pf track do you guys race on?
raycerZ is offline  
Old 10-01-2010, 06:27 PM
  #12300  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (58)
 
crabboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,001
Trader Rating: 58 (98%+)
Default

Fitted my new Exotek top deck last night the deck fitted up spot on but the small carbon screw plates the screw hole seems a bit small and two of them delaminated when I screwed the screw in. One good thing on the top deck is it has adjustable ackaman via another set of holes, will try it out over then next week or two and post on here my results.

Rhys
crabboy is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.