Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Team Losi JRXS Type-R >

Team Losi JRXS Type-R

Like Tree17Likes

Team Losi JRXS Type-R

Old 08-18-2008, 06:13 AM
  #7846  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (5)
 
Yeti35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: SL, UT
Posts: 2,804
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Rdog View Post
Hey guys just got my losi r put together and was wonder about the spool mainly the correct way to install it. Do you still use the thrust bearing and spring? Thanks any any help i can get.
Yes, you still use the thrust bearing and the spring. It goes together like the diff except you lock it down for no movement at all. Don't go too nuts on tightening it or you can strip the outdrive.
Yeti35 is offline  
Old 08-19-2008, 10:16 AM
  #7847  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (44)
 
nitrobeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Colonia, NJ
Posts: 2,369
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

Any tips for freeing up the tie rod ends? I tried to install the rpm ones and they are very tight..
thanks
nitrobeast is offline  
Old 08-19-2008, 10:42 AM
  #7848  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (5)
 
Yeti35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: SL, UT
Posts: 2,804
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by nitrobeast View Post
Any tips for freeing up the tie rod ends? I tried to install the rpm ones and they are very tight..
thanks
I just use the ones that came with the car and never had a tightness issue at all. I do have standard long ball cups on the rear of my car to get a long camber link but I am using the Losi grey ball cups for that. I just have those in my box from my offroad stuff. They are not tight on the ballstud either.
Yeti35 is offline  
Old 08-19-2008, 11:35 AM
  #7849  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (1)
 
J@UNE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 635
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default For RPMs ball studs,

Once they are poped on, use some plyer to squish them over the ball stud...

I usualy do that 3-4 times and they become free enough.
J@UNE is offline  
Old 08-19-2008, 02:49 PM
  #7850  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (44)
 
nitrobeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Colonia, NJ
Posts: 2,369
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Yeti35 View Post
I just use the ones that came with the car and never had a tightness issue at all. I do have standard long ball cups on the rear of my car to get a long camber link but I am using the Losi grey ball cups for that. I just have those in my box from my offroad stuff. They are not tight on the ballstud either.
I have those too but wanted to try the rpm ones.

Once they are poped on, use some plyer to squish them over the ball stud...

I usualy do that 3-4 times and they become free enough.
I will give that a try
nitrobeast is offline  
Old 08-20-2008, 07:12 PM
  #7851  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (2)
 
MaxRain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 574
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Yeti35 View Post
I just use the ones that came with the car and never had a tightness issue at all. I do have standard long ball cups on the rear of my car to get a long camber link but I am using the Losi grey ball cups for that. I just have those in my box from my offroad stuff. They are not tight on the ballstud either.
do you know what the part number is on those ball cups?
MaxRain is offline  
Old 08-20-2008, 08:33 PM
  #7852  
Tech Fanatic
 
vabroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: dark side of the moon
Posts: 935
Default

Here all the Losi's ball cups:

http://www.losipartshouse.com/servlet/Categories

Sorry no dimensions.
vabroom is offline  
Old 08-20-2008, 09:35 PM
  #7853  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (5)
 
Yeti35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: SL, UT
Posts: 2,804
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by MaxRain View Post
do you know what the part number is on those ball cups?
Here is the stock kit ones: http://www.losipartshouse.com/servle...aptured/Detail

Here is the ones I used for the long camber link in the rear: http://www.losipartshouse.com/servle...id-Ball/Detail

I was not sure which ones you were asking about.
Yeti35 is offline  
Old 08-22-2008, 07:32 AM
  #7854  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (2)
 
MaxRain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 574
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Yeti35 View Post
Here is the stock kit ones: http://www.losipartshouse.com/servle...aptured/Detail

Here is the ones I used for the long camber link in the rear: http://www.losipartshouse.com/servle...id-Ball/Detail

I was not sure which ones you were asking about.
the part # 6016 is what I was looking for. I too have tried making the link longer with the standard size cups that come with the kit, but I find that if you hit the wall it is a little fragile. The inside part of the cup doesn't seem to hold well. Largely due to the titanium rod beeing a little on the short side.

Thanks
MaxRain is offline  
Old 08-22-2008, 08:58 AM
  #7855  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (5)
 
schreff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,015
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by MaxRain View Post
the part # 6016 is what I was looking for. I too have tried making the link longer with the standard size cups that come with the kit, but I find that if you hit the wall it is a little fragile. The inside part of the cup doesn't seem to hold well. Largely due to the titanium rod beeing a little on the short side.

Thanks
Guys... just a quick FYI...

When Larry and I switched to using the long link in the rear, as in hole 4 on the tower and B on the hub, we replaced the small titanium tierod with a 1" Lunsford tierod. The 1" tierod is thicker and longer eliminating ball cup issues. Ever since switching to that, we never broke another rear ball cup or even had them pop off. For anyone running a longer rear link, get yourself a pair of the 1" lunsfords.
schreff is offline  
Old 08-22-2008, 10:50 AM
  #7856  
Ty
Tech Addict
iTrader: (32)
 
Ty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Long Island NY
Posts: 531
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Schreff,
Is the 1" exact length enough for that or will I need 1.125 or 1.25 or will those be too long? Thanks for the suggestion as I have had that problem and this will solve it.
Ty is offline  
Old 08-22-2008, 11:49 AM
  #7857  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (5)
 
schreff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,015
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Ty View Post
Schreff,
Is the 1" exact length enough for that or will I need 1.125 or 1.25 or will those be too long? Thanks for the suggestion as I have had that problem and this will solve it.
Ty,

1" is the exact length of the tierod that we are using.
schreff is offline  
Old 08-22-2008, 06:39 PM
  #7858  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (2)
 
MaxRain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 574
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by schreff View Post
Ty,

1" is the exact length of the tierod that we are using.
Schreff, thanks for the tip.. I was thinking of doing something like this also, as I was looking at an associated tierod, length was 0.825".

Seeing that you use the 1", I will make my way and pick a set up.

Also, for those who are curious, I got my Platinum Two's today.. Fit in the Type R with no mods, using both the plastic lipo tray and with the losi weighted lipo tray.

Will post picks later..
MaxRain is offline  
Old 08-23-2008, 04:51 AM
  #7859  
Tech Regular
 
JRXS_chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Manchester, England
Posts: 386
Default An experiment...

In a quest for a little more tarmac capability I am conducting a little test next time out.

Them posts on the top deck are maintaining masses of chassis stiffness but this eliminates some of the tuning potential that the Xrays, Hotbodies etc can offer with regards to flex. Sooo off they come!

I had to dig around my parts box to see what I could use instead of the posts to keep the battery plate securely fastened. After a few minutes thinking and tinkering I found that some old XXXS shock towers would do the trick. I hacksawed off the camber link mounting holes and screwed them onto the chassis, the holes are perfectly placed.



You can see in the image what I have removed.



This is what the chassis looks like with them in place

(Apologies for the blur! Taken on my mobile!)

With the new bits on the chassis still resists tweak but offers a lot more flex.

Lets see how it goes!
JRXS_chris is offline  
Old 08-23-2008, 05:58 AM
  #7860  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (5)
 
Yeti35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: SL, UT
Posts: 2,804
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Are you running in a low bite situation in that you felt you needed flex for traction? I run on low bite as well but have a setup on the car that is planted and my post are still in the car. I think you need to look at your setup more rather then messing with chassis tweak by removing the post. There is no reason to remove them to get the car to handle. I am sure Schreff and Fairtrace would back me on this. Since they don't feel it is necessary to remove them either.
Yeti35 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.