Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Team Losi JRXS Type-R >

Team Losi JRXS Type-R

Like Tree17Likes

Team Losi JRXS Type-R

Old 06-05-2008, 10:03 AM
  #7276  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (18)
 
dfiantii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Arlington, Tx
Posts: 820
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Not that I do not trust anyone because I do. I buy alot of things off of eBay and the rctech for sale forum. This kit though I would prefer to buy it brand new and not take on anyone else's problems and gives me a chance to build the kit the way I want to from the ground up rather than have things like sealing the chasis and what not done for me already. Takes a bit of time but you learn more about your car in my opinion.
dfiantii is offline  
Old 06-05-2008, 10:08 AM
  #7277  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (32)
 
YmeBP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,927
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by dfiantii View Post
Not that I do not trust anyone because I do. I buy alot of things off of eBay and the rctech for sale forum. This kit though I would prefer to buy it brand new and not take on anyone else's problems and gives me a chance to build the kit the way I want to from the ground up rather than have things like sealing the chasis and what not done for me already. Takes a bit of time but you learn more about your car in my opinion.
You are 100% correct haha i didn't tear down one of my cars and just put it on the track one of my toe blocks had a broken/stuck locater pin and it bent in an impact taking out the whole right front of the car with it. Taught me to tear a car down and replace anything that was defective.

One of these days i'll treat myself to a new kit, but for now i can only afford to go used, good thing is losi parts are cheap and plentiful.
YmeBP is offline  
Old 06-05-2008, 10:13 AM
  #7278  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (18)
 
dfiantii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Arlington, Tx
Posts: 820
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

I like that I have good parts support in my area. The closest track to me is about 20 to 30 minutes away but its an awesome track. Just been to damn busy to get out there and I missed my chance to go see that Reedy Race at the same track. There will be other big races there though I am sure. I just picked up a new charger (Hyperion I606) and my patience helped me get a brand new Transponder on RCTECH for 85. So the deal are there. I had one question if anyone cares to answer. Is the layshaft from the JRXS interchangable with the Type r's and which is better to use? The stock layshaft or the thicker one from the original JRXS.
dfiantii is offline  
Old 06-05-2008, 10:51 AM
  #7279  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (5)
 
Yeti35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: SL, UT
Posts: 2,804
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

I swapped out the stock lay shafts for the one from the old car. It is a direct fit.
Yeti35 is offline  
Old 06-05-2008, 11:15 AM
  #7280  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (73)
 
MikeXray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 5,755
Trader Rating: 73 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by YmeBP View Post
Hey i just saw the post for the tc5 "slipper spool" looks like the one for the type r, wonder if their disks will fit?

http://www.redrc.net/2008/06/team-as...ormance-parts/

Might be a tuning aid?
If you don't tighten the snot out of losi one it will serve the same purpose.
MikeXray is offline  
Old 06-05-2008, 11:52 AM
  #7281  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (32)
 
YmeBP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,927
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Yeti35 View Post
I swapped out the stock lay shafts for the one from the old car. It is a direct fit.
I've read that people w/ high winds (5.5 and lower) have issues w/ bending the stock type-r layshaft and stripping gears and they use the older car's layshaft to avoid that issue.
YmeBP is offline  
Old 06-05-2008, 12:30 PM
  #7282  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (18)
 
dfiantii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Arlington, Tx
Posts: 820
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Does anyone know where i can find a build forum for this car.
dfiantii is offline  
Old 06-05-2008, 12:35 PM
  #7283  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (5)
 
Yeti35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: SL, UT
Posts: 2,804
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by YmeBP View Post
I've read that people w/ high winds (5.5 and lower) have issues w/ bending the stock type-r layshaft and stripping gears and they use the older car's layshaft to avoid that issue.
I have stripped gears just running stock motors and it was mostly when running a oneway. I think from hitting a board while on throttle forcing the drivetrain to try to run backwards hense stripping the gear.
Yeti35 is offline  
Old 06-05-2008, 12:35 PM
  #7284  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (5)
 
Yeti35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: SL, UT
Posts: 2,804
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by dfiantii View Post
Does anyone know where i can find a build forum for this car.
??? Any info you may need while building your Type R you can get from the people here.
Yeti35 is offline  
Old 06-05-2008, 12:51 PM
  #7285  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (18)
 
dfiantii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Arlington, Tx
Posts: 820
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Thank you for the Yeti. I knew i could ask questions during my build I was just wondering if there was one. It use to have one on rcuniverse but it disappeared.
dfiantii is offline  
Old 06-05-2008, 02:13 PM
  #7286  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (8)
 
RedRocketRacing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Woodinville,Wa
Posts: 646
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

This has to do with all the questions about loose on power off the corner that alot of people were complaining about last week.

Just to let other know. I was able to run my car last night with the spool in it and found that the spool would not stay tight. And as a result the car spun out under breaking and off the corner on power. Really had to baby the car around the track. I finally said F*** it and went Kinwald on it, Replaced the spool with a locked down diff. Went from the middle of the pack in the main to lapping the field for the win. Made a huge diffenace. Just thought I would throw that out there for everybody to see if anyone else has fought this.

RedRocket
RedRocketRacing is offline  
Old 06-05-2008, 02:46 PM
  #7287  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (5)
 
Yeti35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: SL, UT
Posts: 2,804
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

I have been running a spool in this car ever since I got it with no issue at all. Is it possible you have the outdrive stripped that it does not stay tight?
Yeti35 is offline  
Old 06-05-2008, 03:06 PM
  #7288  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (8)
 
RedRocketRacing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Woodinville,Wa
Posts: 646
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Yeti35 View Post
I have been running a spool in this car ever since I got it with no issue at all. Is it possible you have the outdrive stripped that it does not stay tight?
Don't know, I am gonna get all new parts and build a new one and give it another shot. When I put the diff in I locked it down pretty tight, it acted just like the spool did. Not quite as quick but the steering off the corner was actually a little bit better.


RedRocket
RedRocketRacing is offline  
Old 06-05-2008, 03:26 PM
  #7289  
Tech Adept
 
crunchracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: TEAM POWERSTRIP
Posts: 192
Thumbs up

I was running mine as well last night with RedRocket, but with a 6.5 mod. I found my spool did lossen up slightly like he did, but no where bad as his did.
Although we are running slightly diff setups, both cars are frigging FAST.

And just think I traded my Tamiya Mini M03R for my TypeR
crunchracer is offline  
Old 06-05-2008, 04:38 PM
  #7290  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (2)
 
MaxRain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 574
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default diff hub tip

For those who have wondered how to keep the diff hub tight, I did this.

Go to your local hardward store and pickup 4-40 machine screw nuts. Grind the ends enough in a circular pattern, insert into the diff hub and tighten.. Problem of loose hubs gone.. I was thinking of buying new hubs, but did this instead and my diffs don't get loose any more.

Gordon
MaxRain is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.