Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
need help setting up ESC... >

need help setting up ESC...

need help setting up ESC...

Old 08-10-2006, 02:39 PM
  #1  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 14
Default need help setting up ESC...

Hi. I posted this in the rookie forum and di'dnt get much of a response. Figured I'd try here. OK. i'm trying to switch from mechanical to electronic speed control. I have a duratrax ESC hooked up to my car (smarttech). The ESC has the two lights that light up during set-up. the neutral point light (one green) works fine. but when i try to set the full throttle (the next step, supposed to light up the red light) both lights come on. This is supposed to be the reverse set-up signal. when I try reverse, just the red light turns on (full-throttle signal) So it seems to me that somehow the forward and reverse are mixed up somehow, because when its in reverse it accelerates at like 3 times the rate of forward. I tried adjusting it on the controller but that did'nt help. I re did the set-up like 3 times with the same results. It is a stock 27 turn 540 motor with capacitors already installed. I cant seem to figure it out. I seems as though it should just be a switch on the Tx but those don't help. One of em' switches the throttle around (so forward is reverse and vice versa) and the other changes the steering (left is right, right is left). It hauls ass in reverse but has real slow acceleration going forward. If anyone has any ideas what it might be please let me know.

Thanks a bunch,


Steve
Boltaction is offline  
Old 08-10-2006, 03:22 PM
  #2  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (103)
 
stiltskin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 5,391
Trader Rating: 103 (100%+)
Default

Try reversing the throttle in your radio.
stiltskin is offline  
Old 08-13-2006, 02:54 PM
  #3  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 14
Default

i tried reversing the throttle and that did'nt do it. any other suggestions?

thanks,

Steve
Boltaction is offline  
Old 08-13-2006, 03:16 PM
  #4  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (3)
 
Drewdc90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sunshine Coast Australia
Posts: 828
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Sounds like you have the motor polarity wrong. Switch the positive and negative wires on the motor around.
Drewdc90 is offline  
Old 08-13-2006, 09:17 PM
  #5  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (-1)
 
PeteB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 477
Default

my first impression is that you will need to do both the previous suggestions, switch the motor wires around, and also reverse the signal on the tx
PeteB is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.