Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Radio / Reciever problem - Please help!!! >

Radio / Reciever problem - Please help!!!

Radio / Reciever problem - Please help!!!

Old 08-09-2006, 01:08 AM
  #1  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
Aceboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 62
Default Radio / Reciever problem - Please help!!!

Hi,

Recently my car started losing reception within short distance (about 20 metre).

Would it be okay if i just buy a reciever and use the same controller.

I'm also a little confused with the specs, some reciever say it comes with 27Mhz Frequency, excuse my dumb question but if i put in a matching set of crystals will this work (considering both are AM freqs).

any help would be great, just cant afford to fork out more money to buy a new radio/reciever set.


thanks
Aceboy is offline  
Old 08-09-2006, 01:12 AM
  #2  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
Aceboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 62
Default

also, i wanted to check if the crystal are working (because they respond within distance) then the crystal wouldnt be the problem even if its losing responce in further distances?

I want to disgnose the source of the problem... any suggestions?
Aceboy is offline  
Old 08-09-2006, 01:14 AM
  #3  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: England
Posts: 257
Default

sounds like your batteries are flat. check them first, don't spend money on another reciever yet
TraceRacing is offline  
Old 08-09-2006, 01:22 AM
  #4  
Tech Champion
 
tc3team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,151
Default

Also make sure your crystals are sitting in the transmitter and reciever well,if they feel loose try bending the tabs in,but be careful!
tc3team is offline  
Old 08-09-2006, 01:24 AM
  #5  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
Aceboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 62
Default

the batteries are brand new and fully charged. i have one of those eletric chargers that monitor the charge itself.

well i should also mention that i once smoked a battery because i connected the polarity on opposit ends.... not sure if this damaged the reciever also....

arh so much headache!

also. nowadays you can buy a decent reciever and radio for about the same price as a reciever only...
Aceboy is offline  
Old 08-09-2006, 01:30 AM
  #6  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
Aceboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 62
Default

would different band crystal/reciever work.

e.g. crystal is 24mhz band and the reciever 75mhz band?
Aceboy is offline  
Old 08-09-2006, 03:19 AM
  #7  
Tech Champion
 
tc3team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,151
Default

No,they need to be the same.
tc3team is offline  
Old 08-09-2006, 03:44 AM
  #8  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
Aceboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 62
Default

i will do myself a favour and just buy a new set
Aceboy is offline  
Old 08-09-2006, 04:53 AM
  #9  
Tech Master
iTrader: (6)
 
ford_racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Canberra
Posts: 1,480
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Buying crystals would be youyr cheapest option and see if that fixes the problem, you can get a dud set of crystals occasionally.

after that I would try a reciever to see if that is the problem
ford_racing is offline  
Old 08-09-2006, 06:02 AM
  #10  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
Aceboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 62
Default

currently my rc comes with 27mhz AM crystals, because someone else in the tracks have the same freq i changed it to a 29mhz crystal.

i know that some reciever/radio are preset to a certain range. but is this one rule for all? e.g. whichever range it came with, must be accompanied for all future crystals.

thanks!
Aceboy is offline  
Old 08-09-2006, 06:27 AM
  #11  
Tech Master
iTrader: (6)
 
ford_racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Canberra
Posts: 1,480
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Aceboy
currently my rc comes with 27mhz AM crystals, because someone else in the tracks have the same freq i changed it to a 29mhz crystal.
That is your problem, if you go out and buy a different 27mhz crystal than what your friend has the problem will be solved.

27mhz gear does not like 29mhz etc etc.
ford_racing is offline  
Old 08-09-2006, 04:35 PM
  #12  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
Aceboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 62
Default

i will swap the crystals back to 27mhz. its such a small problem, yet i didnt know. good to learn something new. thanks for your help!
Aceboy is offline  
Old 08-09-2006, 05:18 PM
  #13  
Tech Master
iTrader: (6)
 
ford_racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Canberra
Posts: 1,480
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

You're welcome for the help, all of the members here are willing to help out a new person to the hobby
ford_racing is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.