Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
TEU-101BK ESC.... >

TEU-101BK ESC....

TEU-101BK ESC....

Old 08-06-2006, 02:51 AM
  #1  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
surrealmaterial's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: NSW, Australia
Posts: 651
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Post TEU-101BK ESC....

hey guys,

i just bought a tamiya tt-01 kit and it came with a tamiya TEU-101BK esc, i was wondering what is the motor limit on one of these things, so i know what motor to buy...
surrealmaterial is offline  
Old 08-06-2006, 03:54 AM
  #2  
H I
Tech Master
iTrader: (18)
 
H I's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Sydney,Australia
Posts: 1,877
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

It's only for TAMIYA J-can & sports tuned motor.
I've tried 27T stock motor on it before but no good.
H I is offline  
Old 08-06-2006, 01:13 PM
  #3  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 181
Default

Originally Posted by surrealmaterial
hey guys,

i just bought a tamiya tt-01 kit and it came with a tamiya TEU-101BK esc, i was wondering what is the motor limit on one of these things, so i know what motor to buy...
Official limit is 21 turns.

I have run a 17x2 on it, but it does get hot.
D_o_S is offline  
Old 08-06-2006, 11:18 PM
  #4  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
surrealmaterial's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: NSW, Australia
Posts: 651
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

thanks guys,

i was thinkin of getting a super stock rz motor, do u think it will handle this ok??
surrealmaterial is offline  
Old 08-06-2006, 11:36 PM
  #5  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (38)
 
danjoy25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 5,150
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Nope. Stick to a RS540 sports tuned with that esc.
danjoy25 is offline  
Old 08-07-2006, 04:10 AM
  #6  
H I
Tech Master
iTrader: (18)
 
H I's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Sydney,Australia
Posts: 1,877
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by D_o_S
Official limit is 21 turns.

I have run a 17x2 on it, but it does get hot.
Wow. 17x2!! How long did you run them for?
H I is offline  
Old 08-07-2006, 05:09 AM
  #7  
Tech Master
iTrader: (6)
 
ford_racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Canberra
Posts: 1,480
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

I have run a 27T stock motor off it, geared correctly it ran flawlessly for the race, I wasn't the fastest car out there but it did make race distance and is still running in excellent condition.
The temp was warmish for the ESC.

I wouldn't go above a Tamiya Black can, otherwise you might end up melting the ESC very quickly
ford_racing is offline  
Old 08-07-2006, 05:55 AM
  #8  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (27)
 
bizkit1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 743
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

From what I've heard, they have a resistance that is comparable to a turd. I tried running one at the local track and switched to a Novak GT7(manufacture plug ) and it made one heck of a differance and that was with a silver can motor.
bizkit1 is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 02:36 AM
  #9  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
surrealmaterial's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: NSW, Australia
Posts: 651
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

alrighty then, thx guys
surrealmaterial is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 02:57 AM
  #10  
Tech Regular
 
MK_Arbiter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 472
Default

bizkit, so a better esc would mean better preformance dispite the motor?
MK_Arbiter is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 03:03 AM
  #11  
Tech Adept
 
shift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Auckland,New Zealand
Posts: 106
Default

yes that is correct. i was using one in stock class(silver can) then bought a tekin g10 pro + and it made a massive difference in punch and top speed
shift is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 03:33 AM
  #12  
Tech Regular
 
MK_Arbiter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 472
Default

is a futaba MC330CR a quality esc?
MK_Arbiter is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 04:12 AM
  #13  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (27)
 
bizkit1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 743
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

The main thing to look for in an esc is the resistance, the lower the better. The Futaba(Manufacture Plug ) works good for the money, but if you plan on running it for racing, I would save my money and maybe get a Novak GT7(Manufacture Plug ) Try doing a search of specs. for different esc's and you'll see what I mean about the resistance.

Shift- you got that right, what a difference it makes on the punch and overall control.
bizkit1 is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 04:23 AM
  #14  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
polesitter61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 1,009
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Check out Slickzero for a speed control, they have some really inexpensive ESC's that they import from the OEM and they work great. I have the one with the 7 turn limit in my Mini, it's resistence is less than a GT-7. Check out the specs, you won't be dissapointed, and it's half the cost of a GT-7. Click on the Slickzero link in my Signature
polesitter61 is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 01:32 PM
  #15  
Tech Regular
 
MK_Arbiter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 472
Default

For less resistance would it be best to just solder the motor wire directly to the esc?
MK_Arbiter is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.