R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Old 08-05-2006, 11:48 AM   #1
Tech Rookie

Send a message via AIM to SohcFTTC4 Send a message via MSN to SohcFTTC4 Send a message via Yahoo to SohcFTTC4
Default Question About 64 pitch Gearing on My TC4?????

[color=blue] im new to touring on road , im an offroad guy so
basically i have no idea what im doing with gearing lol... got a 100
tooth spur and a 27 tooth pinion in 64 pitch..running a revolution
10X1...i know its wayyy too much horsepower forpractical uses but i
love speeed.....anywas my old school tekin tsc g-12 is gettin really
really hot like abnormallyhot..im also running sometimes in 100 degree
outdoor heat...could that be the cause of the very quick heat up?? and
i mean quick..im talkin about 2 laps and the goldfets are blazing
hot...im sure its my stupid gear ratio...can someone help me please??

i also have a novak GTB and a valocite 6.5 R and i dont wanna u*k
thhose electronics up untill i know how to gear it properly......in 48
pitch(stock) i was running a 72 too stsock spur and a 21 tooth pinion
and it ran great.....but sounded like crap.....can anyone please help
s nreb in on road unfortuantely my extensive offroad experience cannot
help me on this one[/ color]

''
SohcFTTC4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2006, 12:20 PM   #2
Tech Initiate

Default wodnering the same thin

anyone have any answers for my friends question???
strain Fiend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2006, 01:12 PM   #3
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)

The 100 tooth spur sounds like a good start. For the pinion, I would drop 2 or 3 teeth and work from there. Do you have a temp. gun? The reason I ask is b/c you may want to check the temp. of your motor. I think 160-175 range is about as hot as you want to go. BTW, I put the AE motor fan kit on my TC4 and it worked very well.

Loren
llamont is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2006, 01:28 PM   #4
Tech Initiate