transformer Q"

Reply

Old 08-03-2006, 04:13 AM
  #1  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
 
timmey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 785
Default transformer Q"

Hi guys
looking at buying a transformer to convert 240 down to 12 volts....
Is 20 amps going to suit my needs as I may be charging 2 batterys at the same time ? and what would be a min you would need ie....5 or 10 amps, just want to know to make sure I've got enough amps.
any help would be good....see ya timmey
timmey is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2006, 04:21 AM
  #2  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: victoria BC
Posts: 810
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

20 amps should be more than enough for you. If your only going to be running two chargers' that would be 12 amps @ amps per charger. the still gives you 8 amps for other product like a pelter cooler, tire warmers and/or discharge tray that require a power source. you might need a distrubution box if your power supply only has one set of banana plug. (there is a set of banana plus that you can plug another on into them there by much more.

Your min would be 12 amps for two chargers. I hope this helps eh.
cyrrus is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2006, 05:07 AM
  #3  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 147
Default

Are you converting 240 volts AC or DC? Chargers run off of DC power and if you are talking about just using a stepdown tranformer on a 240 volt wall outlet you are going to have some problems.
JimMcClure is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2006, 05:13 AM
  #4  
Tech Adept
 
forum fodder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 151
Default

Make sure you are looking at 12v DC power supply's rather than Transformers. I run a 20A pro-peak supply, does me ok for indoor racing with 2 chargers, motor cooler etc. Best thing to do is check with a multimeter the current draw of all of you equipment individually, then you will know what you can load up at once. Much more motor coolers draw about 4 amps and tyre warmers can draw quite a bit as well.
forum fodder is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2006, 09:43 AM
  #5  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
RandyB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Columbus OH.
Posts: 1,171
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

More than meets the eye!
RandyB is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2006, 01:10 PM
  #6  
Tech Master
iTrader: (5)
 
timmay70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,701
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

I don't think that the transformer will be your problem, it will be getting a bridge rectifier that can pass that kind of current. Then you will want to use the correct value caps to filter out the remainder of the converted ripple. A ferrite core or two could also help prevent line noise from getting transferred to your charger, helping to prevent possible false peaking or other problems with sensitive things you may want to power up.
timmay70 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2006, 03:25 PM
  #7  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (1)
 
Iceracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 656
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

A decent DC supply needs is regulated, not just rectified and filtered. Otherwise, the voltage will jump all around with varying loads.
Iceracer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2006, 03:46 PM
  #8  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (38)
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

You need an Optimus Prime.

or8ital is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2006, 02:30 AM
  #9  
Tech Addict
 
eforer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 607
Default

Originally Posted by Iceracer
A decent DC supply needs is regulated, not just rectified and filtered. Otherwise, the voltage will jump all around with varying loads.
Sorry tim, its true. A full wave bridge rectifier to An RCR, LCR, LCL filter will yield a relatively flat DC voltage, but that voltage is entirely determined by the load presented to the ps circuit.

Switch mode power supplies are cost effective, compact and suitable for the relatively modest demands of RC racing. Although we have robust current requirements, ripple isn't a big deal.
eforer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2006, 05:16 AM
  #10  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
 
timmey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 785
Default

thank's all for the help......see ya all at the track some time
see ya timmey
timmey is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service